Knightly Valor Return to Ravnica Palisade Giant

Martial Law Martial Law English

Enchantment, 2WW (4)

At the beginning of your upkeep, detain target creature an opponent controls. (Until your next turn, that creature can't attack or block and its activated abilities can't be activated.)

"The good of society matters much more than the inconvenience of a few."
—Agmand Sarv, Azorius hussar

Illus. Tyler Jacobson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: Activated abilities include a colon and are written in the form “[cost]: [effect].” No one can activate any activated abilities, including mana abilities, of a detained permanent.
  • 4/15/2013: The static abilities of a detained permanent still apply. The triggered abilities of a detained permanent can still trigger.
  • 4/15/2013: If a creature is already attacking or blocking when it’s detained, it won’t be removed from combat. It will continue to attack or block.
  • 4/15/2013: If a permanent’s activated ability is on the stack when that permanent is detained, the ability will be unaffected.
  • 4/15/2013: If a noncreature permanent is detained and later turns into a creature, it won’t be able to attack or block.
  • 4/15/2013: When a player leaves a multiplayer game, any continuous effects with durations that last until that player’s next turn or until a specific point in that turn will last until that turn would have begun. They neither expire immediately nor last indefinitely.
Printings:
#14 (Tyler Jacobson)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Rare)

Languages:
German Kriegsrecht
French Loi martiale
Italian Legge Marziale
Spanish Ley marcial
Portuguese Lei Marcial
Japanese 戒厳令
Simplified Chinese 戒严令
Russian Военное Положение
Traditional Chinese 戒嚴令
Korean 계엄령


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Martial Law
View Decks with Martial Law
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.