Mogis, God of Slaughter Born of the Gods Ragemonger

Phenax, God of Deception Phenax, God of Deception English

Legendary Enchantment Creature — God 4/7, 3UB (5)

Indestructible

As long as your devotion to blue and black is less than seven, Phenax isn't a creature.

Creatures you control have "{T}: Target player puts the top X cards of his or her library into his or her graveyard, where X is this creature's toughness."

Illus. Ryan Barger

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/15/2013: Numeric mana symbols ({0}, {1}, and so on) in mana costs of permanents you control don’t count toward your devotion to any color.
  • 9/15/2013: Mana symbols in the text boxes of permanents you control don’t count toward your devotion to any color.
  • 9/15/2013: Hybrid mana symbols, monocolored hybrid mana symbols, and Phyrexian mana symbols do count toward your devotion to their color(s).
  • 9/15/2013: If an activated ability or triggered ability has an effect that depends on your devotion to a color, you count the number of mana symbols of that color among the mana costs of permanents you control as the ability resolves. The permanent with that ability will be counted if it’s still on the battlefield at that time.
  • 9/15/2013: The type-changing ability that can make the God not be a creature functions only on the battlefield. It’s always a creature card in other zones, regardless of your devotion to its color.
  • 9/15/2013: If a God enters the battlefield, your devotion to its color (including the mana symbols in the mana cost of the God itself) will determine if a creature entered the battlefield or not, for abilities that trigger whenever a creature enters the battlefield.
  • 9/15/2013: If a God stops being a creature, it loses the type creature and all creature subtypes. It continues to be a legendary enchantment.
  • 9/15/2013: The abilities of Gods function as long as they’re on the battlefield, regardless of whether they’re creatures.
  • 9/15/2013: If a God is attacking or blocking and it stops being a creature, it will be removed from combat.
  • 9/15/2013: If a God is dealt damage, then stops being a creature, then becomes a creature again later in the same turn, the damage will still be marked on it. This is also true for any effects that were affecting the God when it was originally a creature. (Note that in most cases, the damage marked on the God won’t matter because it has indestructible.)
  • 2/1/2014: If you activate the ability Phenax grants to creatures you control, the toughness of the creature is calculated as the ability resolves. If the creature is no longer on the battlefield at that time, use its toughness when it was last on the battlefield.
  • 2/1/2014: If Phenax is a creature, it will grant itself the activated ability.
  • 2/1/2014: If you tap Phenax to activate the ability it grants itself, and Phenax is no longer a creature but still on the battlefield as that ability resolves, no cards will be put into the target player’s graveyard. Similarly, if Phenax isn’t on the battlefield as the ability resolves and wasn’t a creature when it left the battlefield, no cards will be put into the graveyard.
Printings:
#152 (Ryan Barger)

Editions:
English Born of the Gods (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Phenax, Gott der Täuschung
French Phénax, dieu de la Fourberie
Italian Fenax, Dio dell'Inganno
Spanish Fenax, dios del engaño
Portuguese Fenax, Deus da Enganação
Japanese 欺瞞の神、フィナックス
Simplified Chinese 欺瞒神斐纳克
Russian Фенакс, Бог Обмана
Traditional Chinese 欺瞞神斐納克
Korean 속임수의 신 페낙스


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Phenax, God of Deception
View Decks with Phenax, God of Deception
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.