Rest in Peace Return to Ravnica Security Blockade

Rootborn Defenses Rootborn Defenses English

Instant, 2W (3)

Populate. Creatures you control gain indestructible until end of turn. (To populate, put a token onto the battlefield that's a copy of a creature token you control. Damage and effects that say "destroy" don't destroy creatures with indestructible.)

Illus. Mark Zug

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: You can choose any creature token you control for populate. If a spell or ability puts a token onto the battlefield under your control and then instructs you to populate (as Coursers’ Accord does), you may choose to copy the token you just created, or you may choose to copy another creature token you control.
  • 4/15/2013: If you choose to copy a creature token that’s a copy of another creature, the new creature token will copy the characteristics of whatever the original token is copying.
  • 4/15/2013: The new creature token copies the characteristics of the original token as stated by the effect that put the original token onto the battlefield.
  • 4/15/2013: The new token doesn’t copy whether the original token is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or Auras and Equipment attached to it, or any noncopy effects that have changed its power, toughness, color, and so on.
  • 4/15/2013: Any “as [this creature] enters the battlefield” or “[this creature] enters the battlefield with” abilities of the new token will work.
  • 4/15/2013: If you control no creature tokens when you populate, nothing will happen.
  • 7/1/2013: The creature token you put onto the battlefield will also have indestructible.
  • 7/1/2013: Creatures that enter the battlefield after Rootborn Defenses resolves will not gain indestructible.
Printings:
#19 (Mark Zug)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Common)

Languages:
German Verwurzelter Verteidiger
French Défenses nées des racines
Italian Difese delle Radici
Spanish Defensas raiznatas
Portuguese Defensores Radiconatos
Japanese 根生まれの防衛
Simplified Chinese 根生卫护
Russian Защитная Магия Корней
Traditional Chinese 根生衛護
Korean 뿌리 깊은 방어


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Rootborn Defenses
View Decks with Rootborn Defenses
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.