Skyline Predator Return to Ravnica Sphinx of the Chimes

Soulsworn Spirit Soulsworn Spirit English

Creature — Spirit 2/1, 3U (4)

Soulsworn Spirit can't be blocked.

When Soulsworn Spirit enters the battlefield, detain target creature an opponent controls. (Until your next turn, that creature can't attack or block and its activated abilities can't be activated.)

Illus. James Ryman

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: Activated abilities include a colon and are written in the form “[cost]: [effect].” No one can activate any activated abilities, including mana abilities, of a detained permanent.
  • 4/15/2013: The static abilities of a detained permanent still apply. The triggered abilities of a detained permanent can still trigger.
  • 4/15/2013: If a creature is already attacking or blocking when it’s detained, it won’t be removed from combat. It will continue to attack or block.
  • 4/15/2013: If a permanent’s activated ability is on the stack when that permanent is detained, the ability will be unaffected.
  • 4/15/2013: If a noncreature permanent is detained and later turns into a creature, it won’t be able to attack or block.
  • 4/15/2013: When a player leaves a multiplayer game, any continuous effects with durations that last until that player’s next turn or until a specific point in that turn will last until that turn would have begun. They neither expire immediately nor last indefinitely.
Printings:
#51 (James Ryman)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Geist der Seelen
French Esprit d'âme assermentée
Italian Spirito Cuorfedele
Spanish Espíritu comprometido
Portuguese Espírito Alma-jurada
Japanese 魂誓いの霊
Simplified Chinese 魂誓精怪
Russian Присягнувший Дух
Traditional Chinese 魂誓精靈
Korean 영혼을 선서한 신령


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Soulsworn Spirit
View Decks with Soulsworn Spirit
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.