[ 1-2 ] 2 cards

Ashiok's Adept Ashiok's Adept English

Creature — Human Wizard 1/3, 2B (3)

Heroic — Whenever you cast a spell that targets Ashiok's Adept, each opponent discards a card.

"Every nightmare is a caged bird that yearns to be set free."
—Ashiok, Nightmare Weaver

Illus. Karla Ortiz

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#59 (Karla Ortiz)

Editions:
English Born of the Gods (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Ashioks Lehrling
French Expert d'Ashiok
Italian Adepto di Ashiok
Spanish Adepto de Ashiok
Portuguese Adepto de Ashiok
Japanese アショクの心酔者
Simplified Chinese 安梭苛的专家
Russian Адепт Ашиока
Traditional Chinese 安梭苛的專家
Korean 아시오크의 추종자


all prints in all languages

Ashiok, Nightmare Weaver Ashiok, Nightmare Weaver English

Planeswalker — Ashiok (Loyalty: 3), 1UB (3)

+2: Exile the top three cards of target opponent's library.

-X: Put a creature card with converted mana cost X exiled with Ashiok, Nightmare Weaver onto the battlefield under your control. That creature is a Nightmare in addition to its other types.

-10: Exile all cards from all opponents' hands and graveyards.

Illus. Karla Ortiz

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers are permanents. You can cast one at the time you could cast a sorcery. When your planeswalker spell resolves, it enters the battlefield under your control.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers are not creatures. Spells and abilities that affect creatures won’t affect them.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers have loyalty. A planeswalker enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to the number printed in its lower right corner. Activating one of its abilities may cause it to gain or lose loyalty counters. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it. If it has no loyalty counters on it, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers each have a number of activated abilities called “loyalty abilities.” You can activate a loyalty ability of a planeswalker you control only at the time you could cast a sorcery and only if you haven’t activated one of that planeswalker’s loyalty abilities yet that turn.
  • 7/1/2013: The cost to activate a planeswalker’s loyalty ability is represented by a symbol with a number inside. Up-arrows contain positive numbers, such as “+1”; this means “Put one loyalty counter on this planeswalker.” Down-arrows contain negative numbers, such as “-7”; this means “Remove seven loyalty counters from this planeswalker.” A symbol with a “0” means “Put zero loyalty counters on this planeswalker.”
  • 7/1/2013: You can’t activate a planeswalker’s ability with a negative loyalty cost unless the planeswalker has at least that many loyalty counters on it.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers can’t attack (unless an effect turns the planeswalker into a creature). However, they can be attacked. Each of your attacking creatures can attack your opponent or a planeswalker that player controls. You say which as you declare attackers.
  • 7/1/2013: If your planeswalkers are being attacked, you can block the attackers as normal.
  • 7/1/2013: If a creature that’s attacking a planeswalker isn’t blocked, it’ll deal its combat damage to that planeswalker. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it.
  • 7/1/2013: If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker that opponent controls instead. For example, although you can’t target a planeswalker with Shock, you can target your opponent with Shock, and then as Shock resolves, choose to have Shock deal its 2 damage to one of your opponent’s planeswalkers. (You can’t split up that damage between different players and/or planeswalkers.) If you have Shock deal its damage to a planeswalker, two loyalty counters are removed from it.
  • 7/1/2013: If a player controls two or more planeswalkers that share a planeswalker type, that player chooses one of them and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action.
  • 9/15/2013: Ashiok’s second ability refers to any creature card exiled because of Ashiok’s first or third ability.
  • 9/15/2013: Ashiok’s second ability doesn’t target any creature card. You choose which creature card to return when that ability resolves, but you must choose one with converted mana cost equal to the value you chose for X when activating the ability.
  • 9/15/2013: If Ashiok leaves the battlefield, and later another Ashiok enters the battlefield, it is a new object (even if the two were represented by the same card). Creature cards exiled by the original Ashiok can’t be put onto the battlefield by the second ability of the new Ashiok.
  • 9/15/2013: If you put a creature card with bestow onto the battlefield, it will be a creature on the battlefield, not an Aura.
  • 9/15/2013: If you put a creature card with {X} in its mana cost onto the battlefield, the value of that X is 0.
Printings:
#188 (Karla Ortiz)

Editions:
English Theros (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Ashiok der Albtraumweber
French Ashiok, tisseur de cauchemars
Italian Ashiok, Tessitore di Incubi
Spanish Ashiok, urdidor de pesadillas
Portuguese Ashiok, Tecedor de Pesadelos
Japanese 悪夢の織り手、アショク
Simplified Chinese 织魇师安梭苛
Russian Ашиок, Ткач Кошмаров
Traditional Chinese 織魘師安梭苛
Korean 악몽을 부르는 아시오크


all prints in all languages

[ 1-2 ] 2 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.