next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-36 ] 36 cards

Beetleform Mage Beetleform Mage English

Creature — Human Insect Wizard 2/2, 1UG (3)

{G}{U}: Beetleform Mage gets +2/+2 and gains flying until end of turn. Activate this ability only once each turn.

"When the Simic say to take command of your life, we don't mean just your career."
—Vorel of the Hull Clade

Illus. Marco Nelor

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: If Beetleform Mage's ability is activated by one player, then another player gains control of it during the same turn, the second player can't activate its ability that turn.
  • 4/15/2013: Activating Beetleform Mage's ability after it's been blocked by a creature without flying or reach won't cause it to become unblocked.
Printings:
#54 (Marco Nelor)

Editions:
English Dragon's Maze (Common)

Languages:
German Käfergestaltiger Magier
French Mage à forme de scarabée
Italian Mago Scarabeiforme
Spanish Mago insectimorfo
Portuguese Beetleform Mage
Japanese 甲虫体の魔道士
Simplified Chinese 虫身法师
Russian Жукообразный Маг
Traditional Chinese 蟲身法師
Korean 벌레로 변하는 마도사


all prints in all languages

Centaur Healer Centaur Healer English

Creature — Centaur Cleric 3/3, 1WG (3)

When Centaur Healer enters the battlefield, you gain 3 life.

Instructors at the Kasarna training grounds are capable healers in case their students fail to grasp the subtleties of combat.

Illus. Mark Zug

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#148 (Mark Zug)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Common)

Languages:
German Heilender Zentaur
French Guérisseur centaure
Italian Centauro Guaritore
Spanish Sanador centauro
Portuguese Curandeiro Centauro
Japanese ケンタウルスの癒し手
Simplified Chinese 半人马治疗师
Russian Кентавр-Целитель
Traditional Chinese 半人馬治療師
Korean 켄타우로스 치유사


all prints in all languages

Centaur Safeguard Centaur Safeguard English

Creature — Centaur Warrior 3/1, 2{G/W} (3)

({G/W} can be paid with either {G} or {W}.)

When Centaur Safeguard dies, you may gain 3 life.

Swift, strong, and selfless, the centaurs are the shields of the Conclave.

Illus. Glenn Fabry

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#244 (Glenn Fabry)

Editions:
English Ravnica: City of Guilds (Common)

Languages:
German Zentauren-Sicherheitsdienst
French Factionnaire centaure
Italian Sorvegliante Centauro
Spanish Protector centauro
Portuguese Protetor Centauro
Japanese ケンタウルスの護衛兵
Simplified Chinese 半人马守卫
Russian Кентавр-охранник


all prints in all languages

Deathcult Rogue Deathcult Rogue English

Creature — Human Rogue 2/2, 1{U/B}{U/B} (3)

Deathcult Rogue can't be blocked except by Rogues.

"The hussars can't catch him, and he evades our traps with ease. I fear he walks unseen even in the halls of New Prahv."
—Arrester Lavinia, Tenth Precinct

Illus. David Palumbo

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/24/2013: If a creature already assigned to block Deathcult Rogue stops being a Rogue, it will continue to block.
Printings:
#218 (David Palumbo)

Editions:
English Gatecrash (Common)

Languages:
German Todeskult-Räuber
French Gredin morteculte
Italian Farabutto del Culto di Morte
Spanish Bribón del culto mortal
Portuguese Ladino do Culto da Morte
Japanese 死教団のならず者
Simplified Chinese 杀生宗浪客
Russian Разбойник Культа Смерти
Traditional Chinese 殺生宗浪客
Korean 죽음숭배단 도적


all prints in all languages

Drakewing Krasis Drakewing Krasis English

Creature — Lizard Drake 3/1, 1UG (3)

Flying, trample

Cautious not to repeat Vig's mistakes, the Simic fuse life essences using magic alone. Each result is called a krasis.

Illus. Johann Bodin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#157 (Johann Bodin)

Editions:
English Gatecrash (Common)

Languages:
German Sceadaschwingen-Krasis
French Krasis ailedrakôn
Italian Krasis Aladrago
Spanish Krasis aladraco
Portuguese Krasis Dragonóptero
Japanese ドレイク翼の混成体
Simplified Chinese 龙兽翼融合体
Russian Дрейкокрылый Красис
Traditional Chinese 龍獸翼融合體
Korean 드레이크날개 크라시스


all prints in all languages

Esper Sojourners Esper Sojourners English

Artifact Creature — Vedalken Wizard 2/3, WUB (3)

When you cycle Esper Sojourners or it dies, you may tap or untap target permanent.

Cycling {2}{U} ({2}{U}, Discard this card: Draw a card.)

The wilder the frontier, the greater the need for a controlling hand.

Illus. John Avon

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: Cycling is an activated ability. Effects that interact with activated abilities (such as Stifle or Rings of Brighthearth) will interact with cycling. Effects that interact with spells (such as Remove Soul or Faerie Tauntings) will not.
  • 5/1/2009: The triggered ability acts as a cycle-triggered ability or as a leaves-the-battlefield ability, as appropriate. The player who controls the triggered ability is the player who cycled the Sojourner, or the player who last controlled the Sojourner on the battlefield.
  • 5/1/2009: If you cycle this card, the cycling ability goes on the stack, then the triggered ability goes on the stack on top of it. The triggered ability will resolve before you draw a card from the cycling ability.
  • 5/1/2009: The cycling ability and the triggered ability are separate. If the triggered ability is countered (with Stifle, for example, or if all its targets have become illegal), the cycling ability will still resolve and you'll draw a card.
  • 5/1/2009: You can cycle this card even if there are no targets for the triggered ability. That's because the cycling ability itself has no targets.
Printings:
#107 (John Avon)

Editions:
English Alara Reborn (Common)

Languages:
German Besucher aus Esper
French Séjourneurs d'Esper
Italian Visitatori di Esper
Spanish Transeúntes de Esper
Portuguese Visitantes de Esper
Japanese エスパーの滞留者
Simplified Chinese 艾斯波旅居者
Russian Гости из Эспера


all prints in all languages

Ethersworn Shieldmage Ethersworn Shieldmage English

Artifact Creature — Vedalken Wizard 2/2, 1WU (3)

Flash

When Ethersworn Shieldmage enters the battlefield, prevent all damage that would be dealt to artifact creatures this turn.

Illus. Daarken

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2009: When Ethersworn Shieldmage's triggered ability resolves, it doesn't lock in which permanents will be affected. For the rest of the turn, any time damage would be dealt to a permanent, check whether it's an artifact creature at that time. If it is, that damage is prevented.
Printings:
#84 (Daarken)

Editions:
English Archenemy (Common)
English Alara Reborn (Common)

Languages:
German Äthergläubiger Schildmagier
French Protecmage des Éthermentés
Italian Eterica di Magiscudo
Spanish Magoescudo etereada
Portuguese Magi-Protetor Etherólatra
Japanese エーテル宣誓会の盾魔道士
Simplified Chinese 乙金盟盾法师
Russian Вооруженная Эфироблюстительница


all prints in all languages

Godtracker of Jund Godtracker of Jund English

Creature — Elf Shaman 2/2, 1RG (3)

Whenever a creature with power 5 or greater enters the battlefield under your control, you may put a +1/+1 counter on Godtracker of Jund.

"The behemoths are content to graze like cattle, while dragons rage and conquer. I know which example I'll follow."

Illus. Justin Sweet

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#55 (Justin Sweet)

Editions:
English Alara Reborn (Common)

Languages:
German Göttersucher aus Jund
French Pistedieu de Jund
Italian Battipista Divino di Jund
Spanish Siguedioses de Jund
Portuguese Sacro-seguidor de Jund
Japanese ジャンドの神追い
Simplified Chinese 勇得溯神师
Russian Боговод из Джанда


all prints in all languages

Gravelgill Duo Gravelgill Duo English

Creature — Merfolk Rogue Warrior 2/1, 2{U/B} (3)

Whenever you cast a blue spell, Gravelgill Duo gets +1/+1 until end of turn.

Whenever you cast a black spell, Gravelgill Duo gains fear until end of turn. (It can't be blocked except by artifact creatures and/or black creatures.)

Illus. Brandon Kitkouski

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#165 (Brandon Kitkouski)

Editions:
English Shadowmoor (Common)

Languages:
German Schotterkiemen-Duo
French Duo d'Ouisablon
Italian Duo della Branchiaghiaiosa
Spanish Dúo de Branquia Arenosa
Portuguese Duo Petreobrânquio
Japanese 砂利エラの二人組
Simplified Chinese 砂鳃搭档
Russian Камнежаберные Напарники
Traditional Chinese Gravelgill Duo


all prints in all languages

Hobgoblin Dragoon Hobgoblin Dragoon English

Creature — Goblin Knight 1/2, 2{R/W} (3)

Flying, first strike

The faeries snickered at first. A common hob in Oona's skies? But his lance ended their mockery, and now the sound of a cicada's wings brings a shudder to the faerie heart.

Illus. Matt Cavotta

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#142 (Matt Cavotta)

Editions:
English Eventide (Common)

Languages:
German Hobgoblin-Dragoner
French Grognard lutin
Italian Dragone Hobgoblin
Spanish Dragón hobgoblin
Portuguese Dragão Hobgoblin
Japanese ホブゴブリンの竜騎兵
Simplified Chinese 大精灵重装兵
Russian Хобгоблин-Драгун


all prints in all languages

Jund Sojourners Jund Sojourners English

Creature — Viashino Shaman 3/2, BRG (3)

When you cycle Jund Sojourners or it dies, you may have it deal 1 damage to target creature or player.

Cycling {2}{R} ({2}{R}, Discard this card: Draw a card.)

Illus. John Avon

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: Cycling is an activated ability. Effects that interact with activated abilities (such as Stifle or Rings of Brighthearth) will interact with cycling. Effects that interact with spells (such as Remove Soul or Faerie Tauntings) will not.
  • 5/1/2009: The triggered ability acts as a cycle-triggered ability or as a leaves-the-battlefield ability, as appropriate. The player who controls the triggered ability is the player who cycled the Sojourner, or the player who last controlled the Sojourner on the battlefield.
  • 5/1/2009: If you cycle this card, the cycling ability goes on the stack, then the triggered ability goes on the stack on top of it. The triggered ability will resolve before you draw a card from the cycling ability.
  • 5/1/2009: The cycling ability and the triggered ability are separate. If the triggered ability is countered (with Stifle, for example, or if all its targets have become illegal), the cycling ability will still resolve and you'll draw a card.
  • 5/1/2009: You can cycle this card even if there are no targets for the triggered ability. That's because the cycling ability itself has no targets.
Printings:
#116 (John Avon)

Editions:
English Alara Reborn (Common)

Languages:
German Besucher aus Jund
French Séjourneurs de Jund
Italian Visitatori di Jund
Spanish Transeúntes de Jund
Portuguese Visitantes de Jund
Japanese ジャンドの滞留者
Simplified Chinese 勇得旅居者
Russian Гости из Джанда


all prints in all languages

Kathari Bomber Kathari Bomber English

Creature — Bird Shaman 2/2, 1BR (3)

Flying

When Kathari Bomber deals combat damage to a player, put two 1/1 red Goblin creature tokens onto the battlefield and sacrifice Kathari Bomber.

Unearth {3}{B}{R} ({3}{B}{R}: Return this card from your graveyard to the battlefield. It gains haste. Exile it at the beginning of the next end step or if it would leave the battlefield. Unearth only as a sorcery.)

Illus. Carl Critchlow

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2009: When the triggered ability resolves, you put two Goblin tokens onto the battlefield regardless of how much combat damage Kathari Bomber dealt to the player. You get the tokens even if you can't sacrifice Kathari Bomber (because it's no longer under your control).
Printings:
#41 (Carl Critchlow)

Editions:
English Alara Reborn (Common)

Languages:
German Kathari-Bomber
French Grenadier kathari
Italian Bombardiere Kathari
Spanish Bombardero kathari
Portuguese Bombardeiro Kathari
Japanese カターリの爆撃兵
Simplified Chinese 卡刹立轰击师
Russian Истребитель Катари


all prints in all languages

Kederekt Creeper Kederekt Creeper English

Creature — Horror 2/3, UBR (3)

Deathtouch (Any amount of damage this deals to a creature is enough to destroy it.)

Kederekt Creeper can't be blocked except by two or more creatures.

Bloated with venom, it crawls Grixis looking for victims to ooze onto.

Illus. Mark Hyzer

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#176 (Mark Hyzer)

Editions:
English Shards of Alara (Common)

Languages:
German Kriecher aus Kederekt
French Fureteur de Kederekt
Italian Strisciante di Kederekt
Spanish Trepador de Kederekt
Portuguese Rastejador de Kederekt
Japanese ケデレクトの忍び寄るもの
Simplified Chinese 奇登磊匍行怪
Russian Кедеректский Ползун


all prints in all languages

Kingpin's Pet Kingpin's Pet English

Creature — Thrull 2/2, 1WB (3)

Flying

Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.)

"Debt and death sound so similar, and thrulls are so hard of hearing. Mistakes are inevitable."
—Milana, Orzhov prelate

Illus. Mark Zug

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: You may pay {W/B} a maximum of one time for each extort triggered ability. You decide whether to pay when the ability resolves.
  • 4/15/2013: The amount of life you gain from extort is based on the total amount of life lost, not necessarily the number of opponents you have. For example, if your opponent's life total can't change (perhaps because that player controls Platinum Emperion), you won't gain any life.
  • 4/15/2013: The extort ability doesn't target any player.
Printings:
#173 (Mark Zug)

Editions:
English Gatecrash (Common)

Languages:
German Schoßtier des Hintermanns
French Familier du caïd
Italian Prediletto del Capo
Spanish Mascota del líder
Portuguese Animal de Estimação do Dirigente
Japanese 重要人物のペット
Simplified Chinese 首领宠物
Russian Питомец Главаря
Traditional Chinese 首領寵物
Korean 왕초의 애완동물


all prints in all languages

Lava Zombie Lava Zombie English

Creature — Zombie 4/3, 1BR (3)

When Lava Zombie enters the battlefield, return a black or red creature you control to its owner's hand.

{2}: Lava Zombie gets +1/+0 until end of turn.

Illus. Tom Wänerstrand

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: You choose the creature to return on resolution of the triggered ability. This is not targeted.
Printings:
#113 (Tom Wänerstrand)

Editions:
English Planeshift (Common)

Languages:
German Lavazombie
French Zombie des laves
Italian Zombie della Lava
Spanish Zombie de lava
Portuguese Zumbi de Lava


all prints in all languages

Minister of Impediments Minister of Impediments English

Creature — Human Advisor 1/1, 2{W/U} (3)

({W/U} can be paid with either {W} or {U}.)

{T}: Tap target creature.

When it takes forever to learn all the rules, no time is left for breaking them.

Illus. Brian Hagan

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#144 (Brian Hagan)

Editions:
English Dissension (Common)

Languages:
German Minister für Hindernisse
French Ministre des impedimenta
Italian Ministro degli Impedimenti
Spanish Ministro de impedimentos
Portuguese Ministro dos Obstáculos
Japanese 妨害の公使
Simplified Chinese 阻碍执行员
Russian Служитель помех


all prints in all languages

Mortus Strider Mortus Strider English

Creature — Skeleton 1/1, 1UB (3)

When Mortus Strider dies, return it to its owner's hand.

Dimir's best agents hide from death itself.

Illus. Tomasz Jedruszek

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/24/2013: Mortis Strider will return to its owner's hand only if it is still in the graveyard when its ability resolves.
Printings:
#179 (Tomasz Jedruszek)

Editions:
English Gatecrash (Common)

Languages:
German Schreitende Tote
French Enjambeur mortus
Italian Mortus Errante
Spanish Montaraz mortus
Portuguese Andarilho Mortus
Japanese 薨の徘徊者
Simplified Chinese 跨行亡者
Russian Шатун Смерти
Traditional Chinese 跨行亡者
Korean 사지를 걷는 자


all prints in all languages

Nivix Cyclops Nivix Cyclops English

Creature — Cyclops 1/4, 1UR (3)

Defender

Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell, Nivix Cyclops gets +3/+0 until end of turn and can attack this turn as though it didn't have defender.

Illus. Wayne Reynolds

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: Nivix Cyclops still has defender after its triggered ability resolves, although it will be able to attack.
Printings:
#87 (Wayne Reynolds)

Editions:
English Dragon's Maze (Common)

Languages:
German Nivix-Zyklop
French Cyclope de Nivix
Italian Ciclope di Nivix
Spanish Cíclope de Nívix
Portuguese Nivix Cyclops
Japanese ニヴィックスのサイクロプス
Simplified Chinese 尼米斯独眼巨人
Russian Циклоп из Нивикса
Traditional Chinese 尼米斯獨眼巨人
Korean 니빅스 키클롭스


all prints in all languages

Noggle Bandit Noggle Bandit English

Creature — Noggle Rogue 2/2, 1{U/R}{U/R} (3)

Noggle Bandit can't be blocked except by creatures with defender.

Noggles believe that they were the first race ever to walk Shadowmoor. They don't "steal." They just take back what's rightfully theirs.

Illus. Thomas Denmark

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#106 (Thomas Denmark)

Editions:
English Eventide (Common)

Languages:
German Noggele-Bandit
French Bandit neugle
Italian Noggle Bandito
Spanish Bandido noggle
Portuguese Bandido Noggle
Japanese ノッグルの山賊
Simplified Chinese 诺格土匪
Russian Ноггл-Разбойник


all prints in all languages

Rakdos Ickspitter Rakdos Ickspitter English

Creature — Thrull 1/1, 1BR (3)

{T}: Rakdos Ickspitter deals 1 damage to target creature and that creature's controller loses 1 life.

"Our thrulls dissolve from the inside out in a matter of days. Shoddy work, but they're a scream while they last."
—Uzric, Rakdos guildmage

Illus. Christopher Rush

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#128 (Christopher Rush)

Editions:
English Dissension (Common)

Languages:
German Rakdos-Schleimspeier
French Crachepoisse rakdos
Italian Sputafiele Rakdos
Spanish Escupidor rakdos
Portuguese Cospe-Gosma Rakdos
Japanese ラクドスの痰吐き
Simplified Chinese 拉铎司恶吐兽
Russian Мерзкоплюй Ракдосов


all prints in all languages

next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-36 ] 36 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.