[ 1-3 ] 3 cards

Epic Experiment Epic Experiment English

Sorcery, XUR (2)

Exile the top X cards of your library. For each instant and sorcery card with converted mana cost X or less among them, you may cast that card without paying its mana cost. Then put all cards exiled this way that weren't cast into your graveyard.

Illus. Dan Scott

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2012: You cast the cards one at a time, choosing modes, targets, and so on. The last card you cast will be the first one to resolve.
  • 10/1/2012: When casting an instant or sorcery card this way, ignore timing restrictions based on the card's type. Other timing restrictions, such as “Cast [this card] only during combat,” must be followed.
  • 10/1/2012: If you can't cast an instant or sorcery card, perhaps because there are no legal targets available, or if you choose not to cast one, it will be put into your graveyard.
  • 10/1/2012: If you cast a card “without paying its mana cost,” you can't pay alternative costs such as overload costs. You can pay additional costs such as kicker costs. If the card has mandatory additional costs, you must pay those.
  • 10/1/2012: If a card has {X} in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as its value.
Printings:
#159 (Dan Scott)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Episches Experiment
French Expérience épique
Italian Esperimento Epico
Spanish Experimento épico
Portuguese Experimento Épico
Japanese 世紀の実験
Simplified Chinese 壮绝实验
Russian Великий Эксперимент
Traditional Chinese 壯絕實驗
Korean 위대한 실험


all prints in all languages

Rakdos's Return Rakdos's Return English

Sorcery, XBR (2)

Rakdos's Return deals X damage to target opponent. That player discards X cards.

When Lord Rakdos stirred from his slumber, everyone else's nightmare began.

Illus. Daarken

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2012: The target opponent will discard X cards even if some or all of the damage dealt by Rakdos's Return is prevented or redirected.
Printings:
#188 (Daarken)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Rakdos' Rückkehr
French Retour de Rakdos
Italian Ritorno di Rakdos
Spanish Regreso de Rakdos
Portuguese Retorno de Rakdos
Japanese ラクドスの復活
Simplified Chinese 拉铎司再现
Russian Возвращение Ракдоса
Traditional Chinese 拉鐸司再現
Korean 락도스의 귀환


all prints in all languages

Sphinx's Revelation Sphinx's Revelation English

Instant, XWUU (3)

You gain X life and draw X cards.

"Let the knowledge of absolute law inspire you to live a life of absolute order."

Illus. Slawomir Maniak

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2012: If the value chosen for X is larger than the number of cards left in your library, you'll lose the game the next time state-based actions are performed.
Printings:
#200 (Slawomir Maniak)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Offenbarung der Sphinx
French Révélation du sphinx
Italian Rivelazione della Sfinge
Spanish Revelación de la esfinge
Portuguese Revelação da Esfinge
Japanese スフィンクスの啓示
Simplified Chinese 史芬斯的启示
Russian Откровения Сфинкса
Traditional Chinese 史芬斯的啟示
Korean 스핑크스의 계시


all prints in all languages

[ 1-3 ] 3 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.