[ 1-4 ] 4 cards

Gideon Jura Gideon Jura English

Planeswalker — Gideon (Loyalty: 6), 3WW (5)

+2: During target opponent's next turn, creatures that player controls attack Gideon Jura if able.

-2: Destroy target tapped creature.

0: Until end of turn, Gideon Jura becomes a 6/6 Human Soldier creature that's still a planeswalker. Prevent all damage that would be dealt to him this turn.

Illus. Aleksi Briclot

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/15/2010: Gideon Jura's first ability doesn't lock in what it applies to. That's because the effect states a true thing about a set of creatures, but doesn't actually change the characteristics of those creatures. As a result, whatever creatures the targeted opponent controls during the declare attackers step of his or her next turn must attack Gideon Jura if able. This includes creatures that come under that player's control after the ability has resolved and creatures that have lost all abilities.
  • 6/15/2010: Gideon Jura's first ability causes creatures to attack him if able. If, during the affected player's declare attackers step, a creature he or she controls is tapped, is affected by a spell or ability that says it can't attack, or is affected by "summoning sickness," then that creature doesn't attack. If there's a cost associated with having a creature attack, the player isn't forced to pay that cost, so the creature doesn't have to attack in that case either.
  • 6/15/2010: If a creature controlled by the affected player can't attack Gideon Jura (because he's no longer on the battlefield, for example), that player may have it attack you, another one of your planeswalkers, or nothing at all.
  • 6/15/2010: Gideon Jura's first ability applies during each combat phase of the affected player's next turn (as opposed to applying during the affected player's next combat phase). The distinction is relevant if there are no combat phases during that turn (due to Fatespinner's effect, for example) or there are multiples (due to World at War, for example).
  • 6/15/2010: If Gideon Jura becomes a creature due to his third ability, that doesn't count as having a creature enter the battlefield. Gideon Jura was already on the battlefield; he only changed his types. Abilities that trigger whenever a creature enters the battlefield won't trigger.
  • 6/15/2010: If Gideon Jura becomes a creature, he may be affected by "summoning sickness." You can't attack with him or use any of his {T} abilities (if he gains any) unless he began your most recent turn on the battlefield under your control. Note that summoning sickness cares about when Gideon Jura came under your control, not when he became a creature.
  • 6/15/2010: Gideon Jura's third ability causes him to become a creature with the creature types Human Soldier. He remains a planeswalker with the planeswalker type Gideon. (He also retains any other card types or subtypes he may have had.) Each subtype is correlated to the proper card type: Gideon is just a planeswalker type (not a creature type), and Human and Soldier are just creature types (not planeswalker types).
  • 6/15/2010: If you activate Gideon Jura's third ability and then unpreventable damage is dealt to him (due to Unstable Footing, for example), that damage has all applicable results: specifically, the damage is marked on Gideon Jura (since he's a creature) and that damage causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from him (since he's a planeswalker). If the total amount of damage marked on Gideon Jura is lethal damage, he's destroyed as a state-based action. If Gideon Jura has no loyalty counters on him, he's put into his owner's graveyard as a state-based action.
  • 6/15/2010: Say you activate Gideon Jura's third ability, then an opponent gains control of him before combat. You may have any of your creatures attack Gideon Jura (since he's still a planeswalker). Then Gideon Jura may block (since he's a creature). He may block any eligible attacking creature, including one that's attacking him! During combat, he behaves as an attacked planeswalker and/or a blocking creature, as appropriate. For example, he deals combat damage to any creatures he's blocking, but he doesn't deal combat damage to any unblocked creatures that are attacking him.
  • 1/22/2011: The first ability only affects the declaration of attackers. If a creature is put onto the battlefield attacking (thanks to Hero of Bladehold, Preeminent Captain, or the Ninjutsu ability, for example), that creature's controller may choose the defending player or planeswalker that it will be attacking in the normal way.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers are permanents. You can cast one at the time you could cast a sorcery. When your planeswalker spell resolves, it enters the battlefield under your control.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers are not creatures. Spells and abilities that affect creatures won’t affect them.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers have loyalty. A planeswalker enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to the number printed in its lower right corner. Activating one of its abilities may cause it to gain or lose loyalty counters. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it. If it has no loyalty counters on it, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers each have a number of activated abilities called “loyalty abilities.” You can activate a loyalty ability of a planeswalker you control only at the time you could cast a sorcery and only if you haven’t activated one of that planeswalker’s loyalty abilities yet that turn.
  • 7/1/2013: The cost to activate a planeswalker’s loyalty ability is represented by a symbol with a number inside. Up-arrows contain positive numbers, such as “+1”; this means “Put one loyalty counter on this planeswalker.” Down-arrows contain negative numbers, such as “-7”; this means “Remove seven loyalty counters from this planeswalker.” A symbol with a “0” means “Put zero loyalty counters on this planeswalker.”
  • 7/1/2013: You can’t activate a planeswalker’s ability with a negative loyalty cost unless the planeswalker has at least that many loyalty counters on it.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers can’t attack (unless an effect turns the planeswalker into a creature). However, they can be attacked. Each of your attacking creatures can attack your opponent or a planeswalker that player controls. You say which as you declare attackers.
  • 7/1/2013: If your planeswalkers are being attacked, you can block the attackers as normal.
  • 7/1/2013: If a creature that’s attacking a planeswalker isn’t blocked, it’ll deal its combat damage to that planeswalker. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it.
  • 7/1/2013: If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker that opponent controls instead. For example, although you can’t target a planeswalker with Shock, you can target your opponent with Shock, and then as Shock resolves, choose to have Shock deal its 2 damage to one of your opponent’s planeswalkers. (You can’t split up that damage between different players and/or planeswalkers.) If you have Shock deal its damage to a planeswalker, two loyalty counters are removed from it.
  • 7/1/2013: If a player controls two or more planeswalkers that share a planeswalker type, that player chooses one of them and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action.
Printings:
#16 (Aleksi Briclot)

Editions:
English Magic 2012 (Mythic Rare)
English Rise of the Eldrazi (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Gideon Jura
French Gideon Jura
Italian Gideon Jura
Spanish Gideon Jura
Portuguese Gideon Jura
Japanese ギデオン・ジュラ
Simplified Chinese 基定尤拉
Russian Гидеон Джура
Traditional Chinese 基定尤拉


all prints in all languages

Gideon's Avenger Gideon's Avenger English

Creature — Human Soldier 2/2, 1WW (3)

Whenever a creature an opponent controls becomes tapped, put a +1/+1 counter on Gideon's Avenger.

"The good don't sit and wait for the evil to act. They prepare to defend. They prepare to punish."

Illus. Randy Gallegos

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/22/2011: If an opponent's creature enters the battlefield tapped, Gideon's Avenger's ability doesn't trigger.
Printings:
#17 (Randy Gallegos)

Editions:
English Magic 2012 (Rare)

Languages:
German Gideons Rächer
French Vengeur de Gideon
Italian Vendicatore di Gideon
Spanish Vengador de Gideon
Portuguese Vingador de Gideon
Japanese ギデオンの報復者
Simplified Chinese 基定复仇者
Russian Мститель Гидеона
Traditional Chinese 基定復仇者


all prints in all languages

Gideon's Lawkeeper Gideon's Lawkeeper English

Creature — Human Soldier 1/1, W (1)

{W}, {T}: Tap target creature.

"The essence of a lawful society is swift deterrence."

Illus. Steve Prescott

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#18 (Steve Prescott)

Editions:
English Magic 2012 (Common)

Languages:
German Gideons Ordnungshüter
French Gardeloi de Gideon
Italian Disciplinato di Gideon
Spanish Protector de la ley de Gideon
Portuguese Guardião da Lei de Gideon
Japanese ギデオンの法の番人
Simplified Chinese 基定维安兵
Russian Законохранитель Гидеона
Traditional Chinese 基定維安兵


all prints in all languages

Gideon, Champion of Justice Gideon, Champion of Justice English

Planeswalker — Gideon (Loyalty: 4), 2WW (4)

+1: Put a loyalty counter on Gideon, Champion of Justice for each creature target opponent controls.

0: Until end of turn, Gideon, Champion of Justice becomes a Human Soldier creature with power and toughness each equal to the number of loyalty counters on him and gains indestructible. He's still a planeswalker. Prevent all damage that would be dealt to him this turn.

-15: Exile all other permanents.

Illus. David Rapoza

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/24/2013: You put a loyalty counter on Gideon, Champion of Justice as part of the cost of activating the first ability. When that ability resolves, you count the number of creatures controlled by the target opponent and put that many additional loyalty counters on Gideon.
  • 1/24/2013: If the first ability is countered (perhaps because the target opponent is an illegal target when the ability tries to resolve), you won't put any additional loyalty counters on Gideon, although the loyalty counter you put on him to activate the ability will remain.
  • 1/24/2013: If Gideon, Champion of Justice becomes a creature due to his second ability, that doesn't count as having a creature enter the battlefield. Gideon was already on the battlefield; he only changed his types. Abilities that trigger whenever a creature enters the battlefield won't trigger.
  • 1/24/2013: Gideon, Champion of Justice's power and toughness are set to the number of loyalty counters on him when his second ability resolves. They won't change later in the turn if the number of loyalty counters on him changes.
  • 1/24/2013: If Gideon, Champion of Justice becomes a creature the same turn he enters the battlefield, you can't attack with him or use any of his {T} abilities (if he gains any).
  • 1/24/2013: Gideon, Champion of Justice's second ability causes him to become a creature with the creature types Human and Soldier. He remains a planeswalker with the planeswalker type Gideon. (He also retains any other card types or subtypes he may have had.) Each subtype is correlated to the proper card type: Gideon is just a planeswalker type (not a creature type), and Human and Soldier are just creature types (not planeswalker types).
  • 1/24/2013: Say you activate Gideon, Champion of Justice's second ability, and then an opponent gains control of him before combat. You may have any of your creatures attack Gideon, Champion of Justice (since he's still a planeswalker). Then Gideon, Champion of Justice may block (since he's a creature). He may block any eligible attacking creature, including one that's attacking him! During combat, he behaves as an attacked planeswalker and/or a blocking creature, as appropriate. For example, he deals combat damage to any creatures he's blocking, but he doesn't deal combat damage to any unblocked creatures that are attacking him.
  • 7/1/2013: If damage that can't be prevented is dealt to Gideon, Champion of Justice after his second ability has resolved, that damage will have all applicable results: specifically, the damage is marked on Gideon (since he's a creature) and that damage causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from him (since he's a planeswalker). Even though he has indestructible, if Gideon, Champion of Justice has no loyalty counters on him, he's put into his owner's graveyard as a state-based action.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers are permanents. You can cast one at the time you could cast a sorcery. When your planeswalker spell resolves, it enters the battlefield under your control.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers are not creatures. Spells and abilities that affect creatures won’t affect them.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers have loyalty. A planeswalker enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to the number printed in its lower right corner. Activating one of its abilities may cause it to gain or lose loyalty counters. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it. If it has no loyalty counters on it, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers each have a number of activated abilities called “loyalty abilities.” You can activate a loyalty ability of a planeswalker you control only at the time you could cast a sorcery and only if you haven’t activated one of that planeswalker’s loyalty abilities yet that turn.
  • 7/1/2013: The cost to activate a planeswalker’s loyalty ability is represented by a symbol with a number inside. Up-arrows contain positive numbers, such as “+1”; this means “Put one loyalty counter on this planeswalker.” Down-arrows contain negative numbers, such as “-7”; this means “Remove seven loyalty counters from this planeswalker.” A symbol with a “0” means “Put zero loyalty counters on this planeswalker.”
  • 7/1/2013: You can’t activate a planeswalker’s ability with a negative loyalty cost unless the planeswalker has at least that many loyalty counters on it.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers can’t attack (unless an effect turns the planeswalker into a creature). However, they can be attacked. Each of your attacking creatures can attack your opponent or a planeswalker that player controls. You say which as you declare attackers.
  • 7/1/2013: If your planeswalkers are being attacked, you can block the attackers as normal.
  • 7/1/2013: If a creature that’s attacking a planeswalker isn’t blocked, it’ll deal its combat damage to that planeswalker. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it.
  • 7/1/2013: If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker that opponent controls instead. For example, although you can’t target a planeswalker with Shock, you can target your opponent with Shock, and then as Shock resolves, choose to have Shock deal its 2 damage to one of your opponent’s planeswalkers. (You can’t split up that damage between different players and/or planeswalkers.) If you have Shock deal its damage to a planeswalker, two loyalty counters are removed from it.
  • 7/1/2013: If a player controls two or more planeswalkers that share a planeswalker type, that player chooses one of them and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action.
Printings:
#13 (David Rapoza)

Editions:
English Gatecrash (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Gideon, Champion des Rechts
French Gideon, Champion de la justice
Italian Gideon, Campione di Giustizia
Spanish Gideon, campeón de la justicia
Portuguese Gideon, Campeão da Justiça
Japanese 正義の勇者ギデオン
Simplified Chinese 正义斗士基定
Russian Гидеон, Поборник Справедливости
Traditional Chinese 正義鬥士基定
Korean 정의의 투사 기디온


all prints in all languages

[ 1-4 ] 4 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.