next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-60 ] [ 61-80 ] [ 81-100 ] [ 101-120 ] [ 121-138 ] 138 cards

Akki Rockspeaker Akki Rockspeaker English

Creature — Goblin Shaman 1/1, 1R (2)

When Akki Rockspeaker enters the battlefield, add {R} to your mana pool.

The lava-proof shells of akki evolved over centuries, as akki pranks almost always got seriously out of hand.

Illus. David Martin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/25/2011: You get the mana whether you want it or not. If you don't spend it, it will disappear at the end of the current step (or phase).
Printings:
#154 (David Martin)

Editions:
English Champions of Kamigawa (Common)

Languages:
German Akki-Steineflüsterer
French Akki languepierre
Italian Litofono Akki
Spanish Rocahablante akki
Portuguese Akki Litófilo
Japanese 悪忌の岩語り
Simplified Chinese 岩语恶鬼


all prints in all languages

Alloy Myr Alloy Myr English

Artifact Creature — Myr 2/2, 3 (3)

{T}: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool.

With or without witnesses, the suns continued their prismatic dance.

Illus. Matt Cavotta

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#129 (Matt Cavotta)

Editions:
English New Phyrexia (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Legierungsmyr
French Myr d'alliage
Italian Myr delle Leghe
Spanish Myr de aleación
Portuguese Myr de Liga
Japanese 合金のマイア
Simplified Chinese 合金秘耳
Russian Легированный Миэр
Traditional Chinese 合金秘耳


all prints in all languages

Altar of the Lost Altar of the Lost English

Artifact, 3 (3)

Altar of the Lost enters the battlefield tapped.

{T}: Add two mana in any combination of colors to your mana pool. Spend this mana only to cast spells with flashback from a graveyard.

Illus. Daarken

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/22/2011: Altar of the Lost doesn't allow you to cast spells from any other player's graveyard, although you can spend the mana it produces on such spells if something else allows you to.
  • 1/22/2011: You can spend mana produced by Altar of the Lost to cast any spell with flashback that you cast from a graveyard. You don't have to be using flashback to cast that spell, however, as long as something else is allowing you to cast that spell.
Printings:
#144 (Daarken)

Editions:
English Dark Ascension (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Altar der Verlorenen
French Autel des égarés
Italian Altare degli Smarriti
Spanish Altar de los perdidos
Portuguese Altar dos Perdidos
Japanese 迷いし者の祭壇
Simplified Chinese 逝者祭坛
Russian Алтарь Сгинувших
Traditional Chinese 逝者祭壇
Korean 길을 잃은 자들의 제단


all prints in all languages

Ashnod's Altar Ashnod's Altar English

Artifact, 3 (3)

Sacrifice a creature: Add {2} to your mana pool.

The Brothers' War scarred the land, but Ashnod left her mark in the bloodlines of those she tortured.

Illus. Anson Maddocks

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#274 (Anson Maddocks)

Editions:
English Classic Sixth Edition (Uncommon)
English Fifth Edition (Uncommon)
English Chronicles (Common (C2))
English Antiquities (Uncommon (U2))
English MTGO Masters Edition IV (Rare)

Languages:
German Ashnods Altar
French Autel d'Ashnod
Italian Altare di Ashnod
Spanish Altar de Ashnod
Portuguese Altar de Ashnod


all prints in all languages

Astral Cornucopia Astral Cornucopia English

Artifact, XXX

Astral Cornucopia enters the battlefield with X charge counters on it.

{T}: Choose a color. Add one mana of that color to your mana pool for each charge counter on Astral Cornucopia.

Illus. Aleksi Briclot

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/1/2014: If you choose 1 for the value of X, Astral Cornucopia will cost {3} to cast and enter the battlefield with one charge counter. If you choose 2 for the value of X, it will cost {6} to cast and enter the battlefield with two charge counters, and so on.
  • 1/1/2014: The last ability is a mana ability. It doesn’t use the stack and can’t be responded to.
Printings:
#157 (Aleksi Briclot)

Editions:
English Born of the Gods (Rare)

Languages:
German Astrales Füllhorn
French Cornucopée astrale
Italian Cornucopia Astrale
Spanish Cornucopia astral
Portuguese Cornucópia Astral
Japanese 霊体のヤギ角
Simplified Chinese 星幽羊角
Russian Звездный Рог Изобилия
Traditional Chinese 星幽羊角
Korean 천상 풍요의 뿔


all prints in all languages

Astrolabe Astrolabe English

Artifact, 3 (3)

{1}, {T}, Sacrifice Astrolabe: Add two mana of any one color to your mana pool. Draw a card at the beginning of the next turn's upkeep.

Illus. Amy Weber

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#159 (Amy Weber)
#160 (Amy Weber)

Editions:
English Alliances (Common)
English MTGO Masters Edition III (Common)

Languages:
German Astrolabium
French Astrolabe
Italian Astrolabio
Spanish Astrolabio
Portuguese Astrolábio


all prints in all languages

Barbed Sextant Barbed Sextant English

Artifact, 1 (1)

{1}, {T}, Sacrifice Barbed Sextant: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool. Draw a card at the beginning of the next turn's upkeep.

Illus. Amy Weber

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#45 (Amy Weber)

Editions:
English Coldsnap Theme Decks (Special)
English Deckmasters (Special)
English Fifth Edition (Common)
English Ice Age (Common)
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
German Gezackter Sextant
French Sextant barbelé
Italian Sestante Spinato
Spanish Sextante barbado
Portuguese Sextante Farpado


all prints in all languages

Basalt Monolith Basalt Monolith English

Artifact, 3 (3)

Basalt Monolith doesn't untap during your untap step.

{T}: Add {3} to your mana pool.

{3}: Untap Basalt Monolith.

Illus. Yeong-Hao Han

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: It can be untapped as often as you can pay for it.
Printings:
#237 (Yeong-Hao Han)

Editions:
English Commander 2013 Edition (Uncommon)
English Revised Edition (Uncommon)
English International Collectors' Edition (Uncommon)
English Collector's Edition (Uncommon)
English Unlimited Edition (Uncommon)
English Limited Edition Beta (Uncommon)
English Limited Edition Alpha (Uncommon)
English MTGO Masters Edition IV (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Basaltmonolith
French Monolithe de basalte
Italian Monolito di Basalto
Spanish Monolito de basalto
Japanese 玄武岩のモノリス


all prints in all languages

Battle Hymn Battle Hymn English

Instant, 1R (2)

Add {R} to your mana pool for each creature you control.

"A church is just wood and walls. A congregation is the faithful praising the angels."
—Kolman, elder of Gatstaf

Illus. Nils Hamm

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2012: Battle Hymn uses the stack and can be responded to. The amount of mana you add to your mana pool is based on the number of creatures you control when Battle Hymn resolves.
Printings:
#128 (Nils Hamm)

Editions:
English Avacyn Restored (Common)

Languages:
German Schlachtgesang
French Hymne de bataille
Italian Inno di Guerra
Spanish Himno de batalla
Portuguese Hino de Batalha
Japanese 戦いの賛歌
Simplified Chinese 战斗赞歌
Russian Боевой Гимн
Traditional Chinese 戰鬥讚歌
Korean 군가


all prints in all languages

Black Lotus Black Lotus English

Artifact, 0

{T}, Sacrifice Black Lotus: Add three mana of any one color to your mana pool.

Illus. Christopher Rush

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • Restricted in Vintage (Type 1)
  • Banned in Legacy (Type 1.5)
  • Banned in Commander
Comment:

SQUARE EDGES AND GOLD-BORDERED BACKSIDE, NOT TOURNAMENT LEGAL

Printings:
#234 (Christopher Rush)

Editions:
English International Collectors' Edition (Rare)
English Collector's Edition (Rare)
English Unlimited Edition (Rare)
English Limited Edition Beta (Rare)
English Limited Edition Alpha (Rare)

Languages:
(None)

all prints in all languages


Blacker Lotus Blacker Lotus English

Artifact, 0

{T}: Tear Blacker Lotus into pieces. Add four mana of any one color to your mana pool. Play this ability as a mana source. Remove the pieces from the game afterwards.

Illus. Christopher Rush

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • This card is not legal in any format
Printings:
#70 (Christopher Rush)

Editions:
English Unglued (Rare)

Languages:
(None)

all prints in all languages

Blinkmoth Urn Blinkmoth Urn English

Artifact, 5 (5)

At the beginning of each player's precombat main phase, if Blinkmoth Urn is untapped, that player adds {1} to his or her mana pool for each artifact he or she controls.

The vedalken embed such urns in their living artifact creations.

Illus. David Martin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: The precombat main phase is the first main phase of the turn. All others are postcombat main phases, even if they technically occur before combat.
  • 12/1/2004: The "precombat main phase" is the first main phase of the turn. All other main phases are "postcombat main phases."
Printings:
#145 (David Martin)

Editions:
English Mirrodin (Rare)

Languages:
German Blinkmottenurne
French Urne à scintimite
Italian Urna di Lampidotteri
Spanish Urna de polillas titilantes
Portuguese Urna de Mosco-Lumes
Japanese ちらつき蛾の甕


all prints in all languages

Braid of Fire Braid of Fire English

Enchantment, 1R (2)

Cumulative upkeep—Add {R} to your mana pool. (At the beginning of your upkeep, put an age counter on this permanent, then sacrifice it unless you pay its upkeep cost for each age counter on it.)

"To a trained mind, the cold is but a momentary distraction."

Illus. Cyril Van Der Haegen

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: Braid of Fire is a very unusual card. "Add {R} to your mana pool" is a cost. This enchantment does nothing but add increasing amounts of mana to your mana pool during your upkeep.
  • 10/1/2009: Any of this mana that isn't spent during your upkeep step will be removed before your draw step begins. You cannot save it to be spent on the card you will draw this turn.
Printings:
#78 (Cyril Van Der Haegen)

Editions:
English Coldsnap (Rare)

Languages:
German Tressen aus Feuer
French Tresse de feu
Italian Nastro di Fuoco
Spanish Trenza de fuego
Portuguese Trançado de Fogo
Japanese 炎の編み込み
Simplified Chinese 热火镶边
Russian Плетение огня


all prints in all languages

Brightstone Ritual Brightstone Ritual English

Instant, R (1)

Add {R} to your mana pool for each Goblin on the battlefield.

Wizards fought over the stone to exploit its power. Goblins fight over it because it's shiny.

Illus. Wayne England

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#191 (Wayne England)

Editions:
English Onslaught (Common)

Languages:
German Leuchtstein-Ritual
French Rituel de Clairepierre
Italian Rituale di Brillapietra
Spanish Ritual de la piedra brillante
Portuguese Ritual da Pedraluz


all prints in all languages

Brood Birthing Brood Birthing English

Sorcery, 1R (2)

If you control an Eldrazi Spawn, put three 0/1 colorless Eldrazi Spawn creature tokens onto the battlefield. They have "Sacrifice this creature: Add {1} to your mana pool." Otherwise, put one of those tokens onto the battlefield.

Illus. Anthony Francisco

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/15/2010: Whether you control an Eldrazi Spawn is checked as Brood Birthing resolves.
  • 6/15/2010: If you put a single token onto the battlefield this way, it's exactly like the ones specified earlier: it's a 0/1 colorless Eldrazi Spawn creature token that has "Sacrifice this creature: Add {1} to your mana pool."
Printings:
#138 (Anthony Francisco)

Editions:
English Rise of the Eldrazi (Common)

Languages:
German Gebären der Brut
French Naissance de la progéniture
Italian Nascita della Covata
Spanish Nacimiento de la progenie
Portuguese Nascimento da Ninhada
Japanese 群れの誕生
Simplified Chinese 整巢诞生
Russian Рождение Выводка


all prints in all languages

Caged Sun Caged Sun English

Artifact, 6 (6)

As Caged Sun enters the battlefield, choose a color.

Creatures you control of the chosen color get +1/+1.

Whenever a land's ability adds one or more mana of the chosen color to your mana pool, add one additional mana of that color to your mana pool.

Illus. Scott Chou

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/1/2011: Caged Sun's triggered ability is a mana ability, which means the ability doesn't use the stack and can't be responded to.
Printings:
#132 (Scott Chou)

Editions:
English New Phyrexia (Rare)

Languages:
German Eingesperrte Sonne
French Soleil emprisonné
Italian Sole Ingabbiato
Spanish Sol enjaulado
Portuguese Sol Engaiolado
Japanese かごの中の太陽
Simplified Chinese 遭囚太阳
Russian Запертое Солнце
Traditional Chinese 遭囚太陽


all prints in all languages

Cathodion Cathodion English

Artifact Creature — Construct 3/3, 3 (3)

When Cathodion dies, add {3} to your mana pool.

Cathodions repair the Great Furnace by soldering parts of themselves to the mechanism. Eventually, they become one with the machine.

Illus. Eric Peterson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: The ability is never a mana ability.
  • 1/25/2011: You get the mana whether you want it or not. If you don't spend it, it will disappear at the end of the current step (or phase).
Printings:
#149 (Eric Peterson)

Editions:
English Mirrodin (Uncommon)
English Urza's Saga (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Kathodion
French Cathodion
Italian Catodione
Spanish Catodion
Portuguese Catódio
Japanese 陰極器


all prints in all languages

Celestial Prism Celestial Prism English

Artifact, 3 (3)

{2}, {T}: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool.

Illus. Amy Weber

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#322 (Amy Weber)

Editions:
English Fourth Edition (Uncommon)
English Revised Edition (Uncommon)
English International Collectors' Edition (Uncommon)
English Collector's Edition (Uncommon)
English Unlimited Edition (Uncommon)
English Limited Edition Beta (Uncommon)
English Limited Edition Alpha (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Himmelsprisma
French Prisme céleste
Italian Prisma Celestiale
Spanish Prisma celestial
Portuguese Prisma Celestial


all prints in all languages

Chaos Moon Chaos Moon English

Enchantment, 3R (4)

At the beginning of each upkeep, count the number of permanents. If the number is odd, until end of turn, red creatures get +1/+1 and whenever a player taps a Mountain for mana, that player adds {R} to his or her mana pool (in addition to the mana the land produces). If the number is even, until end of turn, red creatures get -1/-1 and if a player taps a Mountain for mana, that Mountain produces colorless mana instead of any other type.

Illus. Drew Tucker

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2006: In Two-Headed Giant, triggers only once per upkeep, not once for each player.
Printings:
#179 (Drew Tucker)

Editions:
English Ice Age (Rare)

Languages:
German Chaosmond
French Lune du chaos
Italian Luna del Caos
Spanish Luna del Caos
Portuguese Lua do Caos


all prints in all languages

Chromatic Lantern Chromatic Lantern English

Artifact, 3 (3)

Lands you control have "{T}: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool."

{T}: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool.

Dimir mages put the lanterns to good use, creating shapeshifters and sleeper agents from mana foreign to them.

Illus. Jung Park

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2012: Lands you control won't lose any other abilities they had. They also won't gain or lose any land types.
Printings:
#226 (Jung Park)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Rare)

Languages:
German Chromatische Laterne
French Lanterne chromatique
Italian Lanterna Cromatica
Spanish Linterna cromática
Portuguese Lanterna Cromática
Japanese 彩色の灯籠
Simplified Chinese 五彩宫灯
Russian Цветной Фонарь
Traditional Chinese 五彩宮燈
Korean 다색 등불


all prints in all languages

next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-60 ] [ 61-80 ] [ 81-100 ] [ 101-120 ] [ 121-138 ] 138 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.