next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-60 ] [ 61-64 ] 64 cards

Attrition Attrition English

Enchantment, 1BB (3)

{B}, Sacrifice a creature: Destroy target nonblack creature.

"I will trade life for life with the insurgents. Our resources, unlike theirs, are limitless."
—Davvol, Evincar of Rath

Illus. Scott M. Fischer

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#72 (Scott M. Fischer)

Editions:
English Commander (Rare)
English Urza's Destiny (Rare)

Languages:
German Verschleiß
French Attrition
Italian Attrito
Spanish Agotamiento
Portuguese Atrito
Japanese 漸減


all prints in all languages

Barrage of Expendables Barrage of Expendables English

Enchantment, R (1)

{R}, Sacrifice a creature: Barrage of Expendables deals 1 damage to target creature or player.

Goblin generals don't distinguish between troops and ammunition.

Illus. Trevor Claxton

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/1/2013: Barrage of Expendables deals the damage, not the sacrificed creature. Notably, that creature having deathtouch or lifelink provides no additional benefit.
  • 7/1/2013: Because targets are chosen before costs are paid, it is possible to choose a creature as the target of the ability and then sacrifice that creature. The ability will be countered when it tries to resolve and no damage will be dealt.
Printings:
#127 (Trevor Claxton)

Editions:
English Magic 2014 Core Set (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Beschuss mit Entbehrlichem
French Barrage de sacrifiables
Italian Sbarramento di Sacrificabili
Spanish Andanada de prescindibles
Portuguese Barreira de Descartáveis
Japanese 消耗品の弾幕
Simplified Chinese 炮灰投射
Russian Залп Салагами
Traditional Chinese 炮灰投射
Korean 잔챙이 포격


all prints in all languages

Black Carriage Black Carriage English

Creature — Horse 4/4, 3BB (5)

Trample

Black Carriage doesn't untap during your untap step.

Sacrifice a creature: Untap Black Carriage. Activate this ability only during your upkeep.

"The Baron's drivers are also driven."
—Chandler

Illus. David A. Cherry

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2008: The ability that untaps it during your upkeep has been returned to an activated ability. There is no restriction on how many times it can be untapped during your upkeep with this ability.
Printings:
#2 (David A. Cherry)

Editions:
English Homelands (Rare (U1))

Languages:
German Schwarze Kutsche
French Carrosse de noirceur
Italian Carrozza Nera
Spanish Carruaje megro
Portuguese Carruagem Negra


all prints in all languages

Blighted Shaman Blighted Shaman English

Creature — Human Cleric Shaman 1/1, 1B (2)

{T}, Sacrifice a Swamp: Target creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.

{T}, Sacrifice a creature: Target creature gets +2/+2 until end of turn.

Illus. Ian Miller

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#114 (Ian Miller)

Editions:
English Classic Sixth Edition (Uncommon)
English Mirage (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Totenblasser Schamane
French Shamane pernicieux
Italian Sciamano Corrotto
Spanish Chamán marchito
Portuguese Xamã Maligno


all prints in all languages

Blood Rites Blood Rites English

Enchantment, 3RR (5)

{1}{R}, Sacrifice a creature: Blood Rites deals 2 damage to target creature or player.

In war, the best leaders are open to all tactics.

Illus. Raymond Swanland

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#101 (Raymond Swanland)

Editions:
English Commander 2013 Edition (Uncommon)
English Champions of Kamigawa (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Blutriten
French Sacres du sang
Italian Riti di Sangue
Spanish Ritos sangrientos
Portuguese Ritos de Sangue
Japanese 血の儀式
Simplified Chinese 鲜血仪式


all prints in all languages

Bloodflow Connoisseur Bloodflow Connoisseur English

Creature — Vampire 1/1, 2B (3)

Sacrifice a creature: Put a +1/+1 counter on Bloodflow Connoisseur.

"Death not for survival but for vanity and pleasure? This is the decadence I sought to curb."
—Sorin Markov

Illus. Slawomir Maniak

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#87 (Slawomir Maniak)

Editions:
English Avacyn Restored (Common)

Languages:
German Blutflussexpertin
French Connaisseuse fluissang
Italian Esperta dei Flussi Sanguigni
Spanish Conocedora del flujo sanguíneo
Portuguese Connoisseur do Fluxo Sanguíneo
Japanese 流血の鑑定人
Simplified Chinese 血流鉴赏家
Russian Ценительница Вкуса Крови
Traditional Chinese 血流鑑賞家
Korean 유혈 감정사


all prints in all languages

Bloodshot Cyclops Bloodshot Cyclops English

Creature — Cyclops Giant 4/4, 5R (6)

{T}, Sacrifice a creature: Bloodshot Cyclops deals damage equal to the sacrificed creature's power to target creature or player.

After their first encounter, the goblins named him Chuck.

Illus. Daren Bader

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#179 (Daren Bader)

Editions:
English Eighth Edition (Rare)
English Seventh Edition (Rare)
English Urza's Destiny (Rare)

Languages:
German Blutaugenzyklop
French Cyclope sanguin
Italian Ciclopi Sanguinari
Spanish Cíclope cruento
Portuguese Cíclope de Olho Injetado


all prints in all languages

Bloodthrone Vampire Bloodthrone Vampire English

Creature — Vampire 1/1, 1B (2)

Sacrifice a creature: Bloodthrone Vampire gets +2/+2 until end of turn.

"What I need is your blood. What I don't need is your permission."

Illus. Steve Argyle

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/15/2010: You can sacrifice Bloodthrone Vampire to activate its own ability, but it won't be on the battlefield to get the bonus.
  • 6/15/2010: If you sacrifice an attacking or blocking creature during the declare blockers step, it won't deal combat damage. If you wait until the combat damage step, but the creature you wish to sacrifice is dealt lethal damage, it'll be destroyed before you get a chance to sacrifice it.
Printings:
#83 (Steve Argyle)

Editions:
English Magic 2013 (Common)
English Magic 2011 (Common)
English Rise of the Eldrazi (Common)
English Media Inserts (Special)

Languages:
German Blutthron-Vampir
French Vampire du trône de sang
Italian Vampira del Trono Insanguinato
Spanish Vampiro del trono sangriento
Portuguese Vampiro do Sangue Real
Japanese 血の座の吸血鬼
Simplified Chinese 血座吸血鬼
Russian Вампир Кровавого Престола
Traditional Chinese 血座吸血鬼
Korean 피묻은 왕좌의 흡혈귀


all prints in all languages

Brine Shaman Brine Shaman English

Creature — Human Cleric Shaman 1/1, 1B (2)

{T}, Sacrifice a creature: Target creature gets +2/+2 until end of turn.

{1}{U}{U}, Sacrifice a creature: Counter target creature spell.

"The Shamans of Marit Lage do her bidding in secret, but they do it gladly."
—Halvor Arenson, Kjeldoran Priest

Illus. Cornelius Brudi

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/1/2008: A "creature spell" is any spell with the type Creature, even if it has other types such as Artifact or Enchantment. Older cards of type Summon are also Creature spells.
Printings:
#3 (Cornelius Brudi)

Editions:
English Ice Age (Common)
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
German Gischtschamane
French Shamane des embruns
Italian Sciamano del Mare
Spanish Chamán del agua
Portuguese Xamã do Oceano


all prints in all languages

Cabal Patriarch Cabal Patriarch English

Legendary Creature — Human Wizard 5/5, 3BBB (6)

{2}{B}, Sacrifice a creature: Target creature gets -2/-2 until end of turn.

{2}{B}, Exile a creature card from your graveyard: Target creature gets -2/-2 until end of turn.

Illus. Mark Zug

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#120 (Mark Zug)

Editions:
English Odyssey (Rare)

Languages:
German Patriarch der Kabbalisten
French Patriarche de la Coterie
Italian Patriarca della Cabala
Spanish Patriarca de la Cábala
Portuguese Patriarca da Cabala


all prints in all languages

Carrion Feeder Carrion Feeder English

Creature — Zombie 1/1, B (1)

Carrion Feeder can't block.

Sacrifice a creature: Put a +1/+1 counter on Carrion Feeder.

Stinking of rot, it leaps between gravestones in search of its next meal.

Illus. Brian Snõddy

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#2 (Brian Snõddy)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Phyrexia vs. The Coalition (Common)
English Scourge (Common)
English Friday Night Magic (Special)

Languages:
German Aasfresser
French Bouffeur de charogne
Italian Mangiacarogne
Spanish Comedor de carroña
Portuguese Comedor de Podridão
Japanese 屍肉喰らい


all prints in all languages

Cateran Overlord Cateran Overlord English

Creature — Horror Mercenary 7/5, 4BBB (7)

Sacrifice a creature: Regenerate Cateran Overlord.

{6}, {T}: Search your library for a Mercenary permanent card with converted mana cost 6 or less and put it onto the battlefield. Then shuffle your library.

Illus. Michael Sutfin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: Because the "search" requires you to find a card with certain characteristics, you don't have to find the card if you don't want to.
Printings:
#123 (Michael Sutfin)

Editions:
English Mercadian Masques (Rare)

Languages:
German Cateranischer Oberkommandant
French Suzerain catéran
Italian Signore Supremo Caterano
Spanish Jefe supremo caterano
Portuguese Comandante Cateran


all prints in all languages

Corpse Harvester Corpse Harvester English

Creature — Zombie Wizard 3/3, 3BB (5)

{1}{B}, {T}, Sacrifice a creature: Search your library for a Zombie card and a Swamp card, reveal them, and put them into your hand. Then shuffle your library.

Illus. Mark Tedin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: You do not have to find a Zombie card or swamp card if you do not want to, even if you have them in your library.
Printings:
#22 (Mark Tedin)

Editions:
English Planechase (Uncommon)
English Legions (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Leichendrescher
French Moissonneur de cadavres
Italian Mietitore di Corpi
Spanish Recolector de cadáveres
Portuguese Colheitador de Cadáveres


all prints in all languages

Corpse Traders Corpse Traders English

Creature — Human Rogue 3/3, 3B (4)

{2}{B}, Sacrifice a creature: Target opponent reveals his or her hand. You choose a card from it. That player discards that card. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.

Those without breath can't complain.

Illus. Kev Walker

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2012: You can sacrifice Corpse Traders to pay the cost of its ability.
  • 4/15/2013: If you cast this as normal during your main phase, it will enter the battlefield and you'll receive priority. If no abilities trigger because of this, you can activate its ability immediately, before any other player has a chance to remove it from the battlefield.
Printings:
#58 (Kev Walker)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Jace vs. Vraska (Uncommon)
English Avacyn Restored (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Leichenhändler
French Négociants en cadavres
Italian Mercanti di Cadaveri
Spanish Mercaderes de cadáveres
Portuguese Negociantes de Cadáveres
Japanese 死体の交易商人
Simplified Chinese 尸首贩商
Russian Торговцы Трупами
Traditional Chinese 屍首販商
Korean 시체 장사꾼


all prints in all languages

Corrupted Harvester Corrupted Harvester English

Creature — Horror 6/3, 4BB (6)

{B}, Sacrifice a creature: Regenerate Corrupted Harvester.

"Before the blessed assault begins, we must seek specimens that are well-adapted to our way of . . . life."
—Sheoldred, Whispering One

Illus. Nils Hamm

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/1/2011: You may sacrifice Corrupted Harvester to pay for its own regeneration ability. If you do, however, it won't regenerate. It'll just end up in its owner's graveyard as a result of the sacrifice.
Printings:
#59 (Nils Hamm)

Editions:
English Scars of Mirrodin (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Verdorbener Schnitter
French Moissonneur corrompu
Italian Mietitore Corrotto
Spanish Cosechador corrompido
Portuguese Colheitador Corrompido
Japanese 堕落した収穫者
Simplified Chinese 腐化索命妖
Russian Разлагающийся Жнец
Traditional Chinese 腐化索命妖


all prints in all languages

Dark Privilege Dark Privilege English

Enchantment — Aura, 1B (2)

Enchant creature

Enchanted creature gets +1/+1.

Sacrifice a creature: Regenerate enchanted creature.

"As you breathe your last, understand why I accept such forbidden gifts."
—Purraj of Urborg

Illus. Tom Kyffin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#6 (Tom Kyffin)

Editions:
English Visions (Common)
English Multiverse Gift Box Cards (Special)

Languages:
German Dunkles Privileg
French Sombre privilège
Italian Privilegio Oscuro
Spanish Privilegio siniestro
Portuguese Privilégio Sombrio


all prints in all languages

Devouring Strossus Devouring Strossus English

Creature — Horror 9/9, 5BBB (8)

Flying, trample

At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice a creature.

Sacrifice a creature: Regenerate Devouring Strossus.

Illus. D. Alexander Gregory

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#101 (D. Alexander Gregory)

Editions:
English Invasion (Rare)

Languages:
German Verschlingender Strossus
French Strossus affamé
Italian Strosso Divoratore
Spanish Strossus Devorador
Portuguese Strossus Devorador


all prints in all languages

Devouring Swarm Devouring Swarm English

Creature — Insect 2/1, 1BB (3)

Flying

Sacrifice a creature: Devouring Swarm gets +1/+1 until end of turn.

Their arrival is heralded by the deafening hum of ten thousand wings. Their departure is marked by the silence of the dead.

Illus. Wayne England

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#91 (Wayne England)

Editions:
English Magic 2012 (Common)

Languages:
German Verschlingender Schwarm
French Essaim dévorant
Italian Sciame Divoratore
Spanish Enjambre devorador
Portuguese Enxame Devorador
Japanese 貪る大群
Simplified Chinese 吞噬虫群
Russian Всепожирающий Рой
Traditional Chinese 吞噬蟲群


all prints in all languages

Dimir House Guard Dimir House Guard English

Creature — Skeleton 2/3, 3B (4)

Fear (This creature can't be blocked except by artifact creatures and/or black creatures.)

Sacrifice a creature: Regenerate Dimir House Guard.

Transmute {1}{B}{B} ({1}{B}{B}, Discard this card: Search your library for a card with the same converted mana cost as this card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library. Transmute only as a sorcery.)

Illus. John Zeleznik

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#83 (John Zeleznik)

Editions:
English Ravnica: City of Guilds (Common)

Languages:
German Wache des Hauses Dimir
French Garde de la Maison Dimir
Italian Domoguardia Dimir
Spanish Guardia de la Casa Dimir
Portuguese Guarda da Casa Dimir
Japanese ディミーア家の護衛
Simplified Chinese 底密尔会堂守卫
Russian Стражник Дома Димиров


all prints in all languages

Disciple of Griselbrand Disciple of Griselbrand English

Creature — Human Cleric 1/1, 1B (2)

{1}, Sacrifice a creature: You gain life equal to the sacrificed creature's toughness.

The demon Griselbrand dared to stand against Avacyn, earning him the loathing of thousands and the admiration of a few.

Illus. Clint Cearley

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/22/2011: The amount of life you gain is equal to the toughness of the creature as it last existed on the battlefield, not its toughness in the graveyard.
Printings:
#74 (Clint Cearley)

Editions:
English Commander 2013 Edition (Uncommon)
English Innistrad (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Griselbrands Apostel
French Disciple de Griselbrand
Italian Discepolo di Griselbrand
Spanish Discípulo de Griselbrand
Portuguese Discípulo de Griselbrand
Japanese グリセルブランドの信奉者
Simplified Chinese 棘泽边信徒
Russian Приверженец Гризельбранда
Traditional Chinese 棘澤邊信徒


all prints in all languages

next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-60 ] [ 61-64 ] 64 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.