next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ][ 421-435 ] 435 cards

1996 World Champion 1996 World Champion English

Summon — Legend */*, WUBRG (5)

Cannot be the targets of spells or effects. World Champion has power and toughness equal to the life totals of target opponent. {0}: Discard your hand to search your library for 1996 World Champion and reveal it to all players. Shuffle your library and put 1996 World Champion on top of it. Use this ability only at the beginning of your upkeep, and only if 1996 World Champion is in your library.

It takes great sacrifice to make it to the top.

Illus. Christopher Rush

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • This card is not legal in any format
Comment:

World Championships

Printings:
#1 (Christopher Rush)

Editions:
English Celebration Cards (Special)

Languages:
(None)

all prints in all languages


Absorb Vis Absorb Vis English

Sorcery, 6B (7)

Target player loses 4 life and you gain 4 life.

Basic landcycling {1}{B} ({1}{B}, Discard this card: Search your library for a basic land card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.)

Illus. Brandon Kitkouski

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2009: Unlike the normal cycling ability, basic landcycling doesn’t allow you to draw a card. Instead, it lets you search your library for a basic land card. You don’t choose the type of basic land card you’ll find until you’re performing the search. After you choose a basic land card in your library, you reveal it, put it into your hand, then shuffle your library.
  • 2/1/2009: Basic landcycling is a form of cycling. Any ability that triggers on a card being cycled also triggers on a card being basic landcycled. Any ability that stops a cycling ability from being activated also stops a basic landcycling ability from being activated.
  • 2/1/2009: Basic landcycling is an activated ability. Effects that interact with activated abilities (such as Stifle or Rings of Brighthearth) will interact with basic landcycling. Effects that interact with spells (such as Remove Soul or Faerie Tauntings) will not.
  • 2/1/2009: You can choose not to find a basic land card, even if there is one in your library.
Printings:
#126 (Brandon Kitkouski)

Editions:
English Conspiracy: Take the Crown (Common)
English Modern Masters (Common)
English Duel Decks: Sorin vs. Tibalt (Common)
English Conflux (Common)

Languages:
German Lebenskraft absorbieren
French Absorption de la vithe
Italian Assorbire Vis
Spanish Absorber vis
Portuguese Absorver Vis
Japanese ヴィスの吸収
Simplified Chinese 吸取维质
Russian Впитать Мощь


all prints in all languages

Academy Rector Academy Rector English

Creature — Human Cleric 1/2, 3W (4)

When Academy Rector dies, you may exile it. If you do, search your library for an enchantment card, put that card onto the battlefield, then shuffle your library.

Illus. Heather Hudson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: You do not have to find an enchantment card if you do not want to, even if you have one in your library.
  • 8/1/2005: An enchantment card is any Enchantment card, including Auras.
Printings:
#1 (Heather Hudson)

Editions:
English Urza's Destiny (Rare)

Languages:
German Rektor der Akademie
French Recteur de l'Académie
Italian Rettore dell'Accademia
Spanish Rector de la Academia
Portuguese Reitor da Academia


all prints in all languages

Ainok Guide Ainok Guide English

Creature — Hound Scout 1/1, 1G (2)

When Ainok Guide enters the battlefield, choose one —

• Put a +1/+1 counter on Ainok Guide.

• Search your library for a basic land card, reveal it, then shuffle your library and put that card on top of it.

Illus. Lucas Graciano

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 11/24/2014: You choose which mode you’re using as you put the ability on the stack, after the creature has entered the battlefield. Once you’ve chosen a mode, you can’t change that mode even if the creature leaves the battlefield in response to that ability.
  • 11/24/2014: If a mode requires a target and there are no legal targets available, you must choose the mode that adds a +1/+1 counter.
Printings:
#121 (Lucas Graciano)

Editions:
English Fate Reforged (Common)

Languages:
German Ainok-Führer
French Guide aïnok
Italian Guida Ainok
Spanish Guía ainok
Portuguese Guia Ainok
Japanese アイノクの先達
Simplified Chinese 犬人向导
Russian Аинок-Проводник
Traditional Chinese 犬人嚮導
Korean 아이녹 길잡이


all prints in all languages

Altar of Bone Altar of Bone English

Sorcery, WG (2)

As an additional cost to cast Altar of Bone, sacrifice a creature.

Search your library for a creature card, reveal that card, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.

Illus. Melissa Benson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: Because the “search” requires you to find a card with certain characteristics, you don’t have to find the card if you don’t want to.
  • 4/1/2008: A “creature card” is any card with the type creature, even if it has other types such as artifact, enchantment, or land. Older cards of type summon are also creature cards.
  • 4/15/2013: You must sacrifice exactly one creature to cast this spell; you cannot cast it without sacrificing a creature, and you cannot sacrifice additional creatures.
  • 4/15/2013: Players can only respond once this spell has been cast and all its costs have been paid. No one can try to destroy the creature you sacrificed to prevent you from casting this spell.
Printings:
#359 (Melissa Benson)

Editions:
English Ice Age (Rare)

Languages:
German Knochenaltar
French Autel d'ossements
Italian Altare d'Osso
Spanish Altar de hueso
Portuguese Altar de Ossos


all prints in all languages

Amrou Scout Amrou Scout English

Creature — Kithkin Rebel Scout 2/1, 1W (2)

{4}, {T}: Search your library for a Rebel permanent card with converted mana cost 3 or less and put it onto the battlefield. Then shuffle your library.

The people of Amrou were scattered by war and driven into hiding. Scouts maintain the beacon fires that signal "return" and "home."

Illus. Quinton Hoover

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#2 (Quinton Hoover)

Editions:
English Modern Masters (Common)
English Time Spiral (Common)

Languages:
German Amrou-Späher
French Éclaireuse amroue
Italian Esploratrice di Amrou
Spanish Exploradora de Amrou
Portuguese Batedor Amrou
Japanese アムローの偵察兵
Simplified Chinese 安罗斥候
Russian Разведчик Амру


all prints in all languages

Ancient Excavation Ancient Excavation English

Instant, 2UB (4)

Draw cards equal to the number of cards in your hand, then discard a card for each card drawn this way.

Basic landcycling {2} ({2}, Discard this card: Search your library for a basic land card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.)

Illus. James Paick

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#27 (James Paick)

Editions:
English Commander 2016 (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Uralte Ausgrabung
French Ancienne excavation
Italian Antico Scavo
Spanish Excavación antigua
Portuguese Escavação Antiga
Japanese 古の掘削
Simplified Chinese 远古发掘


all prints in all languages

Angel's Herald Angel's Herald English

Creature — Human Cleric 1/1, W (1)

{2}{W}, {T}, Sacrifice a green creature, a white creature, and a blue creature: Search your library for a card named Empyrial Archangel and put it onto the battlefield. Then shuffle your library.

Rigorous faith and belief are rewarded on occasion, and richly so.

Illus. Greg Staples

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: To activate the ability, you must sacrifice three different creatures. You can’t sacrifice just one three-colored creature, for example.
  • 10/1/2008: You may sacrifice multicolored creatures as part of the cost of the search ability. If you sacrifice a multicolored creature this way, specify which part of the cost that creature is satisfying.
  • 10/1/2008: You may sacrifice the Herald itself to help pay for the cost of its ability.
Printings:
#2 (Greg Staples)

Editions:
English Shards of Alara (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Bote des Engels
French Héraut de l'ange
Italian Araldo dell'Angelo
Spanish Heraldo del ángel
Portuguese Arauto do Anjo
Japanese 天使の伝令
Simplified Chinese 天使传令
Russian Вестник Ангела


all prints in all languages

Archmage Ascension Archmage Ascension English

Enchantment, 2U (3)

At the beginning of each end step, if you drew two or more cards this turn, you may put a quest counter on Archmage Ascension.

As long as Archmage Ascension has six or more quest counters on it, if you would draw a card, you may instead search your library for a card, put that card into your hand, then shuffle your library.

Illus. Christopher Moeller

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: Archmage Ascension’s first ability has an “intervening ‘if’ clause.” It won’t trigger at all unless you’ve already drawn two or more cards by the time the end step begins.
  • 10/1/2009: If an effect would cause you to draw multiple cards while Archmage Ascension has six or more quest counters on it, each individual draw may be replaced by Archmage Ascension’s effect. Process the draws one at a time. Even if you use the reasonable shortcut of finding all of the cards at once and only physically shuffling once, the game will consider you to have searched and shuffled once per card.
  • 10/1/2009: If a spell or ability causes you to put cards in your hand without specifically using the word “draw,” Archmage Ascension’s abilities ignore it.
  • 10/1/2009: If two or more replacement effects would apply to a card-drawing event, the player who’s drawing the card chooses what order to apply them. It’s possible that after applying one of them, the others will no longer be applicable because the player would no longer draw a card. For example, if you control more than one Archmage Ascension with six quest counters on it and you would draw a card, each Archmage Ascension’s replacement effect could apply. Once you use one, the rest are no longer applicable.
Printings:
#42 (Christopher Moeller)

Editions:
English Zendikar (Rare)

Languages:
German Aufstieg des Erzmagiers
French Ascension de l'archimage
Italian Ascensione dell'Arcimaga
Spanish Ascenso del archimago
Portuguese Ascensão do Arquimago
Japanese 大魔導師の昇天
Simplified Chinese 法侯腾扬
Russian Возвышение Архимага


all prints in all languages

Arid Mesa Arid Mesa English

Land

{T}, Pay 1 life, Sacrifice Arid Mesa: Search your library for a Mountain or Plains card and put it onto the battlefield. Then shuffle your library.

Illus. Ryan Yee

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#24 (Ryan Yee)

Editions:
English Zendikar Expeditions (Mythic Rare)
English Zendikar (Rare)

Languages:
German Wasserarmer Tafelberg
French Mesa aride
Italian Mesa Arida
Spanish Meseta árida
Portuguese Meseta Árida
Japanese 乾燥台地
Simplified Chinese 不毛高地
Russian Пустынное Плоскогорье


all prints in all languages

Armillary Sphere Armillary Sphere English

Artifact, 2 (2)

{2}, {T}, Sacrifice Armillary Sphere: Search your library for up to two basic land cards, reveal them, and put them into your hand. Then shuffle your library.

The mysterious purpose of two of the rings had eluded Esper mages—until now.

Illus. Franz Vohwinkel

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#108 (Franz Vohwinkel)

Editions:
English Planechase Anthology (Common)
English Commander 2013 Edition (Common)
English Planechase 2012 Edition (Common)
English Duel Decks: Venser vs. Koth (Common)
English Commander (Common)
English Duel Decks: Knights vs. Dragons (Common)
English Conflux (Common)

Languages:
German Armillarsphäre
French Sphère armillaire
Italian Astrolabio Sferico
Spanish Esfera armilar
Portuguese Esfera Armilar
Japanese 天球儀
Simplified Chinese 浑天仪
Russian Армиллярная Сфера


all prints in all languages

Artificer's Intuition Artificer's Intuition English

Enchantment, 1U (2)

{U}, Discard an artifact card: Search your library for an artifact card with converted mana cost 1 or less, reveal that card, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.

Illus. Wayne England

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#23 (Wayne England)

Editions:
English Fifth Dawn (Rare)

Languages:
German Eingebung des Handwerkers
French Intuition de l'artificier
Italian Intuito dell'Artefice
Spanish Intuición del artífice
Portuguese Intuição do Artesão
Japanese 工匠の直感
Simplified Chinese 神器师的直觉


all prints in all languages

Ash Barrens Ash Barrens English

Land

{T}: Add {C} to your mana pool.

Basic landcycling {1} ({1}, Discard this card: Search your library for a basic land card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.)

Illus. Jonas De Ro

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#56 (Jonas De Ro)

Editions:
English Commander 2016 (Common)

Languages:
German Aschenödnis
French Landes cendreuses
Italian Distese di Polvere
Spanish Yermos humeantes
Portuguese Desolação Fumegante
Japanese 灰のやせ地
Simplified Chinese 灰烬瘠地


all prints in all languages

Assembly Hall Assembly Hall English

Artifact, 5 (5)

{4}, {T}: Reveal a creature card in your hand. Search your library for a card with the same name as that card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.

Illus. Val Mayerik

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: You do not have to find a card if you do not want to.
Printings:
#286 (Val Mayerik)

Editions:
English Mercadian Masques (Rare)

Languages:
German Versammlungshalle
French Salles des rassemblements
Italian Sala delle Assemblee
Spanish Salón de sesiones
Portuguese Salão de Assembléia


all prints in all languages

Attune with Aether Attune with Aether English

Sorcery, G (1)

Search your library for a basic land card, reveal it, put it into your hand, then shuffle your library. You get {e}{e} (two energy counters).

"I've never seen a world where aether weaves through every aspect of nature."

Illus. Wesley Burt

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/20/2016: Energy is the energy symbol. It represents one energy counter.
  • 9/20/2016: Energy counters are a kind of counter that a player may have. They’re not associated with specific permanents. (Other kinds of counters that players may have include poison and experience.)
  • 9/20/2016: Keep careful track of how many energy counters each player has. You may do so by keeping a running count on paper, by using a die, or by any other clear and mutually agreeable method.
  • 9/20/2016: If an effect says you get one or more Energy, you get that many energy counters. To pay one or more Energy, you lose that many energy counters. Any effects that interact with counters a player gets, has, or loses can interact with energy counters.
  • 9/20/2016: Energy counters aren’t mana. They don’t go away as steps, phases, and turns end, and effects that add mana “of any type” to your mana pool can’t give you energy counters.
  • 9/20/2016: You can’t pay more energy counters than you have.
Printings:
#145 (Wesley Burt)

Editions:
English Kaladesh (Common)

Languages:
German Äther-Resonanz
French Harmonie avec l'Éther
Italian Armonizzarsi con l'Etere
Spanish Armonía con el éter
Portuguese Harmonizar-se com o Éter
Japanese 霊気との調和
Simplified Chinese 乙太同调
Russian Эфирная Подстройка
Traditional Chinese 乙太同調
Korean 에테르 조율


all prints in all languages

Auratouched Mage Auratouched Mage English

Creature — Human Wizard 3/3, 5W (6)

When Auratouched Mage enters the battlefield, search your library for an Aura card that could enchant it. If Auratouched Mage is still on the battlefield, put that Aura card onto the battlefield attached to it. Otherwise, reveal the Aura card and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.

Illus. Jeff Miracola

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2005: Any Aura card you find must be able to enchant Auratouched Mage as it currently exists, or as it most recently existed on the battlefield if it’s no longer on the battlefield. If an effect has made the Mage an artifact, for example, you could search for an Aura with “enchant artifact.”
Printings:
#3 (Jeff Miracola)

Editions:
English Planechase Anthology (Uncommon)
English Planechase 2012 Edition (Uncommon)
English Ravnica: City of Guilds (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Auraumwobener Magier
French Mage auraltéré
Italian Mago Aurotinto
Spanish Mago auraencantado
Portuguese Mago de Aura Encantada
Japanese オーラ掠りの魔道士
Simplified Chinese 灵佑法师
Russian Осененный аурой маг


all prints in all languages

Aurochs Herd Aurochs Herd English

Creature — Aurochs 4/4, 5G (6)

Trample

When Aurochs Herd enters the battlefield, you may search your library for an Aurochs card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. If you do, shuffle your library.

Whenever Aurochs Herd attacks, it gets +1/+0 until end of turn for each other attacking Aurochs.

Illus. Darrell Riche

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#103 (Darrell Riche)

Editions:
English Coldsnap (Common)

Languages:
German Aurochsenherde
French Troupeau d'aurochs
Italian Mandria di Uri
Spanish Manada de uros
Portuguese Manada de Auroques
Japanese オーロクスの獣群
Simplified Chinese 原牛大群
Russian Стадо аурохов


all prints in all languages

Avarax Avarax English

Creature — Beast 3/3, 3RR (5)

Haste

When Avarax enters the battlefield, you may search your library for a card named Avarax, reveal it, and put it into your hand. If you do, shuffle your library.

{1}{R}: Avarax gets +1/+0 until end of turn.

Illus. Greg Staples

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#117 (Greg Staples)

Editions:
English Eternal Masters (Common)
English Onslaught (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Avarax
French Avarax
Italian Avarax
Spanish Ávarax
Portuguese Avarax
Japanese アヴァラックス
Simplified Chinese 阿帕垒兽


all prints in all languages

Bad River Bad River English

Land

Bad River enters the battlefield tapped.

{T}, Sacrifice Bad River: Search your library for an Island or Swamp card and put it onto the battlefield. Then shuffle your library.

Illus. Terese Nielsen

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: Because the “search” requires you to find a card with certain characteristics, you don’t have to find the card if you don’t want to.
Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#290 (Terese Nielsen)

Editions:
English Vintage Masters (Uncommon)
English Mirage (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Düsterwasser
French Rivière souillée
Italian Fiume Acquitrinoso
Spanish Río malsano
Portuguese Rio Contaminado


all prints in all languages


Bant Panorama Bant Panorama English

Land

{T}: Add {C} to your mana pool.

{1}, {T}, Sacrifice Bant Panorama: Search your library for a basic Forest, Plains, or Island card and put it onto the battlefield tapped. Then shuffle your library.

Bant's hearts are as pure as its air and as bright as its skies.

Illus. Donato Giancola

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#276 (Donato Giancola)

Editions:
English Commander 2013 Edition (Common)
English Shards of Alara (Common)

Languages:
German Panorama von Bant
French Panorama de Bant
Italian Panorama di Bant
Spanish Panorama de Bant
Portuguese Panorama de Bant
Japanese バントの全景
Simplified Chinese 班特全景
Russian Панорама Бэнта


all prints in all languages

next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ][ 421-435 ] 435 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.