next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-36 ] 36 cards

Chord of Calling Chord of Calling English

Instant, XGGG (3)

Convoke (Your creatures can help cast this spell. Each creature you tap while casting this spell pays for {1} or one mana of that creature's color.)

Search your library for a creature card with converted mana cost X or less and put it onto the battlefield. Then shuffle your library.

Illus. Karl Kopinski

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2014: Convoke allows you to tap creatures in lieu of paying mana as part of casting a spell. You first determine the total cost to cast the spell, including any additional or alternative costs, as normal. Then, for each colored mana in that total cost, you may tap an untapped creature of that color you control rather than pay that mana. Similarly, for each generic mana in that total cost, you may tap an untapped creature you control rather than pay that mana.
Printings:
#172 (Karl Kopinski)

Editions:
English Magic 2015 (Rare)
English Ravnica: City of Guilds (Rare)

Languages:
German Akkord des Rufes
French Corde d'adjuration
Italian Corda della Convocazione
Spanish Acorde de llamada
Portuguese Acorde do Chamado
Japanese 召喚の調べ
Simplified Chinese 和声召集
Russian Призывный Аккорд
Traditional Chinese 和聲召集
Korean 소환의 화음


all prints in all languages

Clutch of the Undercity Clutch of the Undercity English

Instant, 1UUB (4)

Return target permanent to its owner's hand. Its controller loses 3 life.

Transmute {1}{U}{B} ({1}{U}{B}, Discard this card: Search your library for a card with the same converted mana cost as this card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library. Transmute only as a sorcery.)

Illus. Pete Venters

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#197 (Pete Venters)

Editions:
English Ravnica: City of Guilds (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Klauen der Unterstadt
French Emprise de la Citerraine
Italian Morsa della Città Sepolta
Spanish Agarre de la Subciudad
Portuguese Garra do Submundo
Japanese 地底街の手中
Simplified Chinese 地底城魔掌
Russian Хватка подземного города


all prints in all languages

Congregation at Dawn Congregation at Dawn English

Instant, WGG (3)

Search your library for up to three creature cards and reveal them. Shuffle your library, then put those cards on top of it in any order.

"It is fitting that we meet in the first hour of light, for we are called by the Conclave to pierce a threat of darkness."

Illus. Randy Gallegos

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2005: The order in which the cards are placed on top of the library isn't revealed.
Printings:
#198 (Randy Gallegos)

Editions:
English Ravnica: City of Guilds (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Versammlung am Morgen
French Assemblée à l'aube
Italian Adunanza all'Alba
Spanish Congregación al amanecer
Portuguese Assembléia ao Alvorecer
Japanese 夜明けの集会
Simplified Chinese 破晓聚会
Russian Встреча на рассвете


all prints in all languages

Crop Rotation Crop Rotation English

Instant, G (1)

As an additional cost to cast Crop Rotation, sacrifice a land.

Search your library for a land card and put that card onto the battlefield. Then shuffle your library.

"Hmm . . . maybe lotuses this year."

Illus. DiTerlizzi

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#98 (DiTerlizzi)

Editions:
English Urza's Legacy (Common)

Languages:
German Wechselnde Bepflanzung
French Assolement
Italian Rotazione del Raccolto
Spanish Rotación de cosechas
Portuguese Rotação de Culturas


all prints in all languages

Dizzy Spell Dizzy Spell English

Instant, U (1)

Target creature gets -3/-0 until end of turn.

Transmute {1}{U}{U} ({1}{U}{U}, Discard this card: Search your library for a card with the same converted mana cost as this card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library. Transmute only as a sorcery.)

Illus. Christopher Moeller

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#43 (Christopher Moeller)

Editions:
English Ravnica: City of Guilds (Common)

Languages:
German Schwindelanfall
French Malaise
Italian Magia Stordente
Spanish Hechizo mareante
Portuguese Mágica Estonteante
Japanese 目くらましの呪文
Simplified Chinese 晕眩咒
Russian Заклинание дурноты


all prints in all languages

Eladamri's Call Eladamri's Call English

Instant, WG (2)

Search your library for a creature card, reveal that card, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.

Tribal rivalries and petty disputes were laid aside at Eladamri's summons.

Illus. Kev Walker

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: Because the "search" requires you to find a card with certain characteristics, you don't have to find the card if you don't want to.
Printings:
#106 (Kev Walker)

Editions:
English Planeshift (Rare)

Languages:
German Eladamris Ruf
French Appel d'Éladämri
Italian Convocazione di Eladamri
Spanish Llamado de Eladamri
Portuguese Chamado de Eladamri


all prints in all languages

Enlightened Tutor Enlightened Tutor English

Instant, W (1)

Search your library for an artifact or enchantment card and reveal that card. Shuffle your library, then put the card on top of it.

"I do not teach. I simply reveal." -Daudi, Femeref tutor

Illus. Dan Frazier

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: The "shuffle and put the card on top" is a single action. If an effect is making the top card of the library face up, the second card down on the library is not revealed.
  • 10/4/2004: You do not have to find an artifact or enchantment card if you do not want to.
Comment:

Arena League prize (2000)

Printings:
#21 (Dan Frazier)

Editions:
English Arena League (Special)
English Classic Sixth Edition (Uncommon)
English Mirage (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Erleuchteter Lehrmeister
French Préceptrice éclairée
Italian Tutore Illuminato
Spanish Tutora inspirada
Portuguese Tutor Esclarecido


all prints in all languages


Entomb Entomb English

Instant, B (1)

Search your library for a card and put that card into your graveyard. Then shuffle your library.

A grave is the safest place to store ill-gotten treasures.

Illus. Ron Spears

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#14 (Ron Spears)

Editions:
English Premium Deck Series: Graveborn (Rare)
English Odyssey (Rare)
English Judge Gift Program (Special)

Languages:
German Einbuddeln
French Ensevelissement
Italian Seppellire
Spanish Sepultar
Portuguese Sepultar


all prints in all languages

Evolution Charm Evolution Charm English

Instant, 1G (2)

Choose one — Search your library for a basic land card, reveal it, put it into your hand, then shuffle your library; or return target creature card from your graveyard to your hand; or target creature gains flying until end of turn.

Illus. John Avon

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#127 (John Avon)

Editions:
English Planar Chaos (Common)

Languages:
German Amulett der Evolution
French Charme d'évolution
Italian Monile dell'Evoluzione
Spanish Amuleto de evolución
Portuguese Medalhão da Evolução
Japanese 進化の魔除け
Simplified Chinese 演化护符
Russian Медальон Развития


all prints in all languages

Fiery Fall Fiery Fall English

Instant, 5R (6)

Fiery Fall deals 5 damage to target creature.

Basic landcycling {1}{R} ({1}{R}, Discard this card: Search your library for a basic land card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.)

Jund feasts on the unprepared.

Illus. Daarken

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2009: Unlike the normal cycling ability, basic landcycling doesn't allow you to draw a card. Instead, it lets you search your library for a basic land card. You don't choose the type of basic land card you'll find until you're performing the search. After you choose a basic land card in your library, you reveal it, put it into your hand, then shuffle your library.
  • 2/1/2009: Basic landcycling is a form of cycling. Any ability that triggers on a card being cycled also triggers on a card being basic landcycled. Any ability that stops a cycling ability from being activated also stops a basic landcycling ability from being activated.
  • 2/1/2009: Basic landcycling is an activated ability. Effects that interact with activated abilities (such as Stifle or Rings of Brighthearth) will interact with basic landcycling. Effects that interact with spells (such as Remove Soul or Faerie Tauntings) will not.
  • 2/1/2009: You can choose not to find a basic land card, even if there is one in your library.
Printings:
#29 (Daarken)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Speed vs. Cunning (Common)
English Modern Masters (Common)
English Planechase 2012 Edition (Common)
English Duel Decks: Knights vs. Dragons (Common)
English Conflux (Common)

Languages:
German Feuriger Fall
French Chute ardente
Italian Rovina Impetuosa
Spanish Caída ardiente
Portuguese Queda Ardente
Japanese 焦熱の落下
Simplified Chinese 暴落
Russian Огненный Провал


all prints in all languages

Firemind's Foresight Firemind's Foresight English

Instant, 5UR (7)

Search your library for an instant card with converted mana cost 3, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then repeat this process for instant cards with converted mana costs 2 and 1. Then shuffle your library.

Illus. Dan Scott

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2012: You don't have to find any instant cards in your library, even if they are there.
  • 10/1/2012: If a card in your library has {X} in its mana cost, X is 0. For example, a card with mana cost {X}{R} has a converted mana cost of 1, and so on.
Printings:
#162 (Dan Scott)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Rare)

Languages:
German Weitsicht des Feuerhirns
French Prévision du Cérébropyre
Italian Lungimiranza del Mentefiamma
Spanish Previsión de la Mente Ardiente
Portuguese Previsão do Mente de Fogo
Japanese 火想者の予見
Simplified Chinese 炎灵远虑
Russian Прозорливость Огненного Разума
Traditional Chinese 炎靈遠慮
Korean 불꽃천재의 예지력


all prints in all languages

Gifts Ungiven Gifts Ungiven English

Instant, 3U (4)

Search your library for up to four cards with different names and reveal them. Target opponent chooses two of those cards. Put the chosen cards into your graveyard and the rest into your hand. Then shuffle your library.

Illus. D. Alexander Gregory

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 12/1/2004: You can choose to find fewer than four cards if you want, but your opponent will still put two of those cards into your graveyard.
  • Restricted in Vintage (Type 1)
  • Banned in Commander
Printings:
#46 (D. Alexander Gregory)

Editions:
English Modern Masters (Rare)
English From the Vault: Exiled (Mythic Rare)
English Champions of Kamigawa (Rare)

Languages:
German Ungegebene Geschenke
French Dons non-donnés
Italian Doni Mai Dati
Spanish Regalos no entregados
Portuguese Dádiva Retirada
Japanese けちな贈り物
Simplified Chinese 未送出的礼物


all prints in all languages

Gleam of Resistance Gleam of Resistance English

Instant, 4W (5)

Creatures you control get +1/+2 until end of turn. Untap those creatures.

Basic landcycling {1}{W} ({1}{W}, Discard this card: Search your library for a basic land card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.)

Illus. Matt Stewart

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2009: Unlike the normal cycling ability, basic landcycling doesn't allow you to draw a card. Instead, it lets you search your library for a basic land card. You don't choose the type of basic land card you'll find until you're performing the search. After you choose a basic land card in your library, you reveal it, put it into your hand, then shuffle your library.
  • 2/1/2009: Basic landcycling is a form of cycling. Any ability that triggers on a card being cycled also triggers on a card being basic landcycled. Any ability that stops a cycling ability from being activated also stops a basic landcycling ability from being activated.
  • 2/1/2009: Basic landcycling is an activated ability. Effects that interact with activated abilities (such as Stifle or Rings of Brighthearth) will interact with basic landcycling. Effects that interact with spells (such as Remove Soul or Faerie Tauntings) will not.
  • 2/1/2009: You can choose not to find a basic land card, even if there is one in your library.
Printings:
#17 (Matt Stewart)

Editions:
English Modern Masters (Common)
English Conflux (Common)

Languages:
German Aufblitzen des Widerstands
French Scintillation de résistance
Italian Bagliore della Resistenza
Spanish Atisbo de resistencia
Portuguese Brilho de Resistência
Japanese 抵抗の微光
Simplified Chinese 反抗突现
Russian Вспышка Сопротивления


all prints in all languages

Goblin Tutor Goblin Tutor English

Instant, R (1)

Roll a six-sided die for Goblin Tutor. On a 1, Goblin Tutor has no effect. Otherwise, search your library for the indicated card, reveal that card to all players, and put it into your hand. Shuffle your library afterwards.

2 Any Goblin Tutor

3 Any enchantment

4 Any artifact

5 Any creature

6 Any sorcery, instant, or interrupt

Illus. Quinton Hoover

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • This card is not legal in any format
Printings:
#45 (Quinton Hoover)

Editions:
English Unglued (Uncommon)

Languages:
(None)

all prints in all languages

Grim Reminder Grim Reminder English

Instant, 2B (3)

Search your library for a nonland card and reveal it. Each opponent who cast a card this turn with the same name as that card loses 6 life. Then shuffle your library.

{B}{B}: Return Grim Reminder from your graveyard to your hand. Activate this ability only during your upkeep.

Illus. Wayne England

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#66 (Wayne England)

Editions:
English Mirrodin (Rare)

Languages:
German Schreckliche Mahnung
French Sinistre rappel
Italian Ricordo Macabro
Spanish Recordatorio siniestro
Portuguese Lembrete Sinistro
Japanese 無残な助言


all prints in all languages

Harrow Harrow English

Instant, 2G (3)

As an additional cost to cast Harrow, sacrifice a land.

Search your library for up to two basic land cards and put them onto the battlefield. Then shuffle your library.

No spot in nature is truly barren.

Illus. Rob Alexander

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: The sacrifice of a land is part of the cost of casting Harrow. You can't pay this cost more than once to get a multiple effect.
  • 10/4/2004: The two lands do not count toward your normal one land you can play each turn.
  • 10/4/2004: Because the "search" requires you to find a card with certain characteristics, you don't have to find the card if you don't want to.
Printings:
#57 (Rob Alexander)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Phyrexia vs. The Coalition (Common)
English Zendikar (Common)
English Magic Player Rewards (Special)
English Invasion (Common)
English Tempest (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Brandrodung
French Hersage
Italian Erpice
Spanish Gradar
Portuguese Estorrar
Japanese 砕土
Simplified Chinese 整地
Russian Боронение


all prints in all languages

Insidious Dreams Insidious Dreams English

Instant, 3B (4)

As an additional cost to cast Insidious Dreams, discard X cards.

Search your library for X cards. Then shuffle your library and put those cards on top of it in any order.

Chainer dreams of ultimate knowledge.

Illus. John Avon

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#66 (John Avon)

Editions:
English Torment (Rare)

Languages:
German Heimtückische Träume
French Rêves insidieux
Italian Sogni Insidiosi
Spanish Sueños insidiosos
Portuguese Sonhos Insidiosos


all prints in all languages

Intuition Intuition English

Instant, 2U (3)

Search your library for three cards and reveal them. Target opponent chooses one. Put that card into your hand and the rest into your graveyard. Then shuffle your library.

Illus. April Lee

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/15/2006: Targets an opponent. You choose an opponent during announcement. If you can't target an opponent, you can't cast this card.
Comment:

1/3 G03

Printings:
#11 (April Lee)

Editions:
English Judge Gift Program (Special)
English Tempest (Rare)

Languages:
German Eingebung
French Intuition
Italian Intuizione
Spanish Intuición
Portuguese Intuição


all prints in all languages


Long-Term Plans Long-Term Plans English

Instant, 2U (3)

Search your library for a card, shuffle your library, then put that card third from the top.

"Wait, it'll come to me in a minute."

Illus. Ben Thompson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: If there are fewer than 3 cards in your library, put the card on the bottom of your library.
Printings:
#38 (Ben Thompson)

Editions:
English Scourge (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Langzeitpläne
French Plans à long terme
Italian Piani a Lungo Termine
Spanish Planes a largo plazo
Portuguese Planos a Longo Prazo


all prints in all languages

Mask of the Mimic Mask of the Mimic English

Instant, U (1)

As an additional cost to cast Mask of the Mimic, sacrifice a creature.

Search your library for a card with the same name as target nontoken creature and put that card onto the battlefield. Then shuffle your library.

Illus. Heather Hudson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: You look for a card of the same name, the current type of the card does not matter.
  • 10/4/2004: You do not have to find a card if you do not want to.
  • 10/4/2004: If a copy card is targeted by this effect, you get to look for another copy of the card it is copying. This is because a copy card actually takes on the name and initial characteristics of what it copies.
  • 4/15/2013: You must sacrifice exactly one creature to cast this spell; you cannot cast it without sacrificing a creature, and you cannot sacrifice additional creatures.
  • 4/15/2013: Players can only respond once this spell has been cast and all its costs have been paid. No one can try to destroy the creature you sacrificed to prevent you from casting this spell.
Printings:
#37 (Heather Hudson)

Editions:
English Stronghold (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Maske des Täuschers
French Masque mimétique
Italian Maschera del Polimorfo
Spanish Máscara del imitador
Portuguese Máscara do Mímico


all prints in all languages

next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-36 ] 36 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.