next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-60 ] [ 61-80 ] [ 81-90 ] 90 cards

All Suns' Dawn All Suns' Dawn English

Sorcery, 4G (5)

For each color, return up to one target card of that color from your graveyard to your hand. Exile All Suns' Dawn.

Illus. Glen Angus

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 12/1/2004: All Suns' Dawn can have from zero to five targets, one for each color.
  • 12/1/2004: You can target two blue-and-white multicolored cards by choosing one as the blue card and one as the white card.
  • 12/1/2004: You choose the color each target must be when you choose it as a target, so if the card you targeted as a blue card is red when All Suns' Dawn resolves, the card is an illegal target, even if the spell doesn't target another red card.
Printings:
#81 (Glen Angus)

Editions:
English Fifth Dawn (Rare)

Languages:
German Aufgang aller Sonnen
French L'aube de tous les soleils
Italian Alba di Tutti i Soli
Spanish Amanecer de todos los soles
Portuguese Aurora de Todos os Sóis
Japanese 全ての太陽の夜明け
Simplified Chinese 五色晨曦


all prints in all languages

Beckon Apparition Beckon Apparition English

Instant, {W/B} (1)

Exile target card from a graveyard. Put a 1/1 white and black Spirit creature token with flying onto the battlefield.

The foyer is littered with the coins it demands but can no longer hold.

Illus. Cliff Childs

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/1/2008: The controller of Beckon Apparition gets the token.
  • 1/24/2013: Beckon Apparition will be on the stack when you choose its target. It can't target itself.
  • 1/24/2013: If the target card is an illegal target when Beckon Apparition tries to resolve (if it's no longer in the graveyard, for instance), the spell will be countered and none of its effects will happen. You won't get a Spirit token.
Printings:
#212 (Cliff Childs)

Editions:
English Gatecrash (Common)
English Eventide (Common)

Languages:
German Erscheinung herbeiwinken
French Mander l'apparition
Italian Invitare Apparizione
Spanish Atraer al fantasma
Portuguese Instigar Aparição
Japanese 亡霊招き
Simplified Chinese 诱引亡灵
Russian Выманивание Призрака
Traditional Chinese 誘引亡靈
Korean 유령 부르기


all prints in all languages

Bow of Nylea Bow of Nylea English

Legendary Enchantment Artifact, 1GG (3)

Attacking creatures you control have deathtouch.

{1}{G}, {T}: Choose one — Put a +1/+1 counter on target creature; or Bow of Nylea deals 2 damage to target creature with flying; or you gain 3 life; or put up to four target cards from your graveyard on the bottom of your library in any order.

Illus. Yeong-Hao Han

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/15/2013: You choose which mode you’re using as you activate the ability.
Printings:
#153 (Yeong-Hao Han)

Editions:
English Theros (Rare)

Languages:
German Bogen der Nylea
French Arc de Nyléa
Italian Arco di Nylea
Spanish Arco de Nylea
Portuguese Arco de Niléia
Japanese ナイレアの弓
Simplified Chinese 倪勒娅的神弓
Russian Лук Нилеи
Traditional Chinese 倪勒婭的神弓
Korean 닐리아의 활


all prints in all languages

Carrion Beetles Carrion Beetles English

Creature — Insect 1/1, B (1)

{2}{B}, {T}: Exile up to three target cards from a single graveyard.

It's all fun and games until someone loses an eye.

Illus. Ron Spencer

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: If any of the targets are not there on resolution, the others are still affected.
  • 10/4/2004: You pick the 0, 1, 2, or 3 target cards on announcement.
Printings:
#122 (Ron Spencer)

Editions:
English Urza's Saga (Common)

Languages:
German Kadaverkäfer
French Scarabées charognards
Italian Scarafaggi Mangia Carogne
Spanish Escarabajos carroñeros
Portuguese Besouros Carrieiros


all prints in all languages

Charnelhoard Wurm Charnelhoard Wurm English

Creature — Wurm 6/6, 4BRG (7)

Trample

Whenever Charnelhoard Wurm deals damage to an opponent, you may return target card from your graveyard to your hand.

Jund's dragons hoard only sangrite crystals. Its wurms aren't so picky.

Illus. Lars Grant-West

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2009: If Charnelhoard Wurm is dealt lethal damage at the same time it deals damage to an opponent, Charnelhoard Wurm will be in your graveyard by the time you put its ability on the stack. In that case, you can target it with its own ability.
Printings:
#180 (Lars Grant-West)

Editions:
English Commander 2013 Edition (Rare)
English Conflux (Rare)

Languages:
German Karnerhort-Wurm
French Guivre du charnier
Italian Wurm della Tana d'Osso
Spanish Sierpe atesorahuesos
Portuguese Vorme do Ossuário
Japanese 納骨蔵のワーム
Simplified Chinese 埋骨所亚龙
Russian Вурм из Могильника


all prints in all languages

Codex Shredder Codex Shredder English

Artifact, 1 (1)

{T}: Target player puts the top card of his or her library into his or her graveyard.

{5}, {T}, Sacrifice Codex Shredder: Return target card from your graveyard to your hand.

Illus. Jason Felix

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2012: You choose the target of Codex Shredder's last ability before paying its costs, so you can't return Codex Shredder to your hand this way.
Printings:
#228 (Jason Felix)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Codexzerreißer
French Destructeur de codex
Italian Tritacodici
Spanish Trituracódices
Portuguese Triturador de Códices
Japanese 写本裁断機
Simplified Chinese 纸本搅碎器
Russian Измельчитель Свитков
Traditional Chinese 紙本攪碎器
Korean 고문서 파쇄기


all prints in all languages

Coffin Purge Coffin Purge English

Instant, B (1)

Exile target card from a graveyard.

Flashback {B} (You may cast this card from your graveyard for its flashback cost. Then exile it.)

Illus. Pete Venters

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#124 (Pete Venters)

Editions:
English Odyssey (Common)

Languages:
German Sargplünderung
French Réduction de la concession
Italian Purificazione della Bara
Spanish Purga del ataúd
Portuguese Expurgo do Caixão


all prints in all languages

Conjurer's Bauble Conjurer's Bauble English

Artifact, 1 (1)

{T}, Sacrifice Conjurer's Bauble: Put up to one target card from your graveyard on the bottom of your library. Draw a card.

It is the moment of discovery, the triumph of the mind, the reimagining of past glory.

Illus. Darrell Riche

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#112 (Darrell Riche)

Editions:
English Fifth Dawn (Common)

Languages:
German Brosche des Geisterrufers
French Babiole du conjurateur
Italian Ninnolo dell'Evocatore
Spanish Baratija del conjurador
Portuguese Bijuteria do Conjurador
Japanese 妖術師のガラクタ
Simplified Chinese 咒法师饰品


all prints in all languages

Creakwood Ghoul Creakwood Ghoul English

Creature — Plant Zombie 3/3, 4B (5)

{B/G}{B/G}: Exile target card from a graveyard. You gain 1 life.

Some eat the living. Some eat the dead. It eats the past.

Illus. Thomas M. Baxa

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/1/2008: If the targeted card is removed from the graveyard before the ability resolves, the entire ability is countered. You won't gain 1 life.
Printings:
#34 (Thomas M. Baxa)

Editions:
English Eventide (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Knarzwald-Ghul
French Goule de Grincebois
Italian Ghoul di Bosco Scricchiolante
Spanish Necrófago de Madera Crujiente
Portuguese Ghoul de Bosque Rangente
Japanese 軋み森のグール
Simplified Chinese 响枝林食尸鬼
Russian Криквудский Упырь


all prints in all languages

Cremate Cremate English

Instant, B (1)

Exile target card from a graveyard.

Draw a card.

"Without a body, the soul is helpless to fight the terms of our contracts."
—Somhaur, Orzhov pontiff

Illus. Cynthia Sheppard

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2012: You must be able to target a card in a graveyard to cast Cremate.
  • 10/1/2012: If the target card is no longer in the graveyard when Cremate tries to resolve, it will be countered and none of its effects will happen. You won't draw a card.
Printings:
#59 (Cynthia Sheppard)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Common)
English Guildpact (Common)
English Invasion (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Kremation
French Crémation
Italian Cremare
Spanish Cremar
Portuguese Cremar
Japanese 死体焼却
Simplified Chinese 火葬
Russian Кремация
Traditional Chinese 火葬
Korean 화장


all prints in all languages

Crypt Creeper Crypt Creeper English

Creature — Zombie 2/1, 1B (2)

Sacrifice Crypt Creeper: Exile target card from a graveyard.

"I guess what they say is true. What doesn't kill you makes you stronger. Or at least stranger."
—Captain Eberhart

Illus. Scott Chou

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2012: You must be able to target a card in a graveyard to activate Crypt Creeper's ability. It can't target itself.
Printings:
#91 (Scott Chou)

Editions:
English Avacyn Restored (Common)
English Odyssey (Common)

Languages:
German Kryptenkriecher
French Fureteur des cryptes
Italian Strisciante della Cripta
Spanish Rastrero de la cripta
Portuguese Rastejador da Cripta
Japanese 墓所を歩くもの
Simplified Chinese 墓穴匐尸
Russian Могильный Ползун
Traditional Chinese 墓穴匐屍
Korean 무덤 괴물


all prints in all languages

Darkpact Darkpact English

Sorcery, BBB (3)

Remove Darkpact from your deck before playing if you're not playing for ante.

You own target card in the ante. Exchange that card with the top card of your library.

Illus. Quinton Hoover

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • Banned in Vintage (Type 1)
  • Banned in Legacy (Type 1.5)
  • Banned in Commander
Printings:
#8 (Quinton Hoover)

Editions:
English Revised Edition (Rare)
English International Collectors' Edition (Rare)
English Collector's Edition (Rare)
English Unlimited Edition (Rare)
English Limited Edition Beta (Rare)
English Limited Edition Alpha (Rare)

Languages:
German Dunkelpakt
French Pacte ténébreux
Italian Patto con le Tenebre


all prints in all languages

Decompose Decompose English

Sorcery, 1B (2)

Exile up to three target cards from a single graveyard.

"Sheesh! How am I supposed to make a decent living around here?"
—Cabal grave robber

Illus. Tony Szczudlo

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#20 (Tony Szczudlo)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Sorin vs. Tibalt (Uncommon)
English Odyssey (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Verfaulen
French Putrescence
Italian Decomporre
Spanish Descomponerse
Portuguese Decompor


all prints in all languages

Dirty (Down/Dirty) Dirty (Down/Dirty) English

Sorcery, 2G (3)

Return target card from your graveyard to your hand.

Fuse (You may cast one or both halves of this card from your hand.)

Illus. Svetlin Velinov

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: If you're casting a split card with fuse from any zone other than your hand, you can't cast both halves. You'll only be able to cast one half or the other.
  • 4/15/2013: To cast a fused split spell, pay both of its mana costs. While the spell is on the stack, its converted mana cost is the total amount of mana in both costs.
  • 4/15/2013: You can choose the same object as the target of each half of a fused split spell, if appropriate.
  • 4/15/2013: When resolving a fused split spell with multiple targets, treat it as you would any spell with multiple targets. If all targets are illegal when the spell tries to resolve, the spell is countered and none of its effects happen. If at least one target is still legal at that time, the spell resolves, but an illegal target can't perform any actions or have any actions performed on it.
  • 4/15/2013: When a fused split spell resolves, follow the instructions of the left half first, then the instructions on the right half.
  • 4/15/2013: In every zone except the stack, split cards have two sets of characteristics and two converted mana costs. If anything needs information about a split card not on the stack, it will get two values.
  • 4/15/2013: On the stack, a split spell that hasn't been fused has only that half's characteristics and converted mana cost. The other half is treated as though it didn't exist.
  • 4/15/2013: Some split cards with fuse have two monocolor halves of different colors. If such a card is cast as a fused split spell, the resulting spell is multicolored. If only one half is cast, the spell is the color of that half. While not on the stack, such a card is multicolored.
  • 4/15/2013: Some split cards with fuse have two halves that are both multicolored. That card is multicolored no matter which half is cast, or if both halves are cast. It's also multicolored while not on the stack.
  • 4/15/2013: If a player names a card, the player may name either half of a split card, but not both. A split card has the chosen name if one of its two names matches the chosen name.
  • 4/15/2013: If you cast a split card with fuse from your hand without paying its mana cost, you can choose to use its fuse ability and cast both halves without paying their mana costs.
The other part is:
English Down (Down/Dirty)

Printings:
#126b (Svetlin Velinov)

Editions:
English Dragon's Maze (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Wiederverwertung (Abfall/Wiederverwertung)
French Relevé (Tombé/Relevé)
Italian Indecente (Morboso/Indecente)
Spanish Sucio (Insalubre/Sucio)
Portuguese Sujo (Baixo/Sujo)
Japanese 不潔 (有害/不潔)
Simplified Chinese 肮脏 (堕落/肮脏)
Russian Ляп (Тяп/Ляп)
Traditional Chinese 骯髒 (墮落/骯髒)
Korean 무도 (흉악/무도)


all prints in all languages

Dwell on the Past Dwell on the Past English

Sorcery, G (1)

Target player shuffles up to four target cards from his or her graveyard into his or her library.

None can find what hasn't been lost.
—Nantuko teaching

Illus. Rebecca Guay

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#124 (Rebecca Guay)

Editions:
English Torment (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Von Vergangenem zehren
French Vivre dans le passé
Italian Vivere nel Passato
Spanish Insistir en el pasado
Portuguese Viver no Passado


all prints in all languages

Ebony Charm Ebony Charm English

Instant, B (1)

Choose one — Target opponent loses 1 life and you gain 1 life; or exile up to three target cards from a single graveyard; or target creature gains fear until end of turn. (It can't be blocked except by artifact creatures and/or black creatures.)

Illus. Gerry Grace

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: It targets the cards in the graveyard. These targets are selected when casting the spell.
Printings:
#18 (Gerry Grace)

Editions:
English Mirage (Common)

Languages:
German Ebenholzamulett
French Charme d'ébène
Italian Monile di Ebano
Spanish Amuleto de ébano
Portuguese Medalhão de Ébano


all prints in all languages

Elven Cache Elven Cache English

Sorcery, 2GG (4)

Return target card from your graveyard to your hand.

Elves know where to harvest the best of the forest, for they planted it there themselves.

Illus. Rebecca Guay

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#224 (Rebecca Guay)

Editions:
English Classic Sixth Edition (Common)
English Portal (Common)
English Visions (Common)

Languages:
German Versteck der Elfen
French Cache elfique
Italian Nascondiglio degli Elfi
Spanish Escondrijo élfico
Portuguese Esconderijo dos Elfos


all prints in all languages

Eternal Witness Eternal Witness English

Creature — Human Shaman 2/1, 1GG (3)

When Eternal Witness enters the battlefield, you may return target card from your graveyard to your hand.

She remembers every word spoken, from the hero's oath to the baby's cry.

Illus. Terese Nielsen

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#144 (Terese Nielsen)

Editions:
English Modern Masters (Uncommon)
English Duel Decks: Izzet vs. Golgari (Uncommon)
English Commander (Uncommon)
English Fifth Dawn (Uncommon)
English Friday Night Magic (Special)

Languages:
German Ewige Zeugin
French Témoin éternel
Italian Testimone Eterna
Spanish Testigo eterna
Portuguese Testemunha Eterna
Japanese 永遠の証人
Simplified Chinese 不朽见证人


all prints in all languages

Extirpate Extirpate English

Instant, B (1)

Split second (As long as this spell is on the stack, players can't cast spells or activate abilities that aren't mana abilities.)

Choose target card in a graveyard other than a basic land card. Search its owner's graveyard, hand, and library for all cards with the same name as that card and exile them. Then that player shuffles his or her library.

Illus. Jon Foster

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/7/2013: Players still get priority while a card with split second is on the stack.
  • 6/7/2013: Split second doesn't prevent players from activating mana abilities.
  • 6/7/2013: Split second doesn't prevent triggered abilities from triggering. If one does, its controller puts it on the stack and chooses targets for it, if any. Those abilities will resolve as normal.
  • 6/7/2013: Split second doesn't prevent players from performing special actions. Notably, players may turn face-down creatures face up while a spell with split second is on the stack.
  • 6/7/2013: Casting a spell with split second won't affect spells and abilities that are already on the stack.
  • 6/7/2013: If the resolution of a triggered ability involves casting a spell, that spell can't be cast if a spell with split second is on the stack.
Printings:
#84 (Jon Foster)

Editions:
English Modern Masters (Rare)
English Planar Chaos (Rare)

Languages:
German Ausrupfen
French Extirpation
Italian Asportare
Spanish Arrancar
Portuguese Extirpar
Japanese 根絶
Simplified Chinese 根除
Russian Искоренение


all prints in all languages

Fade from Memory Fade from Memory English

Instant, B (1)

Exile target card from a graveyard.

Cycling {B} ({B}, Discard this card: Draw a card.)

Proper burial is a luxury Otarians can no longer afford.

Illus. David Martin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: Cycling is an activated ability. Effects that interact with activated abilities (such as Stifle or Rings of Brighthearth) will interact with cycling. Effects that interact with spells (such as Remove Soul or Faerie Tauntings) will not.
Printings:
#144 (David Martin)

Editions:
English Onslaught (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Verblassende Erinnerung
French Effacer de la mémoire
Italian Svanire dalla Memoria
Spanish Desvanecerse del recuerdo
Portuguese Desvanecer da Memória


all prints in all languages

next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-60 ] [ 61-80 ] [ 81-90 ] 90 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.