[ 1-13 ] 13 cards

Caldera Hellion Caldera Hellion English

Creature — Hellion 3/3, 3RR (5)

Devour 1 (As this enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This creature enters the battlefield with that many +1/+1 counters on it.)

When Caldera Hellion enters the battlefield, it deals 3 damage to each creature.

Illus. Raymond Swanland

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: You may choose not to sacrifice any creatures for the Devour ability.
  • 10/1/2008: If you cast this as a spell, you choose how many and which creatures to devour as part of the resolution of that spell. (It can't be countered at this point.) The same is true of a spell or ability that lets you put a creature with devour onto the battlefield.
  • 10/1/2008: You may sacrifice only creatures that are already on the battlefield. If a creature with devour and another creature are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, the creature with devour can't devour that other creature. The creature with devour also can't devour itself.
  • 10/1/2008: If multiple creatures with devour are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, you may use each one's devour ability. A creature you already control can be devoured by only one of them, however. (In other words, you can't sacrifice the same creature to satisfy multiple devour abilities.) All creatures devoured this way are sacrificed at the same time.
  • 10/1/2008: Caldera Hellion will deal 3 damage to itself (as well as to each other creature) when its enters-the-battlefield ability resolves. This damage will be lethal if Caldera Hellion hasn't devoured any creatures and its toughness hasn't been increased by any other means.
Printings:
#95 (Raymond Swanland)

Editions:
English Shards of Alara (Rare)

Languages:
German Krater-Teufelsbraten
French Monstruosité des caldeiras
Italian Infernale della Caldera
Spanish Infernal de la caldera
Portuguese Avernal da Caldeira
Japanese カルデラの乱暴者
Simplified Chinese 火口湖地狱兽
Russian Кальдерный Геллион


all prints in all languages

Dragon Broodmother Dragon Broodmother English

Creature — Dragon 4/4, 2RRRG (6)

Flying

At the beginning of each upkeep, put a 1/1 red and green Dragon creature token with flying and devour 2 onto the battlefield. (As the token enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. It enters the battlefield with twice that many +1/+1 counters on it.)

Illus. Jaime Jones

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2009: Putting a token creature with devour onto the battlefield works the same as putting any other creature with devour onto the battlefield. The token may devour Dragon Broodmother itself!
  • 5/1/2009: In a Two-Headed Giant game, Dragon Broodmother's second ability triggers only once at the beginning of each team's upkeep, not once for each player. You'll get one Dragon token at the beginning of your team's upkeep and one Dragon token at the beginning of the opposing team's upkeep.
Printings:
#53 (Jaime Jones)

Editions:
English Alara Reborn (Mythic Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)

Languages:
German Drachenbrutmutter
French Génitrice dragonne
Italian Madre Covatrice di Draghi
Spanish Dragona madre de camada
Portuguese Dragão Mãe de Ninhada
Japanese ドラゴンの大母
Simplified Chinese 育母巨龙
Russian Дракономатка


all prints in all languages

Gluttonous Slime Gluttonous Slime English

Creature — Ooze 2/2, 2G (3)

Flash

Devour 1 (As this enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This creature enters the battlefield with that many +1/+1 counters on it.)

On Jund, everything eventually ends up in something else's stomach.

Illus. Trevor Claxton

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#83 (Trevor Claxton)

Editions:
English Planechase 2012 Edition (Uncommon)
English Conflux (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Gefräßiger Schleim
French Boue gloutonne
Italian Melma Affamata
Spanish Fango glotón
Portuguese Limo Glutão
Japanese 暴食するスライム
Simplified Chinese 暴食黏菌
Russian Ненасытная Слизь


all prints in all languages

Gorger Wurm Gorger Wurm English

Creature — Wurm 5/5, 3RG (5)

Devour 1 (As this enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This creature enters the battlefield with that many +1/+1 counters on it.)

In war-torn Alara, sometimes a wurm's gullet is the safest place to be.

Illus. Parente

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#56 (Parente)

Editions:
English Alara Reborn (Common)

Languages:
German Verschlingender Wurm
French Guivre avaleuse
Italian Wurm dalla Gola Profonda
Spanish Sierpe glotona
Portuguese Vorme Glutão
Japanese 喰らうワーム
Simplified Chinese 吞食亚龙
Russian Ненасытный Вурм


all prints in all languages

Hellkite Hatchling Hellkite Hatchling English

Creature — Dragon 2/2, 2RG (4)

Devour 1 (As this enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This creature enters the battlefield with that many +1/+1 counters on it.)

Hellkite Hatchling has flying and trample if it devoured a creature.

A killing machine from birth.

Illus. Daarken

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2009: Hellkite Hatchling has flying and trample if at least one creature was sacrificed as a result of the Hatchling's devour ability as it entered the battlefield. It retains those abilities even if its +1/+1 counters are somehow removed.
  • 2/1/2009: If another creature becomes a copy of Hellkite Hatchling (due to Mirrorweave, for example), the second ability checks to see whether that creature -- not the original Hellkite Hatchling -- devoured a creature as it entered the battlefield.
Printings:
#111 (Daarken)

Editions:
English Planechase 2012 Edition (Uncommon)
English Conflux (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Höllendrachen-Küken
French Progéniture escouflenfer
Italian Cucciolo di Nibbio Infernale
Spanish Cría de engendro
Portuguese Cria de Dragão Avérneo
Japanese ヘルカイトの雛
Simplified Chinese 残虐者幼雏
Russian Змиев Детеныш


all prints in all languages

Marrow Chomper Marrow Chomper English

Creature — Zombie Lizard 3/3, 3BG (5)

Devour 2 (As this enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This creature enters the battlefield with twice that many +1/+1 counters on it.)

When Marrow Chomper enters the battlefield, you gain 2 life for each creature it devoured.

Illus. Lars Grant-West

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#93 (Lars Grant-West)

Editions:
English Alara Reborn (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Markmampfer
French Brifaud de moelle
Italian Masticamidollo
Spanish Masticamédulas
Portuguese Mascador de Medula
Japanese 骨髄食い
Simplified Chinese 精华嚼怪
Russian Мозгопожиратель


all prints in all languages

Mycoloth Mycoloth English

Creature — Fungus 4/4, 3GG (5)

Devour 2 (As this enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This creature enters the battlefield with twice that many +1/+1 counters on it.)

At the beginning of your upkeep, put a 1/1 green Saproling creature token onto the battlefield for each +1/+1 counter on Mycoloth.

Illus. Raymond Swanland

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: You may choose not to sacrifice any creatures for the Devour ability.
  • 10/1/2008: If you cast this as a spell, you choose how many and which creatures to devour as part of the resolution of that spell. (It can't be countered at this point.) The same is true of a spell or ability that lets you put a creature with devour onto the battlefield.
  • 10/1/2008: You may sacrifice only creatures that are already on the battlefield. If a creature with devour and another creature are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, the creature with devour can't devour that other creature. The creature with devour also can't devour itself.
  • 10/1/2008: If multiple creatures with devour are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, you may use each one's devour ability. A creature you already control can be devoured by only one of them, however. (In other words, you can't sacrifice the same creature to satisfy multiple devour abilities.) All creatures devoured this way are sacrificed at the same time.
  • 10/1/2008: The number of Saproling tokens created by the triggered ability is based on the number of +1/+1 counters on Mycoloth, not on the number of creatures Mycoloth devoured. It doesn't matter where the +1/+1 counters came from.
Printings:
#140 (Raymond Swanland)

Editions:
English Planechase 2012 Edition (Rare)
English Shards of Alara (Rare)

Languages:
German Mykoloth
French Mycoloth
Italian Fungoloth
Spanish Micolot
Portuguese Micoloth
Japanese マイコロス
Simplified Chinese 真菌洛西
Russian Миколот


all prints in all languages

Predator Dragon Predator Dragon English

Creature — Dragon 4/4, 3RRR (6)

Flying, haste

Devour 2 (As this enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This creature enters the battlefield with twice that many +1/+1 counters on it.)

Dragons make for spiteful gods.

Illus. Raymond Swanland

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: You may choose not to sacrifice any creatures for the Devour ability.
  • 10/1/2008: If you cast this as a spell, you choose how many and which creatures to devour as part of the resolution of that spell. (It can't be countered at this point.) The same is true of a spell or ability that lets you put a creature with devour onto the battlefield.
  • 10/1/2008: You may sacrifice only creatures that are already on the battlefield. If a creature with devour and another creature are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, the creature with devour can't devour that other creature. The creature with devour also can't devour itself.
  • 10/1/2008: If multiple creatures with devour are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, you may use each one's devour ability. A creature you already control can be devoured by only one of them, however. (In other words, you can't sacrifice the same creature to satisfy multiple devour abilities.) All creatures devoured this way are sacrificed at the same time.
Printings:
#109 (Raymond Swanland)

Editions:
English Shards of Alara (Rare)

Languages:
German Jagender Drache
French Dragon prédateur
Italian Drago Predatore
Spanish Dragón depredador
Portuguese Dragão Predador
Japanese 捕食者のドラゴン
Simplified Chinese 掠食巨龙
Russian Хищный Дракон


all prints in all languages

Skullmulcher Skullmulcher English

Creature — Elemental 3/3, 4G (5)

Devour 1 (As this enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This creature enters the battlefield with that many +1/+1 counters on it.)

When Skullmulcher enters the battlefield, draw a card for each creature it devoured.

Illus. Michael Ryan

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: You may choose not to sacrifice any creatures for the Devour ability.
  • 10/1/2008: If you cast this as a spell, you choose how many and which creatures to devour as part of the resolution of that spell. (It can't be countered at this point.) The same is true of a spell or ability that lets you put a creature with devour onto the battlefield.
  • 10/1/2008: You may sacrifice only creatures that are already on the battlefield. If a creature with devour and another creature are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, the creature with devour can't devour that other creature. The creature with devour also can't devour itself.
  • 10/1/2008: If multiple creatures with devour are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, you may use each one's devour ability. A creature you already control can be devoured by only one of them, however. (In other words, you can't sacrifice the same creature to satisfy multiple devour abilities.) All creatures devoured this way are sacrificed at the same time.
Printings:
#148 (Michael Ryan)

Editions:
English Shards of Alara (Rare)

Languages:
German Schädelmulcher
French Fertiliseur de crânes
Italian Necroconcimatore
Spanish Cubrecalaveras
Portuguese Recicla-Cova
Japanese 髑髏覆い
Simplified Chinese 掩颅灵
Russian Перетиратель Черепов


all prints in all languages

Tar Fiend Tar Fiend English

Creature — Elemental 4/4, 5B (6)

Devour 2 (As this enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This creature enters the battlefield with twice that many +1/+1 counters on it.)

When Tar Fiend enters the battlefield, target player discards a card for each creature it devoured.

Illus. Anthony S. Waters

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: You may choose not to sacrifice any creatures for the Devour ability.
  • 10/1/2008: If you cast this as a spell, you choose how many and which creatures to devour as part of the resolution of that spell. (It can't be countered at this point.) The same is true of a spell or ability that lets you put a creature with devour onto the battlefield.
  • 10/1/2008: You may sacrifice only creatures that are already on the battlefield. If a creature with devour and another creature are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, the creature with devour can't devour that other creature. The creature with devour also can't devour itself.
  • 10/1/2008: If multiple creatures with devour are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, you may use each one's devour ability. A creature you already control can be devoured by only one of them, however. (In other words, you can't sacrifice the same creature to satisfy multiple devour abilities.) All creatures devoured this way are sacrificed at the same time.
Printings:
#89 (Anthony S. Waters)

Editions:
English Shards of Alara (Rare)

Languages:
German Teerunhold
French Fielleux de goudron
Italian Demone di Catrame
Spanish Demonio de alquitrán
Portuguese Demônio do Piche
Japanese タールの悪鬼
Simplified Chinese 焦油邪鬼
Russian Смоляной Демон


all prints in all languages

Thorn-Thrash Viashino Thorn-Thrash Viashino English

Creature — Viashino Warrior 2/2, 3R (4)

Devour 2 (As this enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This creature enters the battlefield with twice that many +1/+1 counters on it.)

{G}: Thorn-Thrash Viashino gains trample until end of turn.

Illus. Jon Foster

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: You may choose not to sacrifice any creatures for the Devour ability.
  • 10/1/2008: If you cast this as a spell, you choose how many and which creatures to devour as part of the resolution of that spell. (It can't be countered at this point.) The same is true of a spell or ability that lets you put a creature with devour onto the battlefield.
  • 10/1/2008: You may sacrifice only creatures that are already on the battlefield. If a creature with devour and another creature are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, the creature with devour can't devour that other creature. The creature with devour also can't devour itself.
  • 10/1/2008: If multiple creatures with devour are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, you may use each one's devour ability. A creature you already control can be devoured by only one of them, however. (In other words, you can't sacrifice the same creature to satisfy multiple devour abilities.) All creatures devoured this way are sacrificed at the same time.
Printings:
#116 (Jon Foster)

Editions:
English Planechase 2012 Edition (Common)
English Shards of Alara (Common)

Languages:
German Viashino der Dornenbande
French Viashino rosse-épine
Italian Viashino di Batosta Spinosa
Spanish Viashino de la azotada de espinas
Portuguese Viashino Surrador-do-Espinho
Japanese 茨団のヴィーアシーノ
Simplified Chinese 荆击族凡尔西诺
Russian Виашино Шипастой Стаи


all prints in all languages

Thunder-Thrash Elder Thunder-Thrash Elder English

Creature — Viashino Warrior 1/1, 2R (3)

Devour 3 (As this enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This creature enters the battlefield with three times that many +1/+1 counters on it.)

Viashino thrashes are led by elders who have survived countless challenges.

Illus. Brandon Kitkouski

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: You may choose not to sacrifice any creatures for the Devour ability.
  • 10/1/2008: If you cast this as a spell, you choose how many and which creatures to devour as part of the resolution of that spell. (It can't be countered at this point.) The same is true of a spell or ability that lets you put a creature with devour onto the battlefield.
  • 10/1/2008: You may sacrifice only creatures that are already on the battlefield. If a creature with devour and another creature are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, the creature with devour can't devour that other creature. The creature with devour also can't devour itself.
  • 10/1/2008: If multiple creatures with devour are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, you may use each one's devour ability. A creature you already control can be devoured by only one of them, however. (In other words, you can't sacrifice the same creature to satisfy multiple devour abilities.) All creatures devoured this way are sacrificed at the same time.
Printings:
#117 (Brandon Kitkouski)

Editions:
English Planechase 2012 Edition (Uncommon)
English Shards of Alara (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Ältester der Donnerbande
French Doyen rosse-éclair
Italian Anziano di Batosta Tonante
Spanish Anciano de la azotada del trueno
Portuguese Ancião Surrador-do-Trovão
Japanese 雷団の古老
Simplified Chinese 雷击族长老
Russian Старейшина Громовой Стаи


all prints in all languages

Voracious Dragon Voracious Dragon English

Creature — Dragon 4/4, 3RR (5)

Flying

Devour 1 (As this enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This creature enters the battlefield with that many +1/+1 counters on it.)

When Voracious Dragon enters the battlefield, it deals damage to target creature or player equal to twice the number of Goblins it devoured.

Illus. Dominick Domingo

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2009: Voracious Dragon can devour any type of creatures, not just Goblins.
  • 2/1/2009: "The number of Goblins it devoured" means "The number of Goblins sacrificed as a result of its devour ability as it entered the battlefield." For each creature that Voracious Dragon devoured, this ability checks its creature type as it last existed on the battlefield to see if it was a Goblin at that time.
Printings:
#75 (Dominick Domingo)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Knights vs. Dragons (Rare)
English Conflux (Rare)

Languages:
German Gefräßiger Drache
French Dragon vorace
Italian Drago Famelico
Spanish Dragón voraz
Portuguese Dragão Voraz
Japanese 大食のドラゴン
Simplified Chinese 贪餮巨龙
Russian Прожорливый Дракон


all prints in all languages

[ 1-13 ] 13 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.