[ 1-13 ] 13 cards

Basilica Guards Basilica Guards English

Creature — Human Soldier 1/4, 2W (3)

Defender

Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.)

"None may pass . . . for free."

Illus. Dan Scott

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: You may pay {W/B} a maximum of one time for each extort triggered ability. You decide whether to pay when the ability resolves.
  • 4/15/2013: The amount of life you gain from extort is based on the total amount of life lost, not necessarily the number of opponents you have. For example, if your opponent's life total can't change (perhaps because that player controls Platinum Emperion), you won't gain any life.
  • 4/15/2013: The extort ability doesn't target any player.
Printings:
#5 (Dan Scott)

Editions:
English Gatecrash (Common)

Languages:
German Basilikawachen
French Gardes de la basilique
Italian Guardie della Basilica
Spanish Guardias de la basílica
Portuguese Guardas da Basílica
Japanese 聖堂の護衛
Simplified Chinese 大教堂守卫
Russian Стражи Базилики
Traditional Chinese 大教堂守衛
Korean 공회당 경비병


all prints in all languages

Basilica Screecher Basilica Screecher English

Creature — Bat 1/2, 1B (2)

Flying

Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.)

A screech in the night is all it takes for Orzhov debtors to clutch at their coin purses.

Illus. Christine Choi

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: You may pay {W/B} a maximum of one time for each extort triggered ability. You decide whether to pay when the ability resolves.
  • 4/15/2013: The amount of life you gain from extort is based on the total amount of life lost, not necessarily the number of opponents you have. For example, if your opponent's life total can't change (perhaps because that player controls Platinum Emperion), you won't gain any life.
  • 4/15/2013: The extort ability doesn't target any player.
Printings:
#58 (Christine Choi)

Editions:
English Gatecrash (Common)

Languages:
German Basilikakreischer
French Crisseur de la basilique
Italian Urlatore della Basilica
Spanish Chirriante de la basílica
Portuguese Sibilador da Basílica
Japanese 聖堂の金切り声上げ
Simplified Chinese 大教堂鸣蝠
Russian Крикун Базилики
Traditional Chinese 大教堂鳴蝠
Korean 공회당의 울부짖는 박쥐


all prints in all languages

Blind Obedience Blind Obedience English

Enchantment, 1W (2)

Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.)

Artifacts and creatures your opponents control enter the battlefield tapped.

"By the time your knees have worn through your robe, you may have begun to learn your place."

Illus. Seb McKinnon

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: You may pay {W/B} a maximum of one time for each extort triggered ability. You decide whether to pay when the ability resolves.
  • 4/15/2013: The amount of life you gain from extort is based on the total amount of life lost, not necessarily the number of opponents you have. For example, if your opponent's life total can't change (perhaps because that player controls Platinum Emperion), you won't gain any life.
  • 4/15/2013: The extort ability doesn't target any player.
Printings:
#6 (Seb McKinnon)

Editions:
English Gatecrash (Rare)

Languages:
German Blinder Gehorsam
French Obéissance aveugle
Italian Cieca Obbedienza
Spanish Obediencia ciega
Portuguese Obediência Cega
Japanese 盲従
Simplified Chinese 盲目服从
Russian Слепое Повиновение
Traditional Chinese 盲目服從
Korean 맹목적인 복종


all prints in all languages

Crypt Ghast Crypt Ghast English

Creature — Spirit 2/2, 3B (4)

Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.)

Whenever you tap a Swamp for mana, add {B} to your mana pool (in addition to the mana the land produces).

Illus. Chris Rahn

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: You may pay {W/B} a maximum of one time for each extort triggered ability. You decide whether to pay when the ability resolves.
  • 4/15/2013: The amount of life you gain from extort is based on the total amount of life lost, not necessarily the number of opponents you have. For example, if your opponent's life total can't change (perhaps because that player controls Platinum Emperion), you won't gain any life.
  • 4/15/2013: The extort ability doesn't target any player.
Printings:
#61 (Chris Rahn)

Editions:
English Commander 2014 Edition (Rare)
English Gatecrash (Rare)

Languages:
German Krypta-Schaudergeist
French Blême des cryptes
Italian Spettro della Cripta
Spanish Espanto de la cripta
Portuguese Abantesma da Cripta
Japanese 墓所の怪異
Simplified Chinese 墓穴惧妖
Russian Призрак из Склепа
Traditional Chinese 墓穴懼妖
Korean 지하묘지 유령


all prints in all languages

Kingpin's Pet Kingpin's Pet English

Creature — Thrull 2/2, 1WB (3)

Flying

Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.)

"Debt and death sound so similar, and thrulls are so hard of hearing. Mistakes are inevitable."
—Milana, Orzhov prelate

Illus. Mark Zug

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: You may pay {W/B} a maximum of one time for each extort triggered ability. You decide whether to pay when the ability resolves.
  • 4/15/2013: The amount of life you gain from extort is based on the total amount of life lost, not necessarily the number of opponents you have. For example, if your opponent's life total can't change (perhaps because that player controls Platinum Emperion), you won't gain any life.
  • 4/15/2013: The extort ability doesn't target any player.
Printings:
#173 (Mark Zug)

Editions:
English Gatecrash (Common)

Languages:
German Schoßtier des Hintermanns
French Familier du caïd
Italian Prediletto del Capo
Spanish Mascota del líder
Portuguese Animal de Estimação do Dirigente
Japanese 重要人物のペット
Simplified Chinese 首领宠物
Russian Питомец Главаря
Traditional Chinese 首領寵物
Korean 왕초의 애완동물


all prints in all languages

Knight of Obligation Knight of Obligation English

Creature — Human Knight 2/4, 3W (4)

Vigilance

Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.)

He can calculate interest to six decimal places even in the midst of a deadly duel.

Illus. Ryan Barger

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: You may pay {W/B} a maximum of one time for each extort triggered ability. You decide whether to pay when the ability resolves.
  • 4/15/2013: The amount of life you gain from extort is based on the total amount of life lost, not necessarily the number of opponents you have. For example, if your opponent's life total can't change (perhaps because that player controls Platinum Emperion), you won't gain any life.
  • 4/15/2013: The extort ability doesn't target any player.
Printings:
#18 (Ryan Barger)

Editions:
English Gatecrash (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Ritter der Pflicht
French Chevalier d'obligation
Italian Cavaliere dell'Impegno
Spanish Caballero de la obligación
Portuguese Cavaleiro dos Encargos
Japanese 債務の騎士
Simplified Chinese 守责骑士
Russian Рыцарь Обязательств
Traditional Chinese 守責騎士
Korean 채무의 기사


all prints in all languages

Pontiff of Blight Pontiff of Blight English

Creature — Zombie Cleric 2/7, 4BB (6)

Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.)

Other creatures you control have extort. (If a creature has multiple instances of extort, each triggers separately.)

Illus. Seb McKinnon

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: You may pay {W/B} a maximum of one time for each extort triggered ability. You decide whether to pay when the ability resolves.
  • 4/15/2013: The amount of life you gain from extort is based on the total amount of life lost, not necessarily the number of opponents you have. For example, if your opponent's life total can't change (perhaps because that player controls Platinum Emperion), you won't gain any life.
  • 4/15/2013: The extort ability doesn't target any player.
Printings:
#27 (Seb McKinnon)

Editions:
English Commander 2014 Edition (Rare)
English Dragon's Maze (Rare)

Languages:
German Pontifex der Fäulnis
French Pontife du fléau
Italian Pontefice della Rovina
Spanish Pontífice de desolación
Portuguese Pontiff of Blight
Japanese 荒廃の司教
Simplified Chinese 枯萎主教
Russian Понтифик Упадка
Traditional Chinese 枯萎主教
Korean 부패의 제사장


all prints in all languages

Syndic of Tithes Syndic of Tithes English

Creature — Human Cleric 2/2, 1W (2)

Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.)

"Entrance is free. Donations are required."
—Notice outside Vizkopa Bank

Illus. Steve Prescott

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: You may pay {W/B} a maximum of one time for each extort triggered ability. You decide whether to pay when the ability resolves.
  • 4/15/2013: The amount of life you gain from extort is based on the total amount of life lost, not necessarily the number of opponents you have. For example, if your opponent's life total can't change (perhaps because that player controls Platinum Emperion), you won't gain any life.
  • 4/15/2013: The extort ability doesn't target any player.
Printings:
#26 (Steve Prescott)

Editions:
English Gatecrash (Common)

Languages:
German Syndicus der Zehntabgaben
French Syndic des dîmes
Italian Amministratore delle Decime
Spanish Síndico de los diezmos
Portuguese Síndico dos Dízimos
Japanese 徴税理事
Simplified Chinese 什一税代理人
Russian Собиратель Десятин
Traditional Chinese 什一稅代理人
Korean 십일조의 평의원


all prints in all languages

Syndicate Enforcer Syndicate Enforcer English

Creature — Human Rogue 3/2, 3B (4)

Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.)

Even the darkest corners of Ravnica still lie in the shadow of the Church.

Illus. Steven Belledin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: You may pay {W/B} a maximum of one time for each extort triggered ability. You decide whether to pay when the ability resolves.
  • 4/15/2013: The amount of life you gain from extort is based on the total amount of life lost, not necessarily the number of opponents you have. For example, if your opponent's life total can't change (perhaps because that player controls Platinum Emperion), you won't gain any life.
  • 4/15/2013: The extort ability doesn't target any player.
Printings:
#80 (Steven Belledin)

Editions:
English Gatecrash (Common)

Languages:
German Vollstrecker des Syndikats
French Argousin du syndicat
Italian Tutore del Sindacato
Spanish Coaccionador del sindicato
Portuguese Impositor do Sindicato
Japanese 組織の処罰者
Simplified Chinese 集团执法者
Russian Блюститель Синдиката
Traditional Chinese 集團執法者
Korean 조직의 집행자


all prints in all languages

Thrull Parasite Thrull Parasite English

Creature — Thrull 1/1, B (1)

Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.)

{T}, Pay 2 life: Remove a counter from target nonland permanent.

The hunger of a vampire and the subtlety of a tax collector.

Illus. Clint Cearley

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/24/2013: The nonland permanent you choose as the target doesn't have to have any counters on it. If it has more than one kind of counter, you'll choose one of those counters when the ability resolves.
  • 1/24/2013: You can't activate Thrull Parasite's last ability to stop a player from paying the cost of a spell or an ability that requires removing a counter from a permanent (such as a planeswalker's loyalty ability).
  • 4/15/2013: You may pay {W/B} a maximum of one time for each extort triggered ability. You decide whether to pay when the ability resolves.
  • 4/15/2013: The amount of life you gain from extort is based on the total amount of life lost, not necessarily the number of opponents you have. For example, if your opponent's life total can't change (perhaps because that player controls Platinum Emperion), you won't gain any life.
  • 4/15/2013: The extort ability doesn't target any player.
Printings:
#81 (Clint Cearley)

Editions:
English Gatecrash (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Thrullparasit
French Parasite srâne
Italian Thrull Parassita
Spanish Parásito thrull
Portuguese Parasita Thrull
Japanese スラルの寄生虫
Simplified Chinese 寄生索尔兽
Russian Трулл-Паразит
Traditional Chinese 寄生索爾獸
Korean 스럴 기생충


all prints in all languages

Tithe Drinker Tithe Drinker English

Creature — Vampire 2/1, WB (2)

Lifelink (Damage dealt by this creature also causes you to gain that much life.)

Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.)

Illus. Slawomir Maniak

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: You may pay {W/B} a maximum of one time for each extort triggered ability. You decide whether to pay when the ability resolves.
  • 4/15/2013: The amount of life you gain from extort is based on the total amount of life lost, not necessarily the number of opponents you have. For example, if your opponent's life total can't change (perhaps because that player controls Platinum Emperion), you won't gain any life.
  • 4/15/2013: The extort ability doesn't target any player.
Printings:
#109 (Slawomir Maniak)

Editions:
English Dragon's Maze (Common)

Languages:
German Zehnttrinkerin
French Buveuse de dîme
Italian Bevitrice di Tributi
Spanish Bebedora de diezmos
Portuguese Tithe Drinker
Japanese 税収飲み
Simplified Chinese 税收饮者
Russian Поглотительница Податей
Traditional Chinese 稅收飲者
Korean 십일조 섭취자


all prints in all languages

Treasury Thrull Treasury Thrull English

Creature — Thrull 4/4, 4WB (6)

Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.)

Whenever Treasury Thrull attacks, you may return target artifact, creature, or enchantment card from your graveyard to your hand.

Illus. Mark Zug

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: You may pay {W/B} a maximum of one time for each extort triggered ability. You decide whether to pay when the ability resolves.
  • 4/15/2013: The amount of life you gain from extort is based on the total amount of life lost, not necessarily the number of opponents you have. For example, if your opponent's life total can't change (perhaps because that player controls Platinum Emperion), you won't gain any life.
  • 4/15/2013: The extort ability doesn't target any player.
Printings:
#201 (Mark Zug)

Editions:
English Gatecrash (Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)

Languages:
German Schatzthrull
French Srâne de la trésorerie
Italian Thrull del Tesoro
Spanish Thrull del tesoro
Portuguese Thrull do Tesouro
Japanese 宝庫のスラル
Simplified Chinese 宝库索尔兽
Russian Трулл Казначейства
Traditional Chinese 寶庫索爾獸
Korean 금고 스럴


all prints in all languages

Vizkopa Confessor Vizkopa Confessor English

Creature — Human Cleric 1/3, 3WB (5)

Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.)

When Vizkopa Confessor enters the battlefield, pay any amount of life. Target opponent reveals that many cards from his or her hand. You choose one of them and exile it.

Illus. Ryan Pancoast

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/24/2013: You may pay 0 life when Vizkopa Confessor's enters-the-battlefield ability resolves. If you do, no cards are revealed or exiled.
  • 1/24/2013: The amount of life you pay is chosen when Vizkopa Confessor's last ability resolves.
  • 1/24/2013: If the target opponent is an illegal target when Vizkopa Confessor's last ability tries to resolve, it will be countered and none of its effects will happen. You won't pay life and no player will reveal any cards.
  • 4/15/2013: You may pay {W/B} a maximum of one time for each extort triggered ability. You decide whether to pay when the ability resolves.
  • 4/15/2013: The amount of life you gain from extort is based on the total amount of life lost, not necessarily the number of opponents you have. For example, if your opponent's life total can't change (perhaps because that player controls Platinum Emperion), you won't gain any life.
  • 4/15/2013: The extort ability doesn't target any player.
Printings:
#205 (Ryan Pancoast)

Editions:
English Gatecrash (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Vizkopa-Beichtvater
French Confesseur de Vizkopa
Italian Confessore di Vizkopa
Spanish Confesor de Vizkopa
Portuguese Confessor de Vizkopa
Japanese ヴィズコーパの聴罪司祭
Simplified Chinese 伟柯帕告解僧
Russian Исповедник из Визкопы
Traditional Chinese 偉柯帕告解僧
Korean 비즈코파 고해 신부


all prints in all languages

[ 1-13 ] 13 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.