[ 1-10 ] 10 cards

Ajani Steadfast Ajani Steadfast English

Planeswalker — Ajani (Loyalty: 4), 3W (4)

+1: Until end of turn, up to one target creature gets +1/+1 and gains first strike, vigilance, and lifelink.

−2: Put a +1/+1 counter on each creature you control and a loyalty counter on each other planeswalker you control.

−7: You get an emblem with "If a source would deal damage to you or a planeswalker you control, prevent all but 1 of that damage."

Illus. Chris Rahn

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#1 (Chris Rahn)

Editions:
English Magic 2015 (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Ajani der Standhafte
French Ajani l'inébranlable
Italian Ajani l'Incrollabile
Spanish Ajani tenaz
Portuguese Ajani Resoluto
Japanese 不動のアジャニ
Simplified Chinese 坚定的阿耶尼
Russian Аджани Непреклонный
Traditional Chinese 堅定的阿耶尼
Korean 꿋꿋한 아자니


all prints in all languages

Armament of Nyx Armament of Nyx English

Enchantment — Aura, 2W (3)

Enchant creature

Enchanted creature has double strike as long as it's an enchantment. Otherwise, prevent all damage that would be dealt by enchanted creature. (A creature with double strike deals both first-strike and regular combat damage.)

Illus. Slawomir Maniak

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/26/2014: Armament of Nyx continuously checks to see whether the creature it’s enchanting is an enchantment or not. If the creature isn’t an enchantment and becomes one, or it is an enchantment and stops being one, the effect will change.
Printings:
#4 (Slawomir Maniak)

Editions:
English Journey into Nyx (Common)

Languages:
German Nyx-Bewaffnung
French Armement de Nyx
Italian Armamento di Nyx
Spanish Armamento de Nyx
Portuguese Armamento de Nyx
Japanese ニクスの武装
Simplified Chinese 尼兹战具
Russian Вооружение Никса
Traditional Chinese 尼茲戰具
Korean 닉스의 무기


all prints in all languages

Avacyn, Guardian Angel Avacyn, Guardian Angel English

Legendary Creature — Angel 5/4, 2WWW (5)

Flying, vigilance

{1}{W}: Prevent all damage that would be dealt to another target creature this turn by sources of the color of your choice.

{5}{W}{W}: Prevent all damage that would be dealt to target player this turn by sources of the color of your choice.

Illus. Winona Nelson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#3 (Winona Nelson)

Editions:
English Magic 2015 (Rare)

Languages:
German Avacyn der Schutzengel
French Avacyn, ange gardien
Italian Avacyn, Angelo Custode
Spanish Avacyn, ángel de la guarda
Portuguese Avacyn, Anjo da Guarda
Japanese 守護天使アヴァシン
Simplified Chinese 守护天使艾维欣
Russian Авацина, Ангел-Хранитель
Traditional Chinese 守護天使艾維欣
Korean 수호천사 아바신


all prints in all languages

Defend the Hearth Defend the Hearth English

Instant, 1G (2)

Prevent all combat damage that would be dealt to players this turn.

The defenders said not a word. Their shields, spears, and stances were warning enough.

Illus. Raymond Swanland

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#156 (Raymond Swanland)

Editions:
English Theros (Common)

Languages:
German Hütet die Herdstelle
French Défense du foyer
Italian Difendere il Focolare
Spanish Defensa del hogar
Portuguese Defender o Lar
Japanese 拠点防衛
Simplified Chinese 捍卫家园
Russian Защита Очага
Traditional Chinese 捍衛家園
Korean 신전 사수


all prints in all languages

Favored Hoplite Favored Hoplite English

Creature — Human Soldier 1/2, W (1)

Heroic — Whenever you cast a spell that targets Favored Hoplite, put a +1/+1 counter on Favored Hoplite and prevent all damage that would be dealt to it this turn.

Illus. Winona Nelson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/15/2013: Heroic abilities will resolve before the spell that caused them to trigger.
  • 9/15/2013: Heroic abilities will trigger only once per spell, even if that spell targets the creature with the heroic ability multiple times.
  • 9/15/2013: Heroic abilities won’t trigger when a copy of a spell is created on the stack or when a spell’s targets are changed to include a creature with a heroic ability.
Printings:
#13 (Winona Nelson)

Editions:
English Theros (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Begünstigter Hoplit
French Hoplite favori
Italian Oplita Favorito
Spanish Hoplita favorito
Portuguese Hoplita Protegido
Japanese 恩寵の重装歩兵
Simplified Chinese 眷宠重装步兵
Russian Избранный Гоплит
Traditional Chinese 眷寵重裝步兵
Korean 은혜받은 중장보병


all prints in all languages

Harvestguard Alseids Harvestguard Alseids English

Enchantment Creature — Nymph 2/3, 2W (3)

Constellation — Whenever Harvestguard Alseids or another enchantment enters the battlefield under your control, prevent all damage that would be dealt to target creature this turn.

Not all shields are forged of iron or bronze.

Illus. Igor Kieryluk

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/26/2014: A constellation ability triggers whenever an enchantment enters the battlefield under your control for any reason. Enchantments with other card types, such as enchantment creatures, will also cause constellation abilities to trigger.
  • 4/26/2014: An Aura spell without bestow that has an illegal target when it tries to resolve will be countered and put into its owner’s graveyard. It won’t enter the battlefield and constellation abilities won’t trigger. An Aura spell with bestow won’t be countered this way. It will revert to being an enchantment creature and resolve, entering the battlefield and triggering constellation abilities.
  • 4/26/2014: When an enchantment enters the battlefield under your control, each constellation ability of permanents you control will trigger. You can put these abilities on the stack in any order. The last ability you put on the stack will be the first one that resolves.
Printings:
#13 (Igor Kieryluk)

Editions:
English Journey into Nyx (Common)

Languages:
German Ernte-Alseiden
French Alséïdes des moissons
Italian Alseidi del Raccolto
Spanish Alseides guardacosecha
Portuguese Alseídes da Colheita
Japanese 収穫守りのアルセイド
Simplified Chinese 佑丰蔻灵
Russian Альсеиды, Хранительницы Урожая
Traditional Chinese 佑豐蔻靈
Korean 수확감시자 알세이드


all prints in all languages

Hunter's Ambush Hunter's Ambush English

Instant, 2G (3)

Prevent all combat damage that would be dealt by nongreen creatures this turn.

First you lose your enemy's trail. Then you lose all sense of direction. Then you hear the growls . . .

Illus. David Palumbo

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#180 (David Palumbo)

Editions:
English Magic 2015 (Common)

Languages:
German Aus dem Hinterhalt
French Embuscade du chasseur
Italian Imboscata del Predatore
Spanish Emboscada del cazador
Portuguese Emboscada do Caçador
Japanese 狩人の待ち伏せ
Simplified Chinese 猎者伏击
Russian Засада Охотника
Traditional Chinese 獵者伏擊
Korean 사냥꾼의 매복


all prints in all languages

Iroas, God of Victory Iroas, God of Victory English

Legendary Enchantment Creature — God 7/4, 2WR (4)

Indestructible

As long as your devotion to red and white is less than seven, Iroas isn't a creature.

Creatures you control can't be blocked except by two or more creatures.

Prevent all damage that would be dealt to attacking creatures you control.

Illus. Slawomir Maniak

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/26/2014: Iroas’s last ability prevents all damage dealt to attacking creatures you control, not just combat damage.
  • 4/26/2014: The type-changing ability that can make the God not be a creature functions only on the battlefield. It’s always a creature card in other zones, regardless of your devotion to its color.
  • 4/26/2014: If a God enters the battlefield, your devotion to its color (including the mana symbols in the mana cost of the God itself) will determine if a creature entered the battlefield or not, for abilities that trigger whenever a creature enters the battlefield.
  • 4/26/2014: If a God stops being a creature, it loses the type creature and all creature subtypes. It continues to be a legendary enchantment.
  • 4/26/2014: The abilities of Gods function as long as they’re on the battlefield, regardless of whether they’re creatures.
  • 4/26/2014: If a God is attacking or blocking and it stops being a creature, it will be removed from combat.
  • 4/26/2014: If a God is dealt damage, then stops being a creature, then becomes a creature again later in the same turn, the damage will still be marked on it. This is also true for any effects that were affecting the God when it was originally a creature. (Note that in most cases, the damage marked on the God won’t matter because it has indestructible.)
  • 4/26/2014: Your devotion to two colors is equal to the number of mana symbols that are the first color, the second color, or both colors among the mana costs of permanents you control. Specifically, a hybrid mana symbol counts only once toward your devotion to its two colors. For example, if the only nonland permanents you control are Pharika, God of Affliction and Golgari Guildmage (whose mana cost is {B/G}{B/G}), your devotion to black and green is four.
  • 4/26/2014: Numeric mana symbols ({0}, {1}, and so on) in mana costs of permanents you control don’t count toward your devotion to any color.
  • 4/26/2014: Mana symbols in the text boxes of permanents you control don’t count toward your devotion to any color.
  • 4/26/2014: Hybrid mana symbols, monocolored hybrid mana symbols, and Phyrexian mana symbols do count toward your devotion to their color(s).
Printings:
#150 (Slawomir Maniak)

Editions:
English Journey into Nyx (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Iroas, Gott des Sieges
French Iroas, dieu de la Victoire
Italian Iroas, Dio della Vittoria
Spanish Iroas, dios de la victoria
Portuguese Iroas, Deus da Vitória
Japanese 勝利の神、イロアス
Simplified Chinese 胜利神伊洛安斯
Russian Ирой, Бог Победы
Traditional Chinese 勝利神伊洛安斯
Korean 승리의 신 이로아스


all prints in all languages

Kiora, the Crashing Wave Kiora, the Crashing Wave English

Planeswalker — Kiora (Loyalty: 2), 2UG (4)

+1: Until your next turn, prevent all damage that would be dealt to and dealt by target permanent an opponent controls.

−1: Draw a card. You may play an additional land this turn.

−5: You get an emblem with "At the beginning of your end step, put a 9/9 blue Kraken creature token onto the battlefield."

Illus. Scott M. Fischer

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2014: Kiora’s first ability can target any permanent an opponent controls, not just one that can deal or be dealt damage.
  • 2/1/2014: Once the first ability resolves, the damage prevention continues to apply even if that permanent changes controllers.
  • 2/1/2014: Kiora’s second ability allows you to play an additional land during your main phase. Doing so follows the normal timing rules for playing lands. In particular, you won’t play a land as that ability resolves. The ability will fully resolve (and you’ll draw a card, perhaps a land you’ll play later) first.
  • 2/1/2014: The effect of the second ability is cumulative with other effects that let you play additional lands, such as the one from Rites of Flourishing.
  • 2/1/2014: If Kiora leaves the battlefield after her second ability is activated but before it resolves, you’ll still be able to play an additional land after the ability resolves.
Printings:
#149 (Scott M. Fischer)

Editions:
English Born of the Gods (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Kiora, die brandende Welle
French Kiora, la Déferlante
Italian Kiora della Grande Onda
Spanish Kiora, la ola rompiente
Portuguese Kiora, a Onda que Arrebenta
Japanese 荒ぶる波濤、キオーラ
Simplified Chinese 破浪奇奥拉
Russian Киора, Разбивающаяся Волна
Traditional Chinese 破浪奇奧拉
Korean 거친 파도의 키오라


all prints in all languages

Stonewise Fortifier Stonewise Fortifier English

Creature — Human Wizard 2/2, 1W (2)

{4}{W}: Prevent all damage that would be dealt to Stonewise Fortifier by target creature this turn.

Ephara taught some mortals to feel every vein in marble as though it flows with their own blood.

Illus. Ryan Alexander Lee

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#27 (Ryan Alexander Lee)

Editions:
English Journey into Nyx (Common)

Languages:
German Steinkundiger Wächter
French Fortificateur sophiolithe
Italian Saggio della Pietra Fortificatore
Spanish Fortificador rocasagaz
Portuguese Fortificador Petrisábio
Japanese 石識の防衛者
Simplified Chinese 擅雕筑匠
Russian Укрепляющий Камнезнатец
Traditional Chinese 擅雕築匠
Korean 돌마도사 축성가


all prints in all languages

[ 1-10 ] 10 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.