Merchant Ship Arabian Nights Serendib Djinn

Old Man of the Sea Old Man of the Sea English

Creature — Djinn 2/3, 1UU (3)

You may choose not to untap Old Man of the Sea during your untap step.

{T}: Gain control of target creature with power less than or equal to Old Man of the Sea's power for as long as Old Man of the Sea remains tapped and that creature's power remains less than or equal to Old Man of the Sea's power.

Illus. Susan Van Camp

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: You lose control of the creature if the Old Man leaves the battlefield. This is because it is no longer tapped.
  • 10/1/2009: If Old Man of the Sea stops being tapped before its ability resolves -- even if it becomes tapped again right away -- you won't gain control of the targeted creature at all. The same is true if the targeted creature's power becomes greater than Old Man of the Sea's power before the ability resolves.
  • 10/1/2009: The ability doesn't care whether Old Man of the Sea remains under your control, only that Old Man of the Sea remains tapped and its power remains large enough. If an opponent gains control of Old Man of the Sea, you'll keep control of the affected creature (until Old Man of the Sea stops being tapped or it no longer has enough power).
  • 10/1/2009: Once the ability resolves, it doesn't care whether the targeted permanent remains a legal target for the ability, only that it's on the battlefield and its power remains small enough. The effect will continue to apply to it even if it gains shroud, stops being a creature, or would no longer be a legal target for any other reason. If it stops being a creature, its power is considered to be 0.
Printings:
#24 (Susan Van Camp)

Editions:
English Arabian Nights (Uncommon (U2))
English MTGO Masters Edition III (Rare)

Languages:
(None)

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Old Man of the Sea
View Decks with Old Man of the Sea
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.