[ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-60 ] [ 61-80 ] [ 81-98 ] 98 cards

Sky Swallower Sky Swallower English

Creature — Leviathan 8/8, 3UU (5)

Flying

When Sky Swallower enters the battlefield, target opponent gains control of all other permanents you control.

Would you trade the world for such a pet?

Illus. rk post

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2006: Auras your opponent gains control of won't move from where they are.
  • 2/1/2006: The permanents don't return to your control when Sky Swallower leaves the battlefield.
Printings:
#34 (rk post)

Editions:
English Guildpact (Rare)

Languages:
German Himmelsverschlinger
French Briffaud céleste
Italian Divora Cieli
Spanish Devorador celeste
Portuguese Engolidor de Céu
Japanese 空を飲み込むもの
Simplified Chinese 噬天霸
Russian Поглотитель неба


all prints in all languages

Skyshroud Behemoth Skyshroud Behemoth English

Creature — Beast 10/10, 5GG (7)

Fading 2 (This creature enters the battlefield with two fade counters on it. At the beginning of your upkeep, remove a fade counter from it. If you can't, sacrifice it.)

Skyshroud Behemoth enters the battlefield tapped.

Illus. Eric Peterson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#116 (Eric Peterson)

Editions:
English Nemesis (Rare)

Languages:
German Wolkenwald-Behemoth
French Béhémoth de Linciel
Italian Behemoth di Cielsudario
Spanish Behenot de Veloceleste
Portuguese Behemoth de Skyshroud


all prints in all languages

Spectral Force Spectral Force English

Creature — Elemental Spirit 8/8, 3GG (5)

Trample

Whenever Spectral Force attacks, if defending player controls no black permanents, it doesn't untap during your next untap step.

"The spirits of old have not left us unguarded."
—Uros, Pendelhaven elder

Illus. Dan Scott

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2007: ”Your next untap…” refers to the player who controls Spectral Force when the triggered ability resolves. That means if it's temporarily stolen (such as with Word of Seizing) and attacked with, it will untap in its previous controller's untap step.
Printings:
#217 (Dan Scott)

Editions:
English Time Spiral (Rare)

Languages:
German Spektrale Streitmacht
French Force spectrale
Italian Forza Spettrale
Spanish Fuerza espectral
Portuguese Força Espectral
Japanese 幽体の魔力
Simplified Chinese 幽灵元气兽
Russian Спектральная Сила


all prints in all languages

Stormtide Leviathan Stormtide Leviathan English

Creature — Leviathan 8/8, 5UUU (8)

Islandwalk (This creature can't be blocked as long as defending player controls an Island.)

All lands are Islands in addition to their other types.

Creatures without flying or islandwalk can't attack.

Illus. Karl Kopinski

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/15/2010: Islandwalk cares about lands with the land type Island, not necessarily lands named Island.
  • 8/15/2010: Stormtide Leviathan's second ability causes each land on the battlefield to have the land type Island. Each land thus has the ability to tap to add {U} to its controller's mana pool. This effect doesn't change anything else about those lands, including their names, other subtypes, other abilities, or whether they're legendary, basic, or snow.
  • 8/15/2010: If Stormtide Leviathan loses its abilities, all lands on the battlefield (including those that enter the battlefield later on) will still be Islands in addition to their other types and will still be able to tap to produce {U}. The way continuous effects work, Stormtide Leviathan's type-changing ability is applied before the effect that removes that ability is applied.
  • 8/15/2010: Stormtide Leviathan's third ability affects all creatures with neither flying nor islandwalk, regardless of who controls them. They can't attack any player or planeswalker.
Printings:
#70 (Karl Kopinski)

Editions:
English Magic 2013 (Rare)
English Magic 2011 (Rare)

Languages:
German Sturmtief-Leviathan
French Léviathan de la houle
Italian Leviatano della Burrasca
Spanish Leviatán marea de tormenta
Portuguese Leviatã da Tormenta Marinha
Japanese 嵐潮のリバイアサン
Simplified Chinese 暴潮海怪
Russian Левиафан Штормового Прилива
Traditional Chinese 暴潮海怪
Korean 폭풍파도 리바이어던


all prints in all languages

Supreme Exemplar Supreme Exemplar English

Creature — Elemental 10/10, 6U (7)

Flying

Champion an Elemental (When this enters the battlefield, sacrifice it unless you exile another Elemental you control. When this leaves the battlefield, that card returns to the battlefield.)

Illus. Mark Tedin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#53 (Mark Tedin)

Editions:
English Morningtide (Rare)

Languages:
German Herausragendes Exemplar
French Exemplaire suprême
Italian Esemplare Supremo
Spanish Ejemplar supremo
Portuguese Exemplar Supremo
Japanese 至高の模範
Simplified Chinese 超凡模范
Russian Высший Образец
Traditional Chinese 超凡模範


all prints in all languages

Terastodon Terastodon English

Creature — Elephant 9/9, 6GG (8)

When Terastodon enters the battlefield, you may destroy up to three target noncreature permanents. For each permanent put into a graveyard this way, its controller puts a 3/3 green Elephant creature token onto the battlefield.

Illus. Lars Grant-West

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 3/1/2010: The targeted permanents may be controlled by different players.
  • 7/1/2013: If a targeted permanent has indestructible or regenerates, its controller won't get an Elephant token for it. Similarly, if the targeted permanent is destroyed but a replacement effect moves it to a different zone instead of its owner's graveyard, its controller won't get an Elephant token for it.
Printings:
#181 (Lars Grant-West)

Editions:
English Conspiracy (Rare)
English Premium Deck Series: Graveborn (Rare)
English Worldwake (Rare)
English Media Inserts (Special)

Languages:
German Terastodon
French Térastodon
Italian Terastodonte
Spanish Terastodonte
Portuguese Terastodon
Japanese テラストドン
Simplified Chinese 撼地象
Russian Терастодонт
Korean Terastodon


all prints in all languages

Terra Stomper Terra Stomper English

Creature — Beast 8/8, 3GGG (6)

Terra Stomper can't be countered.

Trample

Sometimes violent earthquakes, hurtling boulders, and unseasonable dust storms are wrongly attributed to the Roil.

Illus. Goran Josic

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: Terra Stomper can be targeted by spells that try to counter it (such as Cancel). Those spells will resolve, but the part of their effect that would counter Terra Stomper won't do anything. Any other effects those spells have will work as normal.
Printings:
#187 (Goran Josic)

Editions:
English Zendikar (Rare)

Languages:
German Festlandzertreter
French Piétineur terrestre
Italian Calcaterra
Spanish Aplastatierra
Portuguese Pisoteador de Terreno
Japanese 土を踏み付けるもの
Simplified Chinese 跺地猛兽
Russian Земной Тяжелоступ


all prints in all languages

Thing from the Deep Thing from the Deep English

Creature — Leviathan 9/9, 6UUU (9)

Whenever Thing from the Deep attacks, sacrifice it unless you sacrifice an Island.

Seafarers fear sailing off the world's edge not so much as down its gullet.

Illus. Paolo Parente

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#74 (Paolo Parente)

Editions:
English Portal (Rare)
English MTGO Masters Edition IV (Rare)

Languages:
German Ding aus der Tiefe
French Chose des profondeurs
Spanish Cosa profundidades


all prints in all languages

Tromokratis Tromokratis English

Legendary Creature — Kraken 8/8, 5UU (7)

Tromokratis has hexproof unless it's attacking or blocking.

Tromokratis can't be blocked unless all creatures defending player controls block it. (If any creature that player controls doesn't block this creature, it can't be blocked.)

Illus. Matt Stewart

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2014: The defending player may block Tromokratis with each creature he or she controls. If that player can’t, perhaps because one of those creatures is tapped, or chooses not to, Tromokratis can’t be blocked.
  • 2/1/2014: Tromokratis (like all attacking and blocking creatures) remains an attacking or blocking creature until the end of combat step is over. Notably, it will still be an attacking or blocking creature during the combat damage step, so any abilities an opponent controls that trigger when a creature dies as a result of combat damage could target Tromokratis.
Printings:
#55 (Matt Stewart)

Editions:
English Born of the Gods (Rare)
English Magic: The Gathering Launch Parties (Special)

Languages:
German Tromokratis
French Tromokratis
Italian Tromokrate
Spanish Tromokratis
Portuguese Tromokratis
Japanese トロモクラティス
Simplified Chinese 卓莫克雷提
Russian Тромократ
Traditional Chinese 卓莫克雷提
Korean 트로모크레이티스


all prints in all languages

Uktabi Kong Uktabi Kong English

Creature — Ape 8/8, 5GGG (8)

Trample

When Uktabi Kong comes into play, destroy all artifacts.

Tap two untapped Apes you control: Put a 1/1 green Ape creature token into play.

"I desire the acquisition of a potassium-rich fruit comestible of substantial magnitude."

Illus. Una Fricker

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • This card is not legal in any format
Printings:
#115 (Una Fricker)

Editions:
English Unhinged (Rare)

Languages:
French Ouktabi Kong


all prints in all languages

Ulamog's Crusher Ulamog's Crusher English

Creature — Eldrazi 8/8, 8 (8)

Annihilator 2 (Whenever this creature attacks, defending player sacrifices two permanents.)

Ulamog's Crusher attacks each turn if able.

"Whatever the Eldrazi's purpose is, it has nothing to do with something so insignificant as us."
—Nirthu, lone missionary

Illus. Todd Lockwood

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/15/2010: Annihilator abilities trigger and resolve during the declare attackers step. The defending player chooses and sacrifices the required number of permanents before he or she declares blockers. Any creatures sacrificed this way won't be able to block.
  • 6/15/2010: If a creature with annihilator is attacking a planeswalker, and the defending player chooses to sacrifice that planeswalker, the attacking creature continues to attack. It may be blocked. If it isn't blocked, it simply won't deal combat damage to anything.
  • 6/15/2010: In a Two-Headed Giant game, the controller of an attacking creature with annihilator chooses which of the defending players is affected by the ability. Only that player sacrifices permanents. The choice is made as the ability resolves; once a player is chosen, it's too late for anyone to respond.
  • 6/15/2010: If, during your declare attackers step, Ulamog's Crusher is tapped, is affected by a spell or ability that says it can't attack, or is affected by "summoning sickness," then it doesn't attack. If there's a cost associated with having Ulamog's Crusher attack, you aren't forced to pay that cost, so it doesn't have to attack in that case either.
  • 6/15/2010: If there are multiple combat phases in a turn, Ulamog's Crusher must attack only in the first one in which it's able to.
Printings:
#13 (Todd Lockwood)

Editions:
English Rise of the Eldrazi (Common)

Languages:
German Ulamogs Schläger
French Écrabouilleur d'Ulamog
Italian Frantumatore di Ulamog
Spanish Triturador de Ulamog
Portuguese Triturador de Ulamog
Japanese ウラモグの破壊者
Simplified Chinese 钨拉莫猛击手
Russian Крушитель Уламога


all prints in all languages

Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre English

Legendary Creature — Eldrazi 10/10, 11 (11)

When you cast Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre, destroy target permanent.

Indestructible

Annihilator 4 (Whenever this creature attacks, defending player sacrifices four permanents.)

When Ulamog is put into a graveyard from anywhere, its owner shuffles his or her graveyard into his or her library.

Illus. Aleksi Briclot

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/15/2010: Annihilator abilities trigger and resolve during the declare attackers step. The defending player chooses and sacrifices the required number of permanents before he or she declares blockers. Any creatures sacrificed this way won't be able to block.
  • 6/15/2010: If a creature with annihilator is attacking a planeswalker, and the defending player chooses to sacrifice that planeswalker, the attacking creature continues to attack. It may be blocked. If it isn't blocked, it simply won't deal combat damage to anything.
  • 6/15/2010: In a Two-Headed Giant game, the controller of an attacking creature with annihilator chooses which of the defending players is affected by the ability. Only that player sacrifices permanents. The choice is made as the ability resolves; once a player is chosen, it's too late for anyone to respond.
  • 7/1/2013: Lethal damage and effects that say "destroy" won't cause a creature with indestructible to be put into the graveyard. However, a creature with indestructible can be put into the graveyard for a number of reasons. The most likely reasons are if it's sacrificed, if it's legendary and another legendary creature with the same name is controlled by the same player, or if its toughness is 0 or less.
Printings:
#14 (Aleksi Briclot)

Editions:
English From the Vault: Legends (Mythic Rare)
English Rise of the Eldrazi (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Ulamog, der unendliche Wirbel
French Ulamog, l'Épicycle Infini
Italian Ulamog, il Cerchio Infinito
Spanish Ulamog, la espiral infinita
Portuguese Ulamog, o Vórtice Infinito
Japanese 無限に廻るもの、ウラモグ
Simplified Chinese 无尽轮回钨拉莫
Russian Уламог, Бесконечный Вихрь


all prints in all languages

Whiptail Wurm Whiptail Wurm English

Creature — Wurm 8/5, 6G (7)

It's hard to say for certain which end is more dangerous.

Illus. Una Fricker

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#149 (Una Fricker)

Editions:
English Starter 1999 (Uncommon)
English Portal (Uncommon)
English MTGO Masters Edition IV (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Peitschenwurm
French Guivre a queue en fouet
Spanish Sierpe cola fustigante


all prints in all languages

Withengar Unbound Withengar Unbound English

Legendary Creature — Demon 13/13
(Color Indicator: Black)

Flying, intimidate, trample

Whenever a player loses the game, put thirteen +1/+1 counters on Withengar Unbound.

There are not enough lives on Innistrad to satisfy his thirst for retribution.

Illus. Eric Deschamps

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/22/2011: The "legend rule" checks only for permanents with exactly the same name. Elbrus, the Binding Blade and Withengar Unbound can be on the battlefield at the same time without either going to its owner's graveyard.
  • 1/22/2011: Elbrus will transform even if you are unable to unattach it (most likely because the equipped creature died).
  • 1/22/2011: If the equipped creature deals combat damage to more than one player at the same time, perhaps because some of its combat damage was redirected, Elbrus's ability will trigger once for each player it deals combat damage to. This may cause it to become unattached, transform, then transform again. If it transforms back into Elbrus, it will remain unattached.
  • 1/22/2011: Withengar's triggered ability will trigger no matter how a player loses the game: due to a state-based action (as a result of having a life total of 0 or less, trying to draw a card from an empty library, or having ten poison counters), a spell or ability that says that player loses the game, a concession, or a game loss awarded by a judge.
  • 1/22/2011: In a multiplayer game using the limited range of influence option (such as a Grand Melee game), if a spell or ability says that you win the game, it instead causes all of your opponents within your range of influence to lose the game. This is another way by which Withengar's ability can trigger.
The other part is:
English Elbrus, the Binding Blade

Printings:
#147b (Eric Deschamps)

Editions:
English Dark Ascension (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Withengar der Entfesselte
French Withengar déchaîné
Italian Withengar in Libertà
Spanish Withengar liberado
Portuguese Withengar Livre
Japanese 解き放たれたウィゼンガー
Simplified Chinese 解缚威森格
Russian Уитенгар Раскрепощенный
Traditional Chinese 解縛威森格
Korean 해방된 위텐가르


all prints in all languages

Witherscale Wurm Witherscale Wurm English

Creature — Wurm 9/9, 4GG (6)

Whenever Witherscale Wurm blocks or becomes blocked by a creature, that creature gains wither until end of turn. (It deals damage to creatures in the form of -1/-1 counters.)

Whenever Witherscale Wurm deals damage to an opponent, remove all -1/-1 counters from it.

Illus. Thomas M. Baxa

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2008: Witherscale Wurm's second ability triggers when it deals any damage to an opponent, not just combat damage.
  • 5/1/2008: Witherscale Wurm's first ability does *not* give Witherscale Wurm wither.
Printings:
#134 (Thomas M. Baxa)

Editions:
English Shadowmoor (Rare)

Languages:
German Dorrschuppenwurm
French Guivre à écailles flétrissantes
Italian Wurm dalle Scaglie Avvizzenti
Spanish Sierpe escamas debilitadas
Portuguese Vorme Escama-Murcha
Japanese 萎縮鱗のワーム
Simplified Chinese 凋鳞亚龙
Russian Вурм Увядания
Traditional Chinese Witherscale Wurm


all prints in all languages

Worldspine Wurm Worldspine Wurm English

Creature — Wurm 15/15, 8GGG (11)

Trample

When Worldspine Wurm dies, put three 5/5 green Wurm creature tokens with trample onto the battlefield.

When Worldspine Wurm is put into a graveyard from anywhere, shuffle it into its owner's library.

Illus. Richard Wright

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2012: Worldspine Wurm's last ability is a triggered ability, not a replacement ability. Players can respond to this ability, for example, by trying to exile Worldspine Wurm from the graveyard before it's shuffled into a library.
Printings:
#140 (Richard Wright)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Weltenwirbelwurm
French Guivre mondéchine
Italian Wurm Spina del Mondo
Spanish Sierpe lomo del mundo
Portuguese Vorme Espinha do Mundo
Japanese 世界棘のワーム
Simplified Chinese 世脊亚龙
Russian Вурм, Хребет Мира
Traditional Chinese 世脊亞龍
Korean 세계척추 웜


all prints in all languages

Zhou Yu, Chief Commander Zhou Yu, Chief Commander English

Legendary Creature — Human Soldier 8/8, 5UU (7)

Zhou Yu, Chief Commander can't attack unless defending player controls an Island.

"After making me, Zhou Yu, did you have to make Kongming?"
—Zhou Yu crying to heaven on his deathbed

Illus. Xu Xiaoming

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#65 (Xu Xiaoming)

Editions:
English Portal Three Kingdoms (Rare)

Languages:
Japanese 呉の大都督 周瑜
Simplified Chinese Zhou Yu, Chief Commander


all prints in all languages

Zodiac Dragon Zodiac Dragon English

Creature — Dragon 8/8, 7RR (9)

When Zodiac Dragon is put into your graveyard from the battlefield, you may return it to your hand.

". . . The kingdoms three are now the stuff of dream, / For men to ponder, past all praise or blame."

Illus. Qi Baocheng

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: If Zodiac Dragon is removed from the graveyard after the ability triggers but before it resolves, you can't return it to your hand. Similarly, if a replacement effect has Zodiac Dragon move to a different zone instead of being put into the graveyard, the ability won't trigger at all.
  • 10/1/2009: Even though Zodiac Dragon is a Dragon, it doesn't have flying.
Printings:
#131 (Qi Baocheng)

Editions:
English Portal Three Kingdoms (Rare)
English MTGO Masters Edition III (Rare)

Languages:
Japanese 黄道の龍
Simplified Chinese Zodiac Dragon


all prints in all languages

[ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-60 ] [ 61-80 ] [ 81-98 ] 98 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.