[ 1-2 ] 2 cards

Sunscour Sunscour English

Sorcery, 5WW (7)

You may exile two white cards from your hand rather than pay Sunscour's mana cost.

Destroy all creatures.

Illus. Jim Murray

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/15/2006: Paying the alternative cost doesn’t change when you can cast the spell. A creature spell you cast this way, for example, can still only be cast during your main phase while the stack is empty.
  • 7/15/2006: You may pay the alternative cost rather than the card’s mana cost. Any additional costs are paid as normal.
  • 7/15/2006: If you don’t have two cards of the right color in your hand, you can’t choose to cast the spell using the alternative cost.
  • 7/15/2006: You can’t exile a card from your hand to pay for itself. At the time you would pay costs, that card is on the stack, not in your hand.
Printings:
#19 (Jim Murray)

Editions:
English Coldsnap (Rare)

Languages:
German Säubernde Sonne
French Abolition du soleil
Italian Devastazione Solare
Spanish Depuración solar
Portuguese Limpeza Solar
Japanese 太陽の一掃
Simplified Chinese 烈日扫荡
Russian Солнечное очищение


all prints in all languages

Sunscourge Champion Sunscourge Champion English

Creature — Human Wizard 2/3, 2W (3)

When Sunscourge Champion enters the battlefield, you gain life equal to its power.

Eternalize—{2}{W}{W}, Discard a card. ({2}{W}{W}, Discard a card, Exile this card from your graveyard: Create a token that's a copy of it, except it's a 4/4 black Zombie Human Wizard with no mana cost. Eternalize only as a sorcery.)

Illus. Josu Hernaiz

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/27/2017: The amount of life you gain is determined as Sunscourge Champion’s triggered ability resolves. Players may respond to the ability by attempting to change its power.
  • 6/27/2017: If Sunscourge Champion leaves the battlefield before its triggered ability resolves, use its power as it last existed on the battlefield to determine how much life to gain. If that number is negative, you don’t gain any life and you don’t lose any life.
  • 6/27/2017: For each card with eternalize, a corresponding game play supplement token can be found in some Hour of Devastation booster packs. These supplements are not required to play with cards with eternalize; you can use the same items to represent an eternalized token as you would any other token.
  • 6/27/2017: If a creature card with eternalize is put into your graveyard during your main phase, you’ll have priority immediately afterward. You can activate its eternalize ability before any player can try to exile it, such as with Crook of Condemnation, if it’s legal for you to do so.
  • 6/27/2017: Once you’ve activated an eternalize ability, the card is immediately exiled. Opponents can’t try to stop the ability by exiling the card with an effect such as that of Crook of Condemnation.
  • 6/27/2017: The token copies exactly what was printed on the original card and nothing else, except the characteristics specifically modified by eternalize. It doesn’t copy any information about the object the card was before it was put into your graveyard.
  • 6/27/2017: The token is a Zombie in addition to its other types and is black instead of its other colors. Its base power and toughness are 4/4. It has no mana cost, and thus its converted mana cost is 0. These are copiable values of the token that other effects may copy.
  • 6/27/2017: If the card copied by the token had any “when [this permanent] enters the battlefield” abilities, then the token also has those abilities and will trigger them when it’s created. Similarly, any “as [this permanent] enters the battlefield” or “[this permanent] enters the battlefield with” abilities that the token has copied will also work.
  • 6/27/2017: Several cards have an eternalize cost that includes “Discard a card.” You can’t discard the card with eternalize to pay its own cost because the card has to be in your graveyard to begin activating its eternalize ability.
Printings:
#26 (Josu Hernaiz)

Editions:
English Hour of Devastation (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Sonnengeißel-Champion
French Championne au fléau solaire
Italian Campionessa del Flagello Solare
Spanish Campeona del flagelo solar
Portuguese Campeã do Flagelo Solar
Japanese 陽光鞭の勇者
Simplified Chinese 日焰鞭斗士
Russian Воительница Солнечных Кнутов
Traditional Chinese 日焰鞭鬥士
Korean 태양재앙 투사


all prints in all languages

[ 1-2 ] 2 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.