next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-22 ] 22 cards

Gahiji, Honored One Gahiji, Honored One English

Legendary Creature — Beast 4/4, 2WRG (5)

Whenever a creature attacks one of your opponents or a planeswalker an opponent controls, that creature gets +2/+0 until end of turn.

He can stir the gentlest spirit to wild ferocity.

Illus. Brynn Metheney

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#191 (Brynn Metheney)

Editions:
English Commander 2013 Edition (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Gahiji der Verehrte
French Gahiji l'Honoré
Italian Gahiji, il Venerato
Spanish Gahiji, el venerado
Japanese 名誉ある者(もの)、ガイージー


all prints in all languages

Gloryscale Viashino Gloryscale Viashino English

Creature — Viashino Soldier 3/3, 1WRG (4)

Whenever you cast a multicolored spell, Gloryscale Viashino gets +3/+3 until end of turn.

"This is a new world and a new war. We need warriors who know chaos and how to combat it."
—Lisha of the Azure

Illus. Volkan Baga

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#120 (Volkan Baga)

Editions:
English Alara Reborn (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Ruhmschuppen-Viashino
French Viashino à la peau de gloire
Italian Viashino Scagliagloriosa
Spanish Viashino escamas gloriosas
Portuguese Viashino da Escama Gloriosa
Japanese 栄光鱗のヴィーアシーノ
Simplified Chinese 荣鳞凡尔西诺
Russian Виашино Славокожий


all prints in all languages

Godsire Godsire English

Creature — Beast 8/8, 4WRGG (8)

Vigilance

{T}: Put an 8/8 Beast creature token that's red, green, and white onto the battlefield.

"Lay sacrifice to the godsire that it may spare us, but save some for his progeny who also will hunger."
—Syeena, elvish godtoucher

Illus. Jim Murray

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#170 (Jim Murray)

Editions:
English Shards of Alara (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Göttervater
French Père divin
Italian Progenitore Divino
Spanish Ancestro divino
Portuguese Sacrogenitor
Japanese 神祖
Simplified Chinese 宗神
Russian Отец Богов


all prints in all languages

Hazezon Tamar Hazezon Tamar English

Legendary Creature — Human Warrior 2/4, 4WRG (7)

When Hazezon Tamar enters the battlefield, put X 1/1 Sand Warrior creature tokens that are red, green, and white onto the battlefield at the beginning of your next upkeep, where X is the number of lands you control at that time.

When Hazezon leaves the battlefield, exile all Sand Warriors.

Illus. Richard Kane Ferguson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: When Hazezon Tamar's second ability resolves, all permanents with both the Sand and Warrior creature types are exiled, not just the Sand Warrior creature tokens it created. Permanents that have just one of those types are unaffected.
  • 10/1/2009: The first ability creates a delayed triggered ability that triggers at the beginning of your next upkeep. It doesn't matter who controls Hazezon Tamar at that time, or even if it's on the battlefield. The player who put Hazezon onto the battlefield gets the Sand Warriors.
  • 10/1/2009: Only Sand Warriors that are actually on the battlefield when Hazezon Tamar leaves the battlefield are affected when its second ability resolves. If Hazezon leaves the battlefield after the delayed triggered ability created by its first ability triggers but before that ability resolves, its second ability triggers and resolves first, then the Sand Warriors are put on the battlefield. Those Sand Warriors will remain on the battlefield indefinitely.
Printings:
#270 (Richard Kane Ferguson)

Editions:
English Legends (Rare (R1))
English MTGO Masters Edition III (Rare)

Languages:
Italian Hazezon Tamar


all prints in all languages

Jacques le Vert Jacques le Vert English

Legendary Creature — Human Warrior 3/2, 1WRG (4)

Green creatures you control get +0/+2.

Abandoning his sword to return to the lush forest of Pendelhaven, Jacques le Vert devoted his life to protecting the creatures of his homeland.

Illus. Andi Rusu

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: Gives himself +0/+2.
Printings:
#272 (Andi Rusu)

Editions:
English Legends (Rare (R1))
English MTGO Masters Edition (Rare)

Languages:
Italian Jacques le Vert


all prints in all languages

Johan Johan English

Legendary Creature — Human Wizard 5/4, 3WRG (6)

At the beginning of combat on your turn, you may have Johan gain "Johan can't attack" until end of combat. If you do, attacking doesn't cause creatures you control to tap this combat if Johan is untapped.

Illus. Mark Tedin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#112 (Mark Tedin)

Editions:
English Chronicles (Rare (U1))
English Legends (Rare (R1))

Languages:
Italian Johan


all prints in all languages

Knotvine Mystic Knotvine Mystic English

Creature — Elf Druid 2/2, WRG (3)

{1}, {T}: Add {R}{G}{W} to your mana pool.

The elves of Naya were the last to acknowledge the massive shift of mana in their world.

Illus. Ariel Olivetti

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#114 (Ariel Olivetti)

Editions:
English Conflux (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Knotenranken-Mystiker
French Mystique de Nœudevigne
Italian Mistico della Vite Intrecciata
Spanish Místico Viña Nudosa
Portuguese Místico de Vinha Nodosa
Japanese 結び蔦の神秘家
Simplified Chinese 结藤秘教徒
Russian Мистик Узловатой Лозы


all prints in all languages

Marath, Will of the Wild Marath, Will of the Wild English

Legendary Creature — Elemental Beast 0/0, WRG (3)

Marath, Will of the Wild enters the battlefield with a number of +1/+1 counters on it equal to the amount of mana spent to cast it.

{X}, Remove X +1/+1 counters from Marath: Choose one — Put X +1/+1 counters on target creature; or Marath deals X damage to target creature or player; or put an X/X green Elemental creature token onto the battlefield. X can't be 0.

Illus. Tyler Jacobson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/17/2013: Marath, Will of the Wild has received minor errata. The text “X can’t be 0” was inadvertently omitted from the card. The correct Oracle wording appears above.
  • 10/17/2013: You announce the value of X as you activate the ability, and all instances of X in the activation cost are equal to the announced value. For example, if you choose 2 as the value of X, then you pay {2} and remove two +1/+1 counters to pay the cost.
  • 1/1/2014: The amount of mana you spent to cast this creature is usually equal to its converted mana cost. However, you also include any additional costs you pay, including the cost imposed for casting your commander from the command zone.
  • 1/1/2014: You can’t choose to pay extra mana to cast a creature spell unless something instructs you to.
  • 1/1/2014: If Marath enters the battlefield without being cast, then no mana was spent to cast it. It will therefore enter the battlefield without any +1/+1 counters. If no other effects are increasing its toughness at that time, it will subsequently be put into its owner's graveyard as a state-based action.
Printings:
#198 (Tyler Jacobson)

Editions:
English Commander 2013 Edition (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Marath, Wille der Wildnis
French Marath, Volonté de la Nature
Italian Marath, Volontà della Selva
Spanish Marath, instinto de la naturaleza
Japanese 野生の意志、マラス


all prints in all languages

Marisi's Twinclaws Marisi's Twinclaws English

Creature — Cat Warrior 2/4, 2{R/W}G (4)

Double strike

"Looks like we're completely outnumbered."
"Lucky for us. I thought we'd be bored."

Illus. Izzy

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#17 (Izzy)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Ajani vs. Nicol Bolas (Uncommon)
English Alara Reborn (Uncommon)
English WPN/Gateway (Special)

Languages:
German Marisis Zwillingskämpfer
French Jumegriffes de Marisi
Italian Artigli Gemelli di Marisi
Spanish Garras gemelas marisi
Portuguese Garras-Duplas de Marisi
Japanese マリーシの双子爪
Simplified Chinese 马力希双爪组
Russian Двойные Когти Маризи


all prints in all languages

Mayael the Anima Mayael the Anima English

Legendary Creature — Elf Shaman 2/3, WRG (3)

{3}{R}{G}{W}, {T}: Look at the top five cards of your library. You may put a creature card with power 5 or greater from among them onto the battlefield. Put the rest on the bottom of your library in any order.

The sacred Anima's eyes are blind to all but the grandest truths.

Illus. Jason Chan

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#199 (Jason Chan)

Editions:
English Commander 2013 Edition (Mythic Rare)
English Shards of Alara (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Mayael die Anima
French Mayael l'Anima
Italian Mayael l'Anima
Spanish Mayael el Ánima
Portuguese Mayael, a Anima
Japanese アニマのメイエル
Simplified Chinese 谕灵梅燕
Russian Майел, Святая Анима


all prints in all languages

Meglonoth Meglonoth English

Creature — Beast 6/6, 3WRG (6)

Vigilance, trample

Whenever Meglonoth blocks a creature, Meglonoth deals damage to that creature's controller equal to Meglonoth's power.

When the shards merged, Mayael found herself the general of Naya's mightiest army.

Illus. Steve Prescott

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2009: You don't check Meglonoth's power until its triggered ability resolves.
  • 2/1/2009: If Meglonoth leaves the battlefield after its ability triggers but before it resolves, the amount of damage it deals is equal to its power as it last existed on the battlefield.
  • 2/1/2009: If Meglonoth somehow blocks more than one creature, its ability will trigger once for each creature it blocks.
Printings:
#118 (Steve Prescott)

Editions:
English Conflux (Rare)

Languages:
German Meglonoth
French Méglonoth
Italian Meglonoth
Spanish Meglonoth
Portuguese Meglonoth
Japanese メグロノス
Simplified Chinese 梅格诺斯
Russian Меглонот


all prints in all languages

Naya Hushblade Naya Hushblade English

Creature — Elf Rogue 2/1, {R/W}G (2)

As long as you control another multicolored permanent, Naya Hushblade gets +1/+1 and has shroud. (It can't be the target of spells or abilities.)

Illus. Jason Chan

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#141 (Jason Chan)

Editions:
English Alara Reborn (Common)

Languages:
German Schweigender Kämpfer aus Naya
French Muetalfange de Naya
Italian Lama Silenziosa di Naya
Spanish Espada susurrante nayana
Portuguese Lâmina Silenciosa de Naya
Japanese ナヤの静刃
Simplified Chinese 纳雅宁锋兵
Russian Бесшумный Палач из Найи


all prints in all languages

Naya Sojourners Naya Sojourners English

Creature — Elf Shaman 5/3, 2WRG (5)

When you cycle Naya Sojourners or it dies, you may put a +1/+1 counter on target creature.

Cycling {2}{G} ({2}{G}, Discard this card: Draw a card.)

The elves had entered a land like an open grave—an act of fortitude or folly?

Illus. John Avon

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: Cycling is an activated ability. Effects that interact with activated abilities (such as Stifle or Rings of Brighthearth) will interact with cycling. Effects that interact with spells (such as Remove Soul or Faerie Tauntings) will not.
  • 5/1/2009: The triggered ability acts as a cycle-triggered ability or as a leaves-the-battlefield ability, as appropriate. The player who controls the triggered ability is the player who cycled the Sojourner, or the player who last controlled the Sojourner on the battlefield.
  • 5/1/2009: If you cycle this card, the cycling ability goes on the stack, then the triggered ability goes on the stack on top of it. The triggered ability will resolve before you draw a card from the cycling ability.
  • 5/1/2009: The cycling ability and the triggered ability are separate. If the triggered ability is countered (with Stifle, for example, or if all its targets have become illegal), the cycling ability will still resolve and you'll draw a card.
  • 5/1/2009: You can cycle this card even if there are no targets for the triggered ability. That's because the cycling ability itself has no targets.
Printings:
#122 (John Avon)

Editions:
English Alara Reborn (Common)
English WPN/Gateway (Special)

Languages:
German Besucher aus Naya
French Séjourneurs de Naya
Italian Visitatori di Naya
Spanish Transeúntes de Naya
Portuguese Visitantes de Naya
Japanese ナヤの滞留者
Simplified Chinese 纳雅旅居者
Russian Гости из Найи


all prints in all languages

Palladia-Mors Palladia-Mors English

Legendary Creature — Elder Dragon 7/7, 2WWRRGG (8)

Flying, trample

At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice Palladia-Mors unless you pay {R}{G}{W}.

Illus. Edward Beard, Jr.

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#117 (Edward Beard, Jr.)

Editions:
English Chronicles (Rare (U1))
English Legends (Rare (R1))
English MTGO Masters Edition III (Rare)

Languages:
Italian Palladia-Mors


all prints in all languages

Radiant Kavu Radiant Kavu English

Creature — Kavu 3/3, WRG (3)

{R}{G}{W}: Prevent all combat damage blue creatures and black creatures would deal this turn.

When angered or frightened, it protects itself with a burst of blinding light.

Illus. Ron Spencer

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#120 (Ron Spencer)

Editions:
English Planeshift (Rare)

Languages:
German Strahlender Kavu
French Kavru radieux
Italian Kavu Radioso
Spanish Kavu radiante
Portuguese Kavu Radiante


all prints in all languages

Rakeclaw Gargantuan Rakeclaw Gargantuan English

Creature — Beast 5/3, 2WRG (5)

{1}: Target creature with power 5 or greater gains first strike until end of turn.

Naya teems with gargantuans, titanic monsters to whom both nature and civilization defer.

Illus. Jesper Ejsing

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: The ability checks the targeted creature's power twice: when the creature becomes the target, and when the ability resolves. Once the ability resolves, it will continue to apply to the affected creature no matter what its power may become later in the turn.
Printings:
#205 (Jesper Ejsing)

Editions:
English Commander 2013 Edition (Common)
English Shards of Alara (Common)

Languages:
German Harkenklauen-Gargantua
French Gargantuesque raclegriffe
Italian Mastodonte Artigliato
Spanish Gargantúa garras filosas
Portuguese Gargantua das Garras Unciformes
Japanese 熊手爪のガルガンチュアン
Simplified Chinese 耙爪巨兽
Russian Исполин Рвущих Когтей


all prints in all languages

Realm Razer Realm Razer English

Creature — Beast 4/2, 3WRG (6)

When Realm Razer enters the battlefield, exile all lands.

When Realm Razer leaves the battlefield, return the exiled cards to the battlefield tapped under their owners' control.

The behemoth roared, and the world was blasted free of empires and tyrants.

Illus. Hideaki Takamura

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: If Realm Razer leaves the battlefield before its first ability has resolved, its second ability will trigger and do nothing. Then its first ability will resolve and exile all lands forever.
Printings:
#187 (Hideaki Takamura)

Editions:
English Shards of Alara (Rare)

Languages:
German Erdbodengleichmacher
French Terrasseur de royaume
Italian Distruttore del Reame
Spanish Arrasareinos
Portuguese Destruidor de Reinos
Japanese 領土を滅ぼすもの
Simplified Chinese 夷壤
Russian Разрушитель Владений


all prints in all languages

Retaliator Griffin Retaliator Griffin English

Creature — Griffin 2/2, 1WRG (4)

Flying

Whenever a source an opponent controls deals damage to you, you may put that many +1/+1 counters on Retaliator Griffin.

For every eye, an eye. For every tooth, a tooth. Griffins are nothing if not fair.

Illus. Jesper Ejsing

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2009: The source of combat damage is the creature that dealt it.
  • 5/1/2009: If a spell causes damage to be dealt, that spell will always identify the source of the damage. In most cases, the source is the spell itself. For example, Breath of Malfegor says "Breath of Malfegor deals 5 damage to each opponent."
  • 5/1/2009: If an ability causes damage to be dealt, that ability will always identify the source of the damage. The ability itself is never the source. However, the source of the ability is often the source of the damage. For example, Deathbringer Thoctar's ability says "Deathbringer Thoctar deals 1 damage to target creature or player."
  • 5/1/2009: If the source of the damage is a permanent, Retaliator Griffin checks whether an opponent controls that permanent at the time that damage is dealt. If the permanent has left the battlefield by then, its last known information is used. If the source of the damage is a spell, whether it's controlled by an opponent is obvious. If the source of the damage is a card in some other zone (such as a cycled Jund Sojourners), Retaliator Griffin checks whether the card's owner, rather than its controller, is an opponent.
  • 5/1/2009: If Retaliator Griffin is dealt lethal damage at the same time that you're dealt damage by a source an opponent controls, Retaliator Griffin will be put into a graveyard before it would receive any counters. Its ability will still trigger, but it will do nothing when it resolves.
Printings:
#123 (Jesper Ejsing)

Editions:
English Alara Reborn (Rare)
English Media Inserts (Special)

Languages:
German Rächer-Greif
French Griffon talion
Italian Grifone Vendicativo
Spanish Grifo vengador
Portuguese Grifo Retaliador
Japanese 報復するグリフィン
Simplified Chinese 回敬狮鹫
Russian Грифон-Мстительница


all prints in all languages

Rith, the Awakener Rith, the Awakener English

Legendary Creature — Dragon 6/6, 3WRG (6)

Flying

Whenever Rith, the Awakener deals combat damage to a player, you may pay {2}{G}. If you do, choose a color, then put a 1/1 green Saproling creature token onto the battlefield for each permanent of that color.

Illus. Carl Critchlow

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: You choose the color during resolution. This means your opponent does not get to react after knowing the color you chose.
Printings:
#48 (Carl Critchlow)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Phyrexia vs. The Coalition (Rare)
English From the Vault: Dragons (Rare)
English Invasion (Rare)

Languages:
German Rith, der Erwecker
French Riss l'éveilleur
Italian Rith,il Risvegliatore
Spanish Rith, La Despertadora
Portuguese Rith, o Incitador
Japanese 煽動するものリース


all prints in all languages

Tamanoa Tamanoa English

Creature — Spirit 2/4, WRG (3)

Whenever a noncreature source you control deals damage, you gain that much life.

When Freyalise spoke the World Spell, the tamanoa rose to bring a new morning to Terisiare.

Illus. rk post

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/15/2006: A noncreature source is a source that doesn't have the type creature. If a creature card that's not on the battlefield deals damage (for example, a cycled Gempalm Incinerator), Tamanoa's ability won't trigger.
  • 7/15/2006: Tamanoa's ability triggers no matter who the recipient of the damage is: another player, a creature, or even you. If a noncreature source you control deals damage to you that drops your life total to 0 or less, you'll lose the game before Tamanoa's ability can resolve.
Printings:
#132 (rk post)

Editions:
English Coldsnap (Rare)

Languages:
German Tamanoa
French Tamanoa
Italian Tamanoa
Spanish Tamanoa
Portuguese Tamanoa
Japanese タマノーア
Simplified Chinese 塔玛诺亚
Russian Таманоа


all prints in all languages

next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-22 ] 22 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.