next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ][ 1921-1924 ] 1924 cards

Abduction Abduction English

Enchantment — Aura, 2UU (4)

Enchant creature

When Abduction enters the battlefield, untap enchanted creature.

You control enchanted creature.

When enchanted creature dies, return that card to the battlefield under its owner's control.

Illus. Colin MacNeil

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: Abduction may be cast targeting an untapped creature.
Printings:
#55 (Colin MacNeil)

Editions:
English Classic Sixth Edition (Uncommon)
English Weatherlight (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Entführung
French Rapt
Italian Rapimento
Spanish Secuestro
Portuguese Abdução


all prints in all languages

Aboshan's Desire Aboshan's Desire English

Enchantment — Aura, U (1)

Enchant creature

Enchanted creature has flying.

Threshold — Enchanted creature has shroud as long as seven or more cards are in your graveyard. (It can't be the target of spells or abilities.)

Illus. Ciruelo

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#59 (Ciruelo)

Editions:
English Odyssey (Common)

Languages:
German Aboshans Verlangen
French Désir selon Aboshân
Italian Desiderio di Aboshan
Spanish Deseo de Áboshan
Portuguese Desejo de Aboshan


all prints in all languages

Absolute Grace Absolute Grace English

Enchantment, 1W (2)

All creatures have protection from black.

In pursuit of Urza, the Phyrexians sent countless foul legions into Serra's realm. Though beaten back, they left it tainted with uncleansable evil.

Illus. Jeff Miracola

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: This affects all creatures, not just your own.
Printings:
#1 (Jeff Miracola)

Editions:
English Urza's Saga (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Ewige Gnade
French Grâce suprême
Italian Grazia Assoluta
Spanish Gracia absoluta
Portuguese Graça Absoluta


all prints in all languages

Absolute Law Absolute Law English

Enchantment, 1W (2)

All creatures have protection from red.

The strength of law is unwavering. It is an iron bar in a world of water.

Illus. Mark Zug

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: This affects all creatures, not just your own.
Printings:
#2 (Mark Zug)

Editions:
English Urza's Saga (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Ewiges Gesetz
French Loi suprême
Italian Legge Assoluta
Spanish Ley absoluta
Portuguese Lei Absoluta


all prints in all languages

Abundance Abundance English

Enchantment, 2GG (4)

If you would draw a card, you may instead choose land or nonland and reveal cards from the top of your library until you reveal a card of the chosen kind. Put that card into your hand and put all other cards revealed this way on the bottom of your library in any order.

Illus. Rebecca Guay

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: This replacement effect replaces the draw, so nothing that triggers on a draw will trigger.
  • 10/4/2004: If you use this on a multi-card draw, each replaced draw is handled separately. In other words, you reveal and then put on the bottom of the library for the first card, then do the same for the second, and so on. In a multi-card draw you do not have to choose how many of those draws will be replaced before you do any drawing or use of this card.
  • 10/4/2004: If no card of the chosen type is found before your library empties, you don't get a card, but you do get to order all the cards in your library any way you choose.
  • 7/15/2007: If your library is empty, Abundance can prevent you from losing the game for being unable to draw a card. If an effect or turn-based action would cause you to draw a card, you can replace that draw with Abundance's replacement effect. (It doesn't matter that you'd be unable to actually draw a card.) Since Abundance's effect has you put a card into your hand instead of drawing a card, you'll never be forced to draw a card with an empty library.
Printings:
#249 (Rebecca Guay)

Editions:
English Tenth Edition (Rare)
English Urza's Saga (Rare)

Languages:
German Überfluss
French Abondance
Italian Abbondanza
Spanish Abundancia
Portuguese Abundância
Japanese 豊穣
Simplified Chinese 丰衣足食
Russian Изобилие
Traditional Chinese 豐衣足食


all prints in all languages

Abundant Growth Abundant Growth English

Enchantment — Aura, G (1)

Enchant land

When Abundant Growth enters the battlefield, draw a card.

Enchanted land has "{T}: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool."

Illus. Vincent Proce

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2012: The land retains any other abilities it has.
Printings:
#167 (Vincent Proce)

Editions:
English Avacyn Restored (Common)

Languages:
German Opulentes Wachstum
French Croissance abondante
Italian Crescita Abbondante
Spanish Crecimiento abundante
Portuguese Crescimento Abundante
Japanese 豊かな成長
Simplified Chinese 丰足成长
Russian Обильный Рост
Traditional Chinese 豐足成長
Korean 과잉 성장


all prints in all languages

Act of Authority Act of Authority English

Enchantment, 1WW (3)

When Act of Authority enters the battlefield, you may exile target artifact or enchantment.

At the beginning of your upkeep, you may exile target artifact or enchantment. If you do, its controller gains control of Act of Authority.

Illus. Véronique Meignaud

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/17/2013: For either ability, if you are the only player who controls an artifact or enchantment, you must choose one of them as the target. However, you may choose to not exile it when the ability resolves.
  • 10/17/2013: If you choose to not exile a permanent with the second ability, you’ll retain control of Act of Authority.
Printings:
#1 (Véronique Meignaud)

Editions:
English Commander 2013 Edition (Rare)

Languages:
German Kraft der Autorität
French Acte d'autorité
Italian Atto di Autorità
Spanish Acto de autoridad
Japanese 権威の行動


all prints in all languages

Aegis of Honor Aegis of Honor English

Enchantment, W (1)

{1}: The next time an instant or sorcery spell would deal damage to you this turn, that spell deals that damage to its controller instead.

Illus. Ron Spears

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#1 (Ron Spears)

Editions:
English Odyssey (Rare)

Languages:
German Ägide der Ehre
French Égide de l'honneur
Italian Egida dell'Onore
Spanish Égida del honor
Portuguese Égide de Honra


all prints in all languages

Aegis of the Gods Aegis of the Gods English

Enchantment Creature — Human Soldier 2/1, 1W (2)

You have hexproof. (You can't be the target of spells or abilities your opponents control.)

Athreos cares little for the other gods' conflict with mortals. He is concerned only with safe passage for the dead.

Illus. Yefim Kligerman

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/26/2014: Your opponent can’t target you with spells that deal damage or abilities that cause their sources to deal damage, even if he or she intends to redirect the damage to a planeswalker you control.
Printings:
#1 (Yefim Kligerman)

Editions:
English Journey into Nyx (Rare)

Languages:
German Schildwache der Götter
French Égide des dieux
Italian Egida degli Dei
Spanish Égida de los dioses
Portuguese Égide dos Deuses
Japanese 神々の神盾
Simplified Chinese 庇佑神使
Russian Эгида Богов
Traditional Chinese 庇佑神使
Korean 신들의 방패


all prints in all languages

Æther Barrier Æther Barrier English

Enchantment, 2U (3)

Whenever a player casts a creature spell, that player sacrifices a permanent unless he or she pays {1}.

"Creatures fade in and out of existence. It's an unfortunate side effect. The losses are tolerable."
—Belbe

Illus. David Martin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#27 (David Martin)

Editions:
English Nemesis (Rare)

Languages:
German Ätherbarriere
French Barrière d'Aether
Italian Barriera Eterea
Spanish Barrera de éter
Portuguese Barreira de Éter


all prints in all languages

Æther Charge Æther Charge English

Enchantment, 4R (5)

Whenever a Beast enters the battlefield under your control, you may have it deal 4 damage to target opponent.

"Is it just me, or does that meteor have teeth?"

Illus. Mark Brill

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#184 (Mark Brill)

Editions:
English Onslaught (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Ätherattacke
French Charge d'Æther
Italian Carica Eterea
Spanish Carga de Éter
Portuguese Investida do Éter


all prints in all languages

Æther Flash Æther Flash English

Enchantment, 2RR (4)

Whenever a creature enters the battlefield, Æther Flash deals 2 damage to it.

As the foul beast appeared, arcane lightning crackled around it.

Illus. Wayne England

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: This is not a targeted ability, so it deals damage to creatures that can't be targeted by spells and abilities.
Printings:
#172 (Wayne England)

Editions:
English Seventh Edition (Uncommon)
English Classic Sixth Edition (Uncommon)
English Weatherlight (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Ätherblitz
French Flash d'Æther
Italian Fiammata Eterea
Spanish Destello del Éter
Portuguese Clarão do Éter


all prints in all languages

Æther Rift Æther Rift English

Enchantment, 1RG (3)

At the beginning of your upkeep, discard a card at random. If you discard a creature card this way, return it from your graveyard to the battlefield unless any player pays 5 life.

Illus. Heather Hudson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: First, the card is discarded. Then, in turn order, each player is given the option to pay 5 life. Then, if no player paid 5 life, the card is put onto the battlefield from the graveyard.
  • 10/1/2009: The card is actually discard, so anything which triggers on a discard will trigger. Such abilities will wait to go on the stack until after this ability has completely resolved.
Printings:
#227 (Heather Hudson)

Editions:
English Invasion (Rare)

Languages:
German Ätherspalt
French Ride d'Æther
Italian Frattura Eterea
Spanish Grieta de éter
Portuguese Fenda do Éter


all prints in all languages

Æther Sting Æther Sting English

Enchantment, 3R (4)

Whenever an opponent casts a creature spell, Æther Sting deals 1 damage to that player.

When Gatha fell, he was called to account for each abomination he created.

Illus. Pete Venters

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: The ability triggers when an opponent casts a creature spell, and goes on the stack above that spell. As such, the ability will deal 1 damage to that player before the creature enters the battlefield.
Printings:
#76 (Pete Venters)

Editions:
English Urza's Destiny (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Ätherstich
French Piqûre d'Aether
Italian Puntura eterea
Spanish Piquete de Éter
Portuguese Ferroada do Æther


all prints in all languages

Æther Storm Æther Storm English

Enchantment, 3U (4)

Creature spells can't be cast.

Pay 4 life: Destroy Æther Storm. It can't be regenerated. Any player may activate this ability.

Thunder in the wind / no rain / peace mourns its passing.

Illus. Mark Tedin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: This does not stop a creature card from being put directly onto the battlefield by a spell or ability.
  • 8/1/2008: Affects any spell with the type creature, including those with other types such as artifact or enchantment. This includes older cards with "summon" on their type line.
Printings:
#70 (Mark Tedin)

Editions:
English Fifth Edition (Uncommon)
English Homelands (Uncommon (U3))
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Äthersturm
French Tempête d'Aether
Italian Tempesta dell'Etere
Spanish Tormenta del éter
Portuguese Tempestade do Æter


all prints in all languages

Æther Web Æther Web English

Enchantment — Aura, 1G (2)

Flash (You may cast this spell any time you could cast an instant.)

Enchant creature

Enchanted creature gets +1/+1, has reach, and can block creatures with shadow as though they didn't have shadow. (Creatures with reach can block creatures with flying.)

Illus. Justin Sweet

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/25/2006: The enchanted creature can block creatures with shadow and creatures without shadow.
  • 9/25/2006: If the enchanted creature has shadow, it won't be able to block any creatures (not even those with shadow).
Printings:
#189 (Justin Sweet)

Editions:
English Time Spiral (Common)

Languages:
German Äthernetz
French Toile d'Æther
Italian Ragnatela Eterea
Spanish Telaraña de éter
Portuguese Teia Etérea
Japanese 霊気の網
Simplified Chinese 乙太网
Russian Эфирная Паутина


all prints in all languages

Afiya Grove Afiya Grove English

Enchantment, 1G (2)

Afiya Grove enters the battlefield with three +1/+1 counters on it.

At the beginning of your upkeep, move a +1/+1 counter from Afiya Grove onto target creature.

When Afiya Grove has no +1/+1 counters on it, sacrifice it.

Illus. Stuart Griffin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: If there are any creatures on the battlefield, even if they are just your opponent's, you must put a +1/+1 on one of them. If there are no creatures on the battlefield, then no counter is removed from this card.
Printings:
#103 (Stuart Griffin)

Editions:
English Mirage (Rare)

Languages:
German Afiyahain
French Bosquet d'afiyas
Italian Frutteto di Afiya
Spanish Arboleda de Afiya
Portuguese Bosque de Afiya


all prints in all languages

Agent of Erebos Agent of Erebos English

Enchantment Creature — Zombie 2/2, 3B (4)

Constellation — Whenever Agent of Erebos or another enchantment enters the battlefield under your control, exile all cards from target player's graveyard.

Erebos's minions hunt the Returned and warn those who consider the same folly.

Illus. Cyril Van Der Haegen

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/26/2014: The constellation ability is mandatory. If you are the only legal target (perhaps because your opponent has hexproof), you must target yourself and exile all the cards from your graveyard.
  • 4/26/2014: A constellation ability triggers whenever an enchantment enters the battlefield under your control for any reason. Enchantments with other card types, such as enchantment creatures, will also cause constellation abilities to trigger.
  • 4/26/2014: An Aura spell without bestow that has an illegal target when it tries to resolve will be countered and put into its owner’s graveyard. It won’t enter the battlefield and constellation abilities won’t trigger. An Aura spell with bestow won’t be countered this way. It will revert to being an enchantment creature and resolve, entering the battlefield and triggering constellation abilities.
  • 4/26/2014: When an enchantment enters the battlefield under your control, each constellation ability of permanents you control will trigger. You can put these abilities on the stack in any order. The last ability you put on the stack will be the first one that resolves.
Printings:
#59 (Cyril Van Der Haegen)

Editions:
English Journey into Nyx (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Agent des Erebos
French Agent d'Érébos
Italian Agente di Erebos
Spanish Agente de Erebos
Portuguese Agente de Érebo
Japanese エレボスの代行者
Simplified Chinese 厄睿柏斯的密探
Russian Агент Эреба
Traditional Chinese 厄睿柏斯的密探
Korean 에레보스의 하수인


all prints in all languages

Aggravated Assault Aggravated Assault English

Enchantment, 2R (3)

{3}{R}{R}: Untap all creatures you control. After this main phase, there is an additional combat phase followed by an additional main phase. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.

Illus. Greg Staples

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: If you have enough mana, the ability may be activated more than once in a turn.
  • 10/4/2004: You will normally use this during your post-combat main phase so you can untap any creatures that attacked.
Printings:
#185 (Greg Staples)

Editions:
English Onslaught (Rare)

Languages:
German Anhaltender Ansturm
French Escalade de violence
Italian Assalto Aggravato
Spanish Agresión con agravantes
Portuguese Assalto Agravado


all prints in all languages

Aggression Aggression English

Enchantment — Aura, 2R (3)

Enchant non-Wall creature

Enchanted creature has first strike and trample.

At the beginning of the end step of enchanted creature's controller, destroy that creature if it didn't attack this turn.

The star that burns twice as bright burns half as long.

Illus. Rick Emond

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/15/2006: Moving the enchantment after the ability triggers will not affect which creatures are affected.
Printings:
#169 (Rick Emond)

Editions:
English Ice Age (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Agressivität
French Agression
Italian Aggressività
Spanish Agresión
Portuguese Agressão


all prints in all languages

next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ][ 1921-1924 ] 1924 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.