[ 1-10 ] 10 cards

Glissa, the Traitor Glissa, the Traitor English

Legendary Creature — Zombie Elf 3/3, BGG (3)

First strike, deathtouch

Whenever a creature an opponent controls dies, you may return target artifact card from your graveyard to your hand.

Illus. Chris Rahn

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/1/2011: If an artifact you own and a creature an opponent controls go to the graveyard at the same time, you may choose that artifact card as the target of Glissa, the Traitor's ability (even if they're the same card: an artifact creature you own that an opponent controlled).
Printings:
#96 (Chris Rahn)

Editions:
English Mirrodin Besieged (Mythic Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)

Languages:
German Glissa die Verräterin
French Glissa, la traîtresse
Italian Glissa, la Traditrice
Spanish Glissa, la traidora
Portuguese Glissa, a Traidora
Japanese 裏切り者グリッサ
Simplified Chinese 叛徒格莉莎
Russian Глисса, Предательница
Traditional Chinese 叛徒格莉莎


all prints in all languages

Iname as One Iname as One English

Legendary Creature — Spirit 8/8, 8BBGG (12)

When Iname as One enters the battlefield, if you cast it from your hand, you may search your library for a Spirit permanent card, put it onto the battlefield, then shuffle your library.

When Iname as One dies, you may exile it. If you do, return target Spirit permanent card from your graveyard to the battlefield.

Illus. Stephen Tappin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/1/2005: Effects that put Iname onto the battlefield don't cause its enters-the-battlefield ability to trigger.
  • 6/1/2005: Iname can target itself with the graveyard-triggered ability, but it will be exiled and the ability won't be able to return Iname.
  • 6/1/2005: You aren't required to exile Iname. If you don't, the target Spirit card isn't returned to the battlefield.
  • 4/15/2013: In a Commander game, you may send Iname to the Command Zone instead of exiling it during the resolution of its ability. If you do, its ability still works. Iname's ability only requires that you attempted to exile it, not that it actually gets to the exile zone. This is similar to how destroying a creature (with, for example, Rest in Peace) doesn't necessarily ensure that creature will end up in the graveyard; it just so happens that the action of exiling something and the exile zone both use the same word: "exile".
  • 7/1/2013: In a Commander game where this card is your commander, casting it from the Command zone does not count as casting it from your hand.
  • 9/20/2013: If a creature (such as Clone) enters the battlefield as a copy of this creature, the copy's "enters-the-battlefield" ability will still trigger as long as you cast that creature spell from your hand.
Printings:
#151 (Stephen Tappin)

Editions:
English Saviors of Kamigawa (Rare)

Languages:
German Iname als Eines
French Iname unifié
Italian Iname Come Unico
Spanish Iname unificado
Portuguese Iname como Uma
Japanese 一なる否命
Simplified Chinese 否命合一


all prints in all languages

Jarad, Golgari Lich Lord Jarad, Golgari Lich Lord English

Legendary Creature — Zombie Elf 2/2, BBGG (4)

Jarad, Golgari Lich Lord gets +1/+1 for each creature card in your graveyard.

{1}{B}{G}, Sacrifice another creature: Each opponent loses life equal to the sacrificed creature's power.

Sacrifice a Swamp and a Forest: Return Jarad from your graveyard to your hand.

Illus. Eric Deschamps

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2012: Jarad's first ability applies only when Jarad is on the battlefield.
  • 10/1/2012: The life loss is based on the power of the sacrificed creature as it last existed on the battlefield.
  • 10/1/2012: To activate Jarad's last ability, you must sacrifice two lands. It doesn't matter what other land types the two lands have, as long as one is a Swamp and one is a Forest. Even if one of the lands you sacrifice is both a Swamp and a Forest, you have to sacrifice another land that is a Swamp or a Forest.
  • 10/1/2012: You can sacrifice any land with the land type Swamp or Forest, not just ones named Swamp or Forest. For example, you could sacrifice two Overgrown Tombs.
Printings:
#174 (Eric Deschamps)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Mythic Rare)
English Duel Decks: Izzet vs. Golgari (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Jarad, Lichfürst der Golgari
French Jarad, seigneur liche des Golgari
Italian Jarad, Signore dei Lich Golgari
Spanish Jarad, señor liche golgari
Portuguese Jarad, Senhor Lich dos Golgari
Japanese ゴルガリの死者の王、ジャラド
Simplified Chinese 葛加理巫妖领主贾雷
Russian Джарад, Лорд-Лич Голгари
Traditional Chinese 葛加理巫妖領主賈雷
Korean 골가리의 리치 군주 자라드


all prints in all languages

Nath of the Gilt-Leaf Nath of the Gilt-Leaf English

Legendary Creature — Elf Warrior 4/4, 3BG (5)

At the beginning of your upkeep, you may have target opponent discard a card at random.

Whenever an opponent discards a card, you may put a 1/1 green Elf Warrior creature token onto the battlefield.

A savage hunter with a prince's bearing.

Illus. Kev Walker

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#250 (Kev Walker)

Editions:
English Lorwyn (Rare)

Languages:
German Nath aus dem Güldenlaubwald
French Narth de Feuilledor
Italian Nath di Foglia Dorata
Spanish Nath de Hojas Doradas
Portuguese Nath de Folha D'Ouro
Japanese 光り葉のナース
Simplified Chinese 金叶的纳斯
Russian Нат из Златолесья
Traditional Chinese 金葉的納斯


all prints in all languages

Sapling of Colfenor Sapling of Colfenor English

Legendary Creature — Treefolk Shaman 2/5, 3{B/G}{B/G} (5)

Indestructible

Whenever Sapling of Colfenor attacks, reveal the top card of your library. If it's a creature card, you gain life equal to that card's toughness, lose life equal to its power, then put it into your hand.

Her plans may yet bear fruit.

Illus. John Avon

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/1/2008: The triggered ability results in three sequential events: you gain some life (subject to effects that might alter life gain), then lose some life (subject to other effects that might alter life loss), and then put the card into your hand.
  • 8/1/2008: If a creature card has "*" in its power or toughness, the ability that defines "*" works in all zones. Note that the card is in your library when Sapling of Colfenor's ability checks the card's power and toughness.
  • 8/1/2008: If the revealed card is not a creature card, it remains on top of your library.
  • 1/1/2014: Lethal damage and effects that say "destroy" won't cause Sapling of Colfenor to be put into the graveyard. However, Sapling of Colfenor could be put into the graveyard if its toughness becomes 0 or less, if it's sacrificed, or if you control another Sapling of Colfenor (due to the "legend rule").
Printings:
#128 (John Avon)

Editions:
English Eventide (Rare)

Languages:
German Colfenors Sprössling
French Arbrisseau de Colfénor
Italian Talea di Colfenor
Spanish Retoño de Cólfenor
Portuguese Muda de Colfenor
Japanese コルフェノールの若木
Simplified Chinese 柯芬诺幼苗
Russian Саженец Колфенора


all prints in all languages

Savra, Queen of the Golgari Savra, Queen of the Golgari English

Legendary Creature — Elf Shaman 2/2, 2BG (4)

Whenever you sacrifice a black creature, you may pay 2 life. If you do, each other player sacrifices a creature.

Whenever you sacrifice a green creature, you may gain 2 life.

"Nature's most raw beauty is the circle: perfect in its continuance, with no break between death and life."

Illus. Scott M. Fischer

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2005: These abilities trigger specifically when you "sacrifice" a creature. They won't trigger when a creature is put into your graveyard for any other reason.
  • 10/1/2005: Savra itself doesn't let you sacrifice creatures, and you can't sacrifice them spontaneously. You must have another spell or ability that lets you sacrifice creatures.
  • 10/1/2005: Sacrificing a creature that's both black and green will make both abilities trigger. You may put them on the stack in whichever order you want.
Printings:
#225 (Scott M. Fischer)

Editions:
English Ravnica: City of Guilds (Rare)

Languages:
German Savra, Königin der Golgari
French Savra, Reine des Golgari
Italian Savra, Regina dei Golgari
Spanish Savra, reina de los golgari
Portuguese Savra, Rainha dos Golgari
Japanese ゴルガリの女王、サヴラ
Simplified Chinese 葛加理女王撒芙儿
Russian Завра, королева Голгари


all prints in all languages

Sisters of Stone Death Sisters of Stone Death English

Legendary Creature — Gorgon 7/5, 4BBGG (8)

{G}: Target creature blocks Sisters of Stone Death this turn if able.

{B}{G}: Exile target creature blocking or blocked by Sisters of Stone Death.

{2}{B}: Put a creature card exiled with Sisters of Stone Death onto the battlefield under your control.

Illus. Donato Giancola

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2005: The second ability can only exile a creature that's currently blocking or being blocked by Sisters of Stone Death. If Sisters of Stone Death isn't on the battlefield or have been removed from combat, the ability will be countered.
  • 10/1/2005: The third ability can get back any creature card exiled by the second ability, no matter when it was exiled. If a card that's not a creature card (such as Svogthos, the Restless Tomb) was exiled, the third ability can't return it.
Printings:
#231 (Donato Giancola)

Editions:
English Ravnica: City of Guilds (Rare)

Languages:
German Schwestern des steinernen Todes
French Sœurs de la mort de pierre
Italian Sorelle di Pietramorte
Spanish Hermanas de la muerte pétrea
Portuguese Irmãs da Morte Petrificante
Japanese 石の死の姉妹
Simplified Chinese 石化眼姊妹
Russian Сестры каменной смерти


all prints in all languages

Skullbriar, the Walking Grave Skullbriar, the Walking Grave English

Legendary Creature — Zombie Elemental 1/1, BG (2)

Haste

Whenever Skullbriar, the Walking Grave deals combat damage to a player, put a +1/+1 counter on it.

Counters remain on Skullbriar as it moves to any zone other than a player's hand or library.

Illus. Nils Hamm

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/22/2011: Skullbriar will get one +1/+1 counter each time it deals combat damage to a player (including you if its combat damage gets redirected), regardless of how much damage is dealt.
  • 9/22/2011: Skullbriar retains all counters, not just +1/+1 counters.
  • 9/22/2011: The counters that remain on Skullbriar as it changes zones aren't "placed" on Skullbriar. Effects like Doubling Season's and Melira, Sylvok Outcast's won't affect those counters.
  • 9/22/2011: Counters that adjust power and/or toughness affect Skullbriar's power and/or toughness in zones other than the battlefield. For example, a Skullbriar in the command zone with a +1/+1 counter on it will be 2/2.
  • 9/22/2011: Effects that last "for as long as that creature has a [kind of] counter on it," such as Aven Mimeomancer's, stop applying to Skullbriar once it leaves the battlefield. Even though Skullbriar retains the counters, it becomes a new object with no relation to its last existence in its previous zone.
  • 9/22/2011: Skullbriar's last ability only works if it has that ability in the zone it's moving from. For example, with Yixlid Jailer ("Cards in graveyards lose all abilities") on the battlefield, a Skullbriar with a counter on it in a graveyard loses that counter when it's put onto the battlefield. Conversely, that Skullbriar moving from the graveyard to the battlefield would retain that counter if Humility ("All creatures lose all abilities and are 1/1") were on the battlefield; if Skullbriar then left the battlefield with Humility still on the battlefield, it would lose the counter.
  • 9/22/2011: If a card becomes a copy of Skullbriar, counters will remain on that card when it leaves the battlefield (unless it goes to your hand or library). Once it does so, it stops being a copy of Skullbriar, so those counters will cease to exist when that card next changes zones.
Printings:
#227 (Nils Hamm)

Editions:
English Commander (Rare)

Languages:
German Dornenschädel, das wandernde Grab
French Crânebruyère, la Tombe ambulante
Italian Rovoteschio, la Tomba Ambulante
Spanish Craneozarza, la Tumba Andante
Japanese 歩く墓場、髑髏茨


all prints in all languages

Varolz, the Scar-Striped Varolz, the Scar-Striped English

Legendary Creature — Troll Warrior 2/2, 1BG (3)

Each creature card in your graveyard has scavenge. The scavenge cost is equal to its mana cost. (Exile a creature card from your graveyard and pay its mana cost: Put a number of +1/+1 counters equal to that card's power on target creature. Scavenge only as a sorcery.)

Sacrifice another creature: Regenerate Varolz, the Scar-Striped.

Illus. Adam Paquette

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: Exiling the creature card with scavenge is part of the cost of activating the scavenge ability. Once the ability is activated and the cost is paid, it's too late to stop the ability from being activated by trying to remove the creature card from the graveyard.
  • 4/15/2013: While Varolz, the Scar-Striped is on the battlefield, the scavenge cost of a creature card in your graveyard is equal to its mana cost, including any colored mana requirements.
  • 4/15/2013: Abilities that reduce the cost to cast a creature spell or alternative costs you can pay rather than a card's mana cost don't apply to activating a card's scavenge ability.
  • 4/15/2013: The number of counters that a card's scavenge ability puts on a creature is based on the card's power as it last existed in the graveyard.
  • 4/15/2013: If the creature card you scavenge has {X} in its mana cost, X is 0.
  • 4/15/2013: If a creature card has multiple instances of scavenge, you can activate either ability (but not both, as the card will be exiled when you activate one of them). Varolz's ability doesn't affect the scavenge cost of a creature's other scavenge ability.
Printings:
#112 (Adam Paquette)

Editions:
English Dragon's Maze (Rare)

Languages:
German Varolz, der Narbengestreifte
French Varolz, l'escarrifié
Italian Varolz, lo Sfregiato
Spanish Várolz, el escarificado
Portuguese Varolz, the Scar-Striped
Japanese 縞痕のヴァロルズ
Simplified Chinese 痕躯瓦罗兹
Russian Варольц, Изрезанный Шрамами
Traditional Chinese 痕軀瓦羅茲
Korean 흉터 투성이 바롤즈


all prints in all languages

Vhati il-Dal Vhati il-Dal English

Legendary Creature — Human Warrior 3/3, 2BG (4)

{T}: Target creature's power or toughness becomes 1 until end of turn.

"Sir, I just thought . . . ," explained Vhati.
"Don't think," interrupted Greven. "It doesn't suit you."

Illus. Ron Spencer

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/25/2006: You don't choose whether to affect the targeted creature's power or its toughness until the ability resolves.
  • 10/1/2009: You apply power/toughness changing effects in a series of sublayers in the following order: (a) effects from characteristic-defining abilities; (b) effects that set power and/or toughness to a specific number or value; (c) effects that modify power and/or toughness but don't set power and/or toughness to a specific number or value; (d) changes from counters; (e) effects that switch a creature's power and toughness. This card's effect is always applied in (b), which means that effects applied in sublayer (c), (d), or (e) will not be overwritten; they will be applied to the new value.
Printings:
#104 (Ron Spencer)

Editions:
English Time Spiral "Timeshifted" (Special)
English Tempest (Rare)

Languages:
German Vhati il-Dal
French Vhati il-Dal
Italian Vhati il-Dal
Spanish Vhati il-Dal
Portuguese Vhati il-Dal
Japanese ヴァティ・イル=ダル
Simplified Chinese 达奥黜人瓦提
Russian Вати иль-Даль


all prints in all languages

[ 1-10 ] 10 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.