next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-60 ] [ 61-80 ] [ 81-100 ] [ 101-120 ] [ 121-121 ] 121 cards

Accumulated Knowledge Accumulated Knowledge English

Instant, 1U (2)

Draw a card, then draw cards equal to the number of cards named Accumulated Knowledge in all graveyards.

"I have seen and heard much here. There are secrets within secrets. Let me show you." - Takara, to Eladamri

Illus. Randy Gallegos

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: The count does not include the card that is currently resolving. The card does not go to the graveyard until after it is done resolving.
Comment:

8/12 F04

Printings:
#51 (Randy Gallegos)

Editions:
English Friday Night Magic (Special)
English Nemesis (Common)

Languages:
German Gesammeltes Wissen
French Connaissance accumulée
Italian Conoscenza Accumulata
Spanish Conocimiento acumulado
Portuguese Conhecimento Acumulado


all prints in all languages


Arcane Denial Arcane Denial English

Instant, 1U (2)

Counter target spell. Its controller may draw up to two cards at the beginning of the next turn's upkeep.

You draw a card at the beginning of the next turn's upkeep.

Illus. Mark Zug

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/16/2007: The controller of the countered spell doesn't choose how many cards to draw until the relevant ability resolves. The player may draw 0, 1, or 2 cards. He or she chooses the number before drawing any cards.
Printings:
#28 (Mark Zug)

Editions:
English Commander 2013 Edition (Common)
English Alliances (Common)
English MTGO Masters Edition (Common)

Languages:
German Mysteriöse Ablehnung
French Déni des arcanes
Italian Privazione Arcana
Spanish Constricción arcana
Portuguese Contradição Arcana
Japanese 秘儀の否定


all prints in all languages

Argent Mutation Argent Mutation English

Instant, 2U (3)

Target permanent becomes an artifact in addition to its other types until end of turn.

Draw a card.

"My world is corrupted beyond cleansing. I must prevent this from happening to other worlds."
—Karn

Illus. Jana Schirmer & Johannes Voss

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/1/2011: You can target an artifact with Argent Mutation. When it resolves, you'll simply draw a card.
  • 6/1/2011: If the permanent is an illegal target when Argent Mutation tries to resolve, it will be countered and none of its effects will happen. You won't draw a card.
Printings:
#27 (Jana Schirmer & Johannes Voss)

Editions:
English New Phyrexia (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Silberne Mutation
French Mutation de l'argent
Italian Mutazione Argentea
Spanish Mutación argéntea
Portuguese Mutação Argentada
Japanese 銀白の突然変異
Simplified Chinese 银亮异变
Russian Серебристая Мутация
Traditional Chinese 銀亮異變


all prints in all languages

Aura Finesse Aura Finesse English

Instant, U (1)

Attach target Aura you control to target creature.

Draw a card.

"Although armor and auras can be similar, the brains required to use them are worlds apart."
—Zilan, Makindi auramancer

Illus. Howard Lyon

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/15/2010: You may target any Aura you control, and you may target any creature (including one you don't control). Whether the Aura could legally enchant the creature is irrelevant as you're choosing the targets.
  • 6/15/2010: If you target an Aura that's attached to a creature, you may also target the creature it's attached to. Aura Finesse won't cause the Aura to move, but you'll still draw a card when it resolves.
  • 6/15/2010: As Aura Finesse resolves, if the targeted Aura can't legally enchant the targeted creature (for example, because the Aura is red and the creature has protection from red, or because the Aura has "enchant creature you control" and an opponent controls the creature), the spell resolves but the Aura doesn't move. You still draw a card.
  • 6/15/2010: As Aura Finesse resolves, if either target is illegal, the spell resolves but the Aura doesn't move. You still draw a card. If both targets are illegal, Aura Finesse is countered and you don't draw a card.
  • 6/15/2010: You still control the Aura, even if you attach it to a creature you don't control.
Printings:
#54 (Howard Lyon)

Editions:
English Rise of the Eldrazi (Common)

Languages:
German Auren-Finesse
French Finesse d'aura
Italian Finezza dell'Aura
Spanish Sutileza de aura
Portuguese Elegância com Auras
Japanese オーラの術策
Simplified Chinese 灵气巧技
Russian Утонченность Ауры


all prints in all languages

Azorius Charm Azorius Charm English

Instant, WU (2)

Choose one — Creatures you control gain lifelink until end of turn; or draw a card; or put target attacking or blocking creature on top of its owner's library.

"The rules of logic and order have already made the choice for you."
—Isperia

Illus. Zoltan Boros

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2012: Multiple instances of lifelink on the same creature are redundant.
Printings:
#145 (Zoltan Boros)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Azorius-Amulett
French Charme d'Azorius
Italian Talismano Azorius
Spanish Amuleto azorio
Portuguese Amuleto Azorius
Japanese アゾリウスの魔除け
Simplified Chinese 俄佐立护符
Russian Талисман Азориусов
Traditional Chinese 俄佐立護符
Korean 아조리우스 부적


all prints in all languages

Backslide Backslide English

Instant, 1U (2)

Turn target creature with morph face down.

Cycling {U} ({U}, Discard this card: Draw a card.)

Some things are better left unknown.

Illus. Pete Venters

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: Cycling is an activated ability. Effects that interact with activated abilities (such as Stifle or Rings of Brighthearth) will interact with cycling. Effects that interact with spells (such as Remove Soul or Faerie Tauntings) will not.
Printings:
#70 (Pete Venters)

Editions:
English Onslaught (Common)

Languages:
German Rückrutsch
French Récidive
Italian Ricaduta
Spanish Reincidir
Portuguese Cair para Trás


all prints in all languages

Bewilder Bewilder English

Instant, 2U (3)

Target creature gets -3/-0 until end of turn.

Draw a card.

"Teferi snapped his fingers, and the viashino started clucking like a chicken. Silly, yes, but exactly the thing we needed to break the stifling tension."
—Jhoira, master artificer

Illus. Ralph Horsley

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#49 (Ralph Horsley)

Editions:
English Time Spiral (Common)

Languages:
German Durcheinanderbringen
French Ahurissement
Italian Disorientare
Spanish Azorar
Portuguese Desnortear
Japanese 戸惑い
Simplified Chinese 茫然不已
Russian Замешательство


all prints in all languages

Blue Sun's Zenith Blue Sun's Zenith English

Instant, XUUU (3)

Target player draws X cards. Shuffle Blue Sun's Zenith into its owner's library.

"The Origin Query will wait. We must ensure we survive to return to it."—Pelyus, vedalken ordinar

Illus. Izzy

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/1/2011: If this spell is countered, none of its effects occur. In particular, it will go to the graveyard rather than to its owner's library.
  • 6/1/2011: You follow the instructions in order. You won't be able to draw the same Blue Sun's Zenith that you cast.
Printings:
#32 (Izzy)

Editions:
English Commander 2013 Edition (Rare)
English Mirrodin Besieged (Rare)

Languages:
German Zenit der Blauen Sonne
French Zénith de Bleusoleil
Italian Zenit del Sole Blu
Spanish Cenit del sol azul
Portuguese Zênite do Sol Azul
Japanese 青の太陽の頂点
Simplified Chinese 蓝阳当空
Russian Зенит Синего Солнца
Traditional Chinese 藍陽當空


all prints in all languages

Bone to Ash Bone to Ash English

Instant, 2UU (4)

Counter target creature spell.

Draw a card.

"I can think of worse ways to go. On second thought, maybe not."
—Ludevic, necro-alchemist

Illus. Clint Cearley

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/22/2011: If the creature spell is an illegal target (because it's left the stack, for example) when Bone to Ash tries to resolve, Bone to Ash will be countered and none of its effects will happen. You won't draw a card.
  • 1/22/2011: A creature spell that can't be countered by spells and abilities is a legal target for Bone to Ash. The creature spell won't be countered when Bone to Ash resolves, but you'll still draw a card.
Printings:
#29 (Clint Cearley)

Editions:
English Dark Ascension (Common)

Languages:
German Knochen zu Asche
French Os en cendres
Italian Ossa in Cenere
Spanish Huesos en cenizas
Portuguese De Ossos a Cinzas
Japanese 骨を灰に
Simplified Chinese 白骨化灰
Russian Из Костей в Прах
Traditional Chinese 白骨化灰
Korean 뼈에서 재로


all prints in all languages

Brainstorm Brainstorm English

Instant, U (1)

Draw three cards, then put two cards from your hand on top of your library in any order.

Illus. Chris Rahn

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: This is all one effect. You draw 3 and return 2 cards all in one resolution. Nothing may happen between the two. If something triggers on drawing cards, it will go on the stack after Brainstorm finishes resolving.
  • Restricted in Vintage (Type 1)
Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#58 (Chris Rahn)

Editions:
English Vintage Masters (Common)
English Conspiracy (Common)
English Duel Decks: Izzet vs. Golgari (Common)
English Commander (Common)
English Coldsnap Theme Decks (Special)
English Friday Night Magic (Special)
English Beatdown Box Set (Special)
English Mercadian Masques (Common)
English Fifth Edition (Common)
English Ice Age (Common)
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Common)

Languages:
German Gedankenwirbel
French Remue-méninges
Italian Tempesta Cerebrale
Spanish Inspiración súbita
Portuguese Tempestade Cerebral
Japanese 渦まく知識
Simplified Chinese 脑力激荡


all prints in all languages


Call to Heel Call to Heel English

Instant, 1U (2)

Return target creature to its owner's hand. Its controller draws a card.

On Bant, a sigil is both a prize of honor and a bond of duty. The one who bears it may be called to fulfill that charge at any moment.

Illus. Randy Gallegos

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: The player who draws a card is the player who controls the creature when Call to Heel resolves. This may not be the player whose hand the creature is put into.
  • 10/1/2008: If the targeted creature becomes an illegal target before Call to Heel resolves, Call to Heel is countered. No one draws a card.
Printings:
#18 (Randy Gallegos)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Izzet vs. Golgari (Common)
English Shards of Alara (Common)

Languages:
German Gewähr bei Fuß
French Appel au devoir
Italian Richiamo all'Obbedienza
Spanish Convocar al deber
Portuguese Chamado à Obediência
Japanese 後追いの呼び声
Simplified Chinese 屈膝号令
Russian Приказ Подчиниться


all prints in all languages

Careful Consideration Careful Consideration English

Instant, 2UU (4)

Target player draws four cards, then discards three cards. If you cast this spell during your main phase, instead that player draws four cards, then discards two cards.

"Sages who take the time to verify their sources are rewarded for their diligence."
—Jhoira, to Teferi

Illus. Janine Johnston

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#37 (Janine Johnston)

Editions:
English Modern Masters (Uncommon)
English Time Spiral (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Sorgfältiges Abwägen
French Attention minutieuse
Italian Attenta Riflessione
Spanish Consideración detallada
Portuguese Consideração Cuidadosa
Japanese 入念な考慮
Simplified Chinese 细心考虑
Russian Внимательное Рассмотрение


all prints in all languages

Catalog Catalog English

Instant, 2U (3)

Draw two cards, then discard a card.

Though those who study are as many as the hairs on an ox, those who succeed are as rare as unicorns' horns.
—Chinese proverb

Illus. Berry

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#65 (Berry)

Editions:
English Eighth Edition (Common)
English Urza's Saga (Common)

Languages:
German Katalog
French Catalogue
Italian Catalogare
Spanish Catalogar
Portuguese Catalogar


all prints in all languages

Cerebral Vortex Cerebral Vortex English

Instant, 1UR (3)

Target player draws two cards, then Cerebral Vortex deals damage to that player equal to the number of cards he or she has drawn this turn.

Izzet brains and Izzet boilers: contents under pressure.

Illus. Jeremy Jarvis

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#107 (Jeremy Jarvis)

Editions:
English Guildpact (Rare)

Languages:
German Gehirnstrudel
French Vortex cérébral
Italian Vortice Cerebrale
Spanish Vórtice cerebral
Portuguese Vórtice Cerebral
Japanese 脳髄の渦
Simplified Chinese 脑力漩涡
Russian Церебральный вихрь


all prints in all languages

Cerulean Wisps Cerulean Wisps English

Instant, U (1)

Target creature becomes blue until end of turn. Untap that creature.

Draw a card.

"If you see ghostly lights by the river, eat three twigs of marshroot to ward off kelpies."
—Kithkin superstition

Illus. Jim Nelson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2008: An effect that changes a permanent's colors overwrites all its old colors unless it specifically says "in addition to its other colors." For example, after Cerulean Wisps resolves, the affected creature will just be blue. It doesn't matter what colors it used to be (even if, for example, it used to be blue and black).
  • 5/1/2008: Changing a permanent's color won't change its text. If you turn Wilt-Leaf Liege blue, it will still affect green creatures and white creatures.
  • 5/1/2008: Colorless is not a color.
Printings:
#31 (Jim Nelson)

Editions:
English Shadowmoor (Common)

Languages:
German Himmelshauch
French Feux céruléens
Italian Fuochi Fatui Cerulei
Spanish Centellas cerúleas
Portuguese Fogo-Fátuo Azulado
Japanese たなびく紺碧
Simplified Chinese 蔚蓝鬼火
Russian Небесно-Голубые Огоньки
Traditional Chinese Cerulean Wisps


all prints in all languages

Choking Tethers Choking Tethers English

Instant, 3U (4)

Tap up to four target creatures.

Cycling {1}{U} ({1}{U}, Discard this card: Draw a card.)

When you cycle Choking Tethers, you may tap target creature.

Illus. Carl Critchlow

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: Cycling is an activated ability. Effects that interact with activated abilities (such as Stifle or Rings of Brighthearth) will interact with cycling. Effects that interact with spells (such as Remove Soul or Faerie Tauntings) will not.
  • 10/1/2008: When you cycle this card, first the cycling ability goes on the stack, then the triggered ability goes on the stack on top of it. The triggered ability will resolve before you draw a card from the cycling ability.
  • 10/1/2008: The cycling ability and the triggered ability are separate. If the triggered ability is countered (with Stifle, for example, or if all its targets have become illegal), the cycling ability will still resolve and you'll draw a card.
  • 10/1/2008: You can cycle this card even if there are no targets for the triggered ability. That's because the cycling ability itself has no targets.
Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#59 (Carl Critchlow)

Editions:
English Vintage Masters (Common)
English Onslaught (Common)

Languages:
German Würgende Ketten
French Chaînes étrangleuses
Italian Pastoie Soffocanti
Spanish Cadenas asfixiantes
Portuguese Correntes Sufocantes


all prints in all languages


Clairvoyance Clairvoyance English

Instant, U (1)

Look at target player's hand.

Draw a card at the beginning of the next turn's upkeep.

"As we followed the ice wall, we had the distinct feeling of being watched. Many of the party wanted to turn back."
—Disa the Restless, journal entry

Illus. Ken Meyer, Jr.

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#63 (Ken Meyer, Jr.)

Editions:
English Ice Age (Common)

Languages:
German Hellsichtigkeit
French Clairvoyance
Italian Chiaroveggenza
Spanish Clarividencia
Portuguese Clarividência


all prints in all languages

Complicate Complicate English

Instant, 2U (3)

Counter target spell unless its controller pays {3}.

Cycling {2}{U} ({2}{U}, Discard this card: Draw a card.)

When you cycle Complicate, you may counter target spell unless its controller pays {1}.

Illus. Scott M. Fischer

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: Cycling is an activated ability. Effects that interact with activated abilities (such as Stifle or Rings of Brighthearth) will interact with cycling. Effects that interact with spells (such as Remove Soul or Faerie Tauntings) will not.
  • 10/1/2008: When you cycle this card, first the cycling ability goes on the stack, then the triggered ability goes on the stack on top of it. The triggered ability will resolve before you draw a card from the cycling ability.
  • 10/1/2008: The cycling ability and the triggered ability are separate. If the triggered ability is countered (with Stifle, for example, or if all its targets have become illegal), the cycling ability will still resolve and you'll draw a card.
  • 10/1/2008: You can cycle this card even if there are no targets for the triggered ability. That's because the cycling ability itself has no targets.
Printings:
#76 (Scott M. Fischer)

Editions:
English Onslaught (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Verkomplizieren
French Complication
Italian Complicare
Spanish Complicar
Portuguese Complicar


all prints in all languages

Confound Confound English

Instant, 1U (2)

Counter target spell that targets one or more creatures.

Draw a card.

"Did I know Szat would betray us?" Urza asked quizzically. "I was counting on it."

Illus. Doug Chaffee

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: Confound is countered on resolution if the targeted spell has been countered or does not still target one or more permanents that are still creatures and are still on the battlefield. Confound is different from other such spells in that it actually specifies that the spell must target a creature, not just be able to target a creature or that the spell has a certain number of targets.
Printings:
#22 (Doug Chaffee)

Editions:
English Planeshift (Common)

Languages:
German Durcheinander
French Confusion
Italian Stupire
Spanish Embrollar
Portuguese Confundir


all prints in all languages

Constricting Tendrils Constricting Tendrils English

Instant, U (1)

Target creature gets -3/-0 until end of turn.

Cycling {2} ({2}, Discard this card: Draw a card.)

Priests of Bant protect their temples with traps more elaborate than any mosaic floor.

Illus. David Palumbo

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: Cycling is an activated ability. Effects that interact with activated abilities (such as Stifle or Rings of Brighthearth) will interact with cycling. Effects that interact with spells (such as Remove Soul or Faerie Tauntings) will not.
Printings:
#22 (David Palumbo)

Editions:
English Conflux (Common)

Languages:
German Einengende Ranken
French Vrilles étrécissantes
Italian Tentacoli Intrappolanti
Spanish Zarcillos asfixiantes
Portuguese Gavinhas Constritivas
Japanese 押さえつける触手
Simplified Chinese 束缚卷须
Russian Удушающие Щупальца


all prints in all languages

next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-60 ] [ 61-80 ] [ 81-100 ] [ 101-120 ] [ 121-121 ] 121 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.