[ 1-4 ] 4 cards

Thornscape Apprentice Thornscape Apprentice English

Creature — Human Wizard 1/1, G (1)

{R}, {T}: Target creature gains first strike until end of turn.

{W}, {T}: Tap target creature.

Illus. Randy Gallegos

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#37 (Randy Gallegos)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Phyrexia vs. The Coalition (Common)
English Invasion (Common)

Languages:
German Lehrling des Dornenpfads
French Apprenti spinosophe
Italian Apprendista Spinologo
Spanish Aprendiz Escapaespina
Portuguese Aprendiz de Thornscape
Japanese 荊景学院の弟子


all prints in all languages

Thornscape Battlemage Thornscape Battlemage English

Creature — Elf Wizard 2/2, 2G (3)

Kicker {R} and/or {W} (You may pay an additional {R} and/or {W} as you cast this spell.)

When Thornscape Battlemage enters the battlefield, if it was kicked with its {R} kicker, it deals 2 damage to target creature or player.

When Thornscape Battlemage enters the battlefield, if it was kicked with its {W} kicker, destroy target artifact.

Illus. Matt Cavotta

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#42 (Matt Cavotta)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Phyrexia vs. The Coalition (Uncommon)
English Time Spiral "Timeshifted" (Special)
English Planeshift (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Kampfmagier des Dornenpfads
French Mage de bataille spinosophe
Italian Mago Combattente Spinologo
Spanish Maga de guerra Escapaespina
Portuguese Mago de Batalha de Thornscape
Japanese 荊景学院の戦闘魔道士
Simplified Chinese 荆景院战法术师
Russian Лесной Боевой Маг


all prints in all languages

Thornscape Familiar Thornscape Familiar English

Creature — Insect 2/1, 1G (2)

Red spells and white spells you cast cost {1} less to cast.

Blessed with many options, Thornscape masters favor scarabs as familiars.

Illus. Heather Hudson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: If a spell is both red and white, you pay {1} less, not {2} less.
  • 10/4/2004: The generic X cost is still considered generic even if there is a requirement that a specific color be used for it. For example, “only black mana can be spent this way”. This distinction is important for effects which reduce the generic portion of a spell’s cost.
  • 10/4/2004: This can lower the cost to zero, but not below zero.
  • 10/4/2004: The effect is cumulative.
  • 10/4/2004: The lower cost is not optional like with some other cost reducers.
  • 10/4/2004: Can never affect the colored part of the cost.
  • 10/4/2004: If this card is sacrificed to pay part of a spell’s cost, the cost reduction still applies.
Printings:
#95 (Heather Hudson)

Editions:
English Planeshift (Common)

Languages:
German Vertrauter des Dornenpfads
French Familier spinosophe
Italian Famiglio Spinologo
Spanish Familiar Escapaespina
Portuguese Familiar de Thornscape


all prints in all languages

Thornscape Master Thornscape Master English

Creature — Human Wizard 2/2, 2GG (4)

{R}{R}, {T}: Thornscape Master deals 2 damage to target creature.

{W}{W}, {T}: Target creature gains protection from the color of your choice until end of turn.

Illus. Larry Elmore

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#216 (Larry Elmore)

Editions:
English Invasion (Rare)

Languages:
German Meister des Dornenpfads
French Maître spinosophe
Italian Maestro Spinologo
Spanish Maestro Escapaespina
Portuguese Mestre de Thornscape


all prints in all languages

[ 1-4 ] 4 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.