Carven Caryatid Ravnica: City of Guilds Civic Wayfinder

Chord of Calling Chord of Calling English

Instant, XGGG (3)

Convoke (Your creatures can help cast this spell. Each creature you tap while casting this spell pays for {1} or one mana of that creature's color.)

Search your library for a creature card with converted mana cost X or less and put it onto the battlefield. Then shuffle your library.

Illus. Heather Hudson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/18/2014: The rules for convoke have changed slightly since it last appeared in an expansion. Previously, convoke reduced the cost to cast a spell. Under current rules, you tap creatures at the same time you pay the spell’s costs. Tapping a creature this way is simply another way to pay.
  • 7/18/2014: Convoke doesn’t change a spell’s mana cost or converted mana cost.
  • 7/18/2014: When calculating a spell’s total cost, include any alternative costs, additional costs, or anything else that increases or reduces the cost to cast the spell. Convoke applies after the total cost is calculated.
  • 7/18/2014: Because convoke isn’t an alternative cost, it can be used in conjunction with alternative costs.
  • 7/18/2014: Tapping a multicolored creature using convoke will pay for {1} or one mana of your choice of any of that creature’s colors.
  • 7/18/2014: When using convoke to cast a spell with {X} in its mana cost, first choose the value for X. That choice, plus any cost increases or decreases, will determine the spell’s total cost. Then you can tap creatures you control to help pay that cost. For example, if you cast Chord of Calling (a spell with convoke and mana cost {X}{G}{G}{G}) and choose X to be 3, the total cost is {3}{G}{G}{G}. If you tap two green creatures and two red creatures, you’ll have to pay {1}{G}.
  • 7/18/2014: If a creature you control has a mana ability with {tap} in the cost, activating that ability while casting a spell with convoke will result in the creature being tapped when you pay the spell’s costs. You won’t be able to tap it again for convoke. Similarly, if you sacrifice a creature to activate a mana ability while casting a spell with convoke, that creature won’t be on the battlefield when you pay the spell’s costs, so you won’t be able to tap it for convoke.
Printings:
#156 (Heather Hudson)

Editions:
English Magic 2015 (Rare)
English Ravnica: City of Guilds (Rare)

Languages:
German Akkord des Rufes
French Corde d'adjuration
Italian Corda della Convocazione
Spanish Acorde de llamada
Portuguese Acorde do Chamado
Japanese 召喚の調べ
Simplified Chinese 和声召集
Russian Призывный Аккорд
Traditional Chinese 和聲召集
Korean 소환의 화음


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Chord of Calling
View Decks with Chord of Calling
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.