Wildheart Invoker Rise of the Eldrazi Angelheart Vial

Sarkhan the Mad Sarkhan the Mad English

Planeswalker — Sarkhan (Loyalty: 7), 3BR (5)

0: Reveal the top card of your library and put it into your hand. Sarkhan the Mad deals damage to himself equal to that card's converted mana cost.

−2: Target creature's controller sacrifices it, then that player puts a 5/5 red Dragon creature token with flying onto the battlefield.

−4: Each Dragon creature you control deals damage equal to its power to target player.

Illus. Chippy

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/15/2010: Unlike previous planeswalkers, Sarkhan the Mad has no way to raise his loyalty.
  • 6/15/2010: Once the first ability starts to resolve and you reveal the top card of your library (and see how much damage Sarkhan the Mad deals to himself), it's too late to respond.
  • 6/15/2010: The first ability causes Sarkhan to deal damage directly to himself, resulting in that many loyalty counters being removed from him. The damage would never have been dealt to you, so prevention effects that would prevent damage from being dealt to you won't affect it.
  • 6/15/2010: If the targeted creature is an illegal target by the time the second ability resolves, the ability is countered. The player won't get a Dragon token.
  • 6/15/2010: If the targeted creature is a legal target by the time the second ability resolves but its controller can't sacrifice it (due to Tajuru Preserver, perhaps), the ability continues to resolve. That player gets a Dragon token.
  • 6/15/2010: You choose a single target as you activate the third ability. All your Dragons deal damage to that player.
  • 6/15/2010: If you target an opponent with the third ability, you choose separately for each Dragon creature you control whether or not to redirect the damage dealt by that Dragon to a planeswalker that player controls.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers are permanents. You can cast one at the time you could cast a sorcery. When your planeswalker spell resolves, it enters the battlefield under your control.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers are not creatures. Spells and abilities that affect creatures won’t affect them.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers have loyalty. A planeswalker enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to the number printed in its lower right corner. Activating one of its abilities may cause it to gain or lose loyalty counters. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it. If it has no loyalty counters on it, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers each have a number of activated abilities called “loyalty abilities.” You can activate a loyalty ability of a planeswalker you control only at the time you could cast a sorcery and only if you haven’t activated one of that planeswalker’s loyalty abilities yet that turn.
  • 7/1/2013: The cost to activate a planeswalker’s loyalty ability is represented by a symbol with a number inside. Up-arrows contain positive numbers, such as “+1”; this means “Put one loyalty counter on this planeswalker.” Down-arrows contain negative numbers, such as “-7”; this means “Remove seven loyalty counters from this planeswalker.” A symbol with a “0” means “Put zero loyalty counters on this planeswalker.”
  • 7/1/2013: You can’t activate a planeswalker’s ability with a negative loyalty cost unless the planeswalker has at least that many loyalty counters on it.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers can’t attack (unless an effect turns the planeswalker into a creature). However, they can be attacked. Each of your attacking creatures can attack your opponent or a planeswalker that player controls. You say which as you declare attackers.
  • 7/1/2013: If your planeswalkers are being attacked, you can block the attackers as normal.
  • 7/1/2013: If a creature that’s attacking a planeswalker isn’t blocked, it’ll deal its combat damage to that planeswalker. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it.
  • 7/1/2013: If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker that opponent controls instead. For example, although you can’t target a planeswalker with Shock, you can target your opponent with Shock, and then as Shock resolves, choose to have Shock deal its 2 damage to one of your opponent’s planeswalkers. (You can’t split up that damage between different players and/or planeswalkers.) If you have Shock deal its damage to a planeswalker, two loyalty counters are removed from it.
  • 7/1/2013: If a player controls two or more planeswalkers that share a planeswalker type, that player chooses one of them and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action.
Printings:
#214 (Chippy)

Editions:
English Rise of the Eldrazi (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Sarkhan der Verrückte
French Sarkhan le Fou
Italian Sarkhan il Folle
Spanish Sarkhan el loco
Portuguese Sarkhan, o Louco
Japanese 狂乱のサルカン
Simplified Chinese 狂人萨坎
Russian Сархан Безумный


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Sarkhan the Mad
View Decks with Sarkhan the Mad
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.