Coursers' Accord Return to Ravnica Dramatic Rescue

Detention Sphere Detention Sphere English

Enchantment, 1WU (3)

When Detention Sphere enters the battlefield, you may exile target nonland permanent not named Detention Sphere and all other permanents with the same name as that permanent.

When Detention Sphere leaves the battlefield, return the exiled cards to the battlefield under their owner's control.

Illus. Kev Walker

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2012: Although the target of the enters-the-battlefield ability must not be a land, lands with the same name as that permanent will be exiled.
  • 10/1/2012: The enters-the-battlefield ability has only one target. The other permanents with that name aren’t targeted. For example, a permanent with protection from white will be exiled if it has the same name as the target nonland permanent.
  • 10/1/2012: If the target nonland permanent is an illegal target when the enters-the-battlefield ability tries to resolve, it will be countered and none of its effects will happen. No permanents will be exiled, including those with the same name as the target.
  • 10/1/2012: If Detention Sphere leaves the battlefield before its enters-the-battlefield ability has resolved, its leaves-the-battlefield ability will trigger and do nothing. Then the enters-the-battlefield ability will resolve and exile the targeted nonland permanent and other permanents with that name indefinitely.
Printings:
#155 (Kev Walker)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Rare)

Languages:
German Arrestkugel
French Sphère de détention
Italian Sfera di Detenzione
Spanish Esfera de detención
Portuguese Esfera de Detenção
Japanese 拘留の宝球
Simplified Chinese 扣留法球
Russian Сфера Задержания
Traditional Chinese 扣留法球
Korean 억류의 구체


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Detention Sphere
View Decks with Detention Sphere
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.