New Prahv Guildmage Return to Ravnica Niv-Mizzet, Dracogenius

Nivix Guildmage Nivix Guildmage English

Creature — Human Wizard 2/2, UR (2)

{1}{U}{R}: Draw a card, then discard a card.

{2}{U}{R}: Copy target instant or sorcery spell you control. You may choose new targets for the copy.

"The only action worth taking is one with an unknown outcome."

Illus. Scott M. Fischer

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2012: Nivix Guildmage's second ability can target (and copy) any instant or sorcery spell you control, not just one with targets.
  • 10/1/2012: When the second ability resolves, it creates a copy of a spell. That copy is created on the stack, so it's not “cast.” Abilities that trigger when a player casts a spell won't trigger. The copy will then resolve like a normal spell, after players get a chance to cast spells and activate abilities.
  • 10/1/2012: The copy will have the same targets as the spell it's copying unless you choose new ones. You may change any number of the targets, including all of them or none of them. If, for one of the targets, you can't choose a new legal target, then it remains unchanged (even if the current target is illegal).
  • 10/1/2012: If the copied spell is modal (that is, it says “Choose one —” or the like), the copy will have the same mode. You can't choose a different one.
  • 10/1/2012: If the copied spell has an X whose value was determined as it was cast (like Sphinx's Revelation does), the copy has the same value of X.
  • 10/1/2012: You can't choose to pay any additional costs for the copy. However, effects based on any additional or alternative costs that were paid for the original spell are copied as though those same costs were paid for the copy too. For example, if you copy a spell that you cast by paying its overload cost, the copy will resolve as though its overload cost had been paid as well.
Printings:
#182 (Scott M. Fischer)

Editions:
English Commander 2013 Edition (Uncommon)
English Return to Ravnica (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Nivix-Gildenmagier
French Ghildmage de Nivix
Italian Mago della Gilda di Nivix
Spanish Mago del gremio de Nívix
Portuguese Mago de Guilda de Nivix
Japanese ニヴィックスのギルド魔道士
Simplified Chinese 尼米斯公会法师
Russian Маг Гильдии из Нивикса
Traditional Chinese 尼米斯公會法師
Korean 니빅스의 길드 마도사


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Nivix Guildmage
View Decks with Nivix Guildmage
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.