Slitherhead Return to Ravnica Vassal Soul

Sundering Growth Sundering Growth English

Instant, {G/W}{G/W} (2)

Destroy target artifact or enchantment, then populate. (Put a token onto the battlefield that's a copy of a creature token you control.)

"One day every pillar will be a tree and every hall a glade."
—Trostani

Illus. David Palumbo

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2012: You must target an artifact or enchantment to cast Sundering Growth. If that artifact or creature is an illegal target when Sundering Growth tries to resolve, it will be countered and none of its effects will happen. You won't populate.
  • 4/15/2013: You can choose any creature token you control for populate. If a spell or ability puts a token onto the battlefield under your control and then instructs you to populate (as Coursers' Accord does), you may choose to copy the token you just created, or you may choose to copy another creature token you control.
  • 4/15/2013: If you choose to copy a creature token that's a copy of another creature, the new creature token will copy the characteristics of whatever the original token is copying.
  • 4/15/2013: The new creature token copies the characteristics of the original token as stated by the effect that put the original token onto the battlefield.
  • 4/15/2013: The new token doesn't copy whether the original token is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or Auras and Equipment attached to it, or any noncopy effects that have changed its power, toughness, color, and so on.
  • 4/15/2013: Any “as [this creature] enters the battlefield” or “[this creature] enters the battlefield with” abilities of the new token will work.
  • 4/15/2013: If you control no creature tokens when you populate, nothing will happen.
Printings:
#223 (David Palumbo)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Common)

Languages:
German Trennendes Wachstum
French Croissance morceleuse
Italian Crescita Dilaniante
Spanish Crecimiento quebrador
Portuguese Crescimento Despedaçador
Japanese 隔離する成長
Simplified Chinese 破散生长
Russian Разрушающий Рост
Traditional Chinese 破散生長
Korean 분쇄하는 성장


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Sundering Growth
View Decks with Sundering Growth
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.