Doorkeeper Return to Ravnica Faerie Impostor

Downsize Downsize English

Instant, U (1)

Target creature you don't control gets -4/-0 until end of turn.

Overload {2}{U} (You may cast this spell for its overload cost. If you do, change its text by replacing all instances of "target" with "each.")

Illus. Ryan Pancoast

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: If you don’t pay the overload cost of a spell, that spell will have a single target. If you pay the overload cost, the spell won’t have any targets.
  • 4/15/2013: Because a spell with overload doesn’t target when its overload cost is paid, it may affect permanents with hexproof or with protection from the appropriate color.
  • 4/15/2013: Note that if the spell with overload is dealing damage, protection from that spell’s color will still prevent that damage.
  • 4/15/2013: Overload doesn’t change when you can cast the spell.
  • 4/15/2013: Casting a spell with overload doesn’t change that spell’s mana cost. You just pay the overload cost instead.
  • 4/15/2013: Effects that cause you to pay more or less for a spell will cause you to pay that much more or less while casting it for its overload cost, too.
  • 4/15/2013: If you are instructed to cast a spell with overload “without paying its mana cost,” you can’t choose to pay its overload cost instead.
Printings:
#38 (Ryan Pancoast)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Common)

Languages:
German Zusammenschrumpfen
French Rapetissement
Italian Restringere
Spanish Mermar
Portuguese Diminuição
Japanese 圧縮
Simplified Chinese 压缩尺寸
Russian Ужимание
Traditional Chinese 壓縮尺寸
Korean 감축


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Downsize
View Decks with Downsize
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.