Avenging Arrow Return to Ravnica Azorius Justiciar

Azorius Arrester Azorius Arrester English

Creature — Human Soldier 2/1, 1W (2)

When Azorius Arrester enters the battlefield, detain target creature an opponent controls. (Until your next turn, that creature can't attack or block and its activated abilities can't be activated.)

"You have the right to remain silent. Mostly because I tire of your excuses."

Illus. Wayne Reynolds

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: Activated abilities include a colon and are written in the form “[cost]: [effect].” No one can activate any activated abilities, including mana abilities, of a detained permanent.
  • 4/15/2013: The static abilities of a detained permanent still apply. The triggered abilities of a detained permanent can still trigger.
  • 4/15/2013: If a creature is already attacking or blocking when it's detained, it won't be removed from combat. It will continue to attack or block.
  • 4/15/2013: If a permanent's activated ability is on the stack when that permanent is detained, the ability will be unaffected.
  • 4/15/2013: If a noncreature permanent is detained and later turns into a creature, it won't be able to attack or block.
  • 4/15/2013: When a player leaves a multiplayer game, any continuous effects with durations that last until that player's next turn or until a specific point in that turn will last until that turn would have begun. They neither expire immediately nor last indefinitely.
Printings:
#5 (Wayne Reynolds)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Common)

Languages:
German Azorius-Eintreiberin
French Courtière d'Azorius
Italian Polizia Azorius
Spanish Encarceladora azoria
Portuguese Encarceradora Azorius
Japanese アゾリウスの拘引者
Simplified Chinese 俄佐立逮捕人
Russian Задержатель Азориусов
Traditional Chinese 俄佐立逮捕人
Korean 아조리우스 체포원


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Azorius Arrester
View Decks with Azorius Arrester
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.