Juvenile Gloomwidow Shadowmoor Mossbridge Troll

Mana Reflection Mana Reflection English

Enchantment, 4GG (6)

If you tap a permanent for mana, it produces twice as much of that mana instead.

Despite its darkness, Shadowmoor doesn't want for growth. Legions of creeping things thrive in the shade.

Illus. Terese Nielsen & Ron Spencer

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2008: You're "tapping a permanent for mana" only if you're activating an activated ability of that permanent that includes the {T} symbol in its cost and produces mana as part of its effect.
  • 5/1/2008: Mana Reflection affects any permanent you tap for mana, not just lands you tap for mana.
  • 5/1/2008: Mana Reflection doesn't produce any mana itself. Rather, it causes permanents you tap for mana to produce more mana. (This is different than seemingly similar cards like Heartbeat of Spring and Gauntlet of Power.) If the permanent puts any restrictions or riders on the mana it produces, as Pillar of the Paruns and Hall of the Bandit Lord do, that will apply to all the mana it produces this way.
  • 5/1/2008: Mana Reflection doesn't cause permanents you tap for mana to produce one extra mana -- rather, it doubles the type and amount of mana that permanent would produce. For example, if you tap Mystic Gate for {W}{U}, it will produce {W}{W}{U}{U} instead.
  • 5/1/2008: The effects of multiple Mana Reflections are cumulative. For example, if you have three Mana Reflections on the battlefield, you'll get eight times the original amount and type of mana.
  • 5/1/2008: If you have Mana Reflection on the battlefield and tap a permanent for mana, but another replacement effect would change the type and/or amount of mana it would produce (such as Contamination, which says "If a land is tapped for mana, it produces {B} instead of any other type and amount"), you decide what order to apply those effects in. In this example, applying Mana Reflection first and Contamination second would result in {B}; applying Contamination first and Mana Reflection second would result in {B}{B}.
Printings:
#122 (Terese Nielsen & Ron Spencer)

Editions:
English Shadowmoor (Rare)

Languages:
German Manaspiegelung
French Réverbération de mana
Italian Riflesso di Mana
Spanish Reflejo de maná
Portuguese Reflexo de Mana
Japanese マナの反射
Simplified Chinese 魔力映象
Russian Отражение Маны
Traditional Chinese Mana Reflection


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Mana Reflection
View Decks with Mana Reflection
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.