Spiteful Visions Shadowmoor Traitor's Roar

Torrent of Souls Torrent of Souls English

Sorcery, 4{B/R} (5)

Return up to one target creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield if {B} was spent to cast Torrent of Souls. Creatures target player controls get +2/+0 and gain haste until end of turn if {R} was spent to cast Torrent of Souls. (Do both if {B}{R} was spent.)

Illus. Ian Edward Ameling

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2008: The spell cares about what mana was spent to pay its total cost, not just what mana was spent to pay the hybrid part of its cost.
  • 5/1/2008: The spell checks on resolution to see if any mana of the stated colors was spent to pay its cost. If so, it doesn't matter how much mana of that color was spent.
  • 5/1/2008: If the spell is copied, the copy will never have had mana of the stated color paid for it, no matter what colors were spent on the original spell.
  • 5/1/2008: When you cast the spell, you choose its targets before you pay for it.
  • 5/1/2008: The effects of the spell happen in order. If you spent both {B} and {R} to cast Torrent of Souls, first you'll return a creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield, then all creatures the target player controls -- including the one you just returned if that player is you -- will get +2/+0 and gain haste until end of turn.
#199 (Ian Edward Ameling)

English Duel Decks: Sorin vs. Tibalt (Uncommon)
English Archenemy (Uncommon)
English Shadowmoor (Uncommon)

German Sturzbach aus Seelen
French Torrent d'âmes
Italian Torrente delle Anime
Spanish Torrente de almas
Portuguese Torrente de Almas
Japanese 魂魄流
Simplified Chinese 灵魂奔流
Russian Поток Душ
Traditional Chinese Torrent of Souls

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Torrent of Souls
View Decks with Torrent of Souls
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.