Ember Gale Shadowmoor Furystoke Giant

Flame Javelin Flame Javelin English

Instant, {2/R}{2/R}{2/R} (6)

({2/R} can be paid with any two mana or with {R}. This card's converted mana cost is 6.)

Flame Javelin deals 4 damage to target creature or player.

Gyara Spearhurler would have been renowned for her deadly accuracy, if it weren't for her deadly accuracy.

Illus. Trevor Hairsine

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2008: If an effect reduces the cost to cast a spell by an amount of generic mana, it applies to a monocolored hybrid spell only if you've chosen a method of paying for it that includes generic mana.
  • 5/1/2008: A card with a monocolored hybrid mana symbol in its mana cost is each of the colors that appears in its mana cost, regardless of what mana was spent to cast it. Thus, Flame Javelin is red even if you spend six green mana to cast it.
  • 5/1/2008: A card with monocolored hybrid mana symbols in its mana cost has a converted mana cost equal to the highest possible cost it could be cast for. Its converted mana cost never changes. Thus, Flame Javelin has a converted mana cost of 6, even if you spend {R}{R}{R} to cast it.
  • 5/1/2008: If a cost includes more than one monocolored hybrid mana symbol, you can choose a different way to pay for each symbol. For example, you can pay for Flame Javelin by spending {R}{R}{R}, {2}{R}{R}, {4}{R}, or {6}.
Printings:
#92 (Trevor Hairsine)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Sorin vs. Tibalt (Uncommon)
English Duel Decks: Jace vs. Chandra (Uncommon)
English Shadowmoor (Uncommon)
English Magic Player Rewards (Special)

Languages:
German Flammenspeer
French Javelot de flammes
Italian Giavellotto Infuocato
Spanish Jabalina de llamas
Portuguese Azagaia Ardente
Japanese 炎の投げ槍
Simplified Chinese 火焰标枪
Russian Пламенное Копье
Traditional Chinese Flame Javelin


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Flame Javelin
View Decks with Flame Javelin
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.