Sip of Hemlock Theros Tormented Hero

Thoughtseize Thoughtseize English

Sorcery, B (1)

Target player reveals his or her hand. You choose a nonland card from it. That player discards that card. You lose 2 life.

"Knowledge is such a burden. Release it. Release all your fears to me."
—Ashiok, Nightmare Weaver

Illus. Lucas Graciano

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/15/2013: The loss of life is part of the spell’s effect. It’s not an additional cost. If Thoughtseize is countered, you won’t lose life.
  • 1/1/2014: If you target yourself with this spell, you must reveal your entire hand to the other players just as any other player would.
Printings:
#107 (Lucas Graciano)

Editions:
English Theros (Rare)
English Lorwyn (Rare)

Languages:
German Gedankenergreifung
French Saisie des pensées
Italian Rubapensieri
Spanish Confiscar pensamientos
Portuguese Capturar Pensamento
Japanese 思考囲い
Simplified Chinese 攫取思绪
Russian Уловить Мысль
Traditional Chinese 攫取思緒
Korean 지식의 강탈


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Thoughtseize
View Decks with Thoughtseize
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.