Swan Song Theros Thassa's Bounty

Thassa, God of the Sea Thassa, God of the Sea English

Legendary Enchantment Creature — God 5/5, 2U (3)

Indestructible

As long as your devotion to blue is less than five, Thassa isn't a creature. (Each {U} in the mana costs of permanents you control counts toward your devotion to blue.)

At the beginning of your upkeep, scry 1.

{1}{U}: Target creature you control can't be blocked this turn.

Illus. Jason Chan

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/15/2013: Activating Thassa’s last ability after the target creature has been blocked won’t change or undo the block.
  • 9/15/2013: Numeric mana symbols ({0}, {1}, and so on) in mana costs of permanents you control don’t count toward your devotion to any color.
  • 9/15/2013: Mana symbols in the text boxes of permanents you control don’t count toward your devotion to any color.
  • 9/15/2013: Hybrid mana symbols, monocolored hybrid mana symbols, and Phyrexian mana symbols do count toward your devotion to their color(s).
  • 9/15/2013: If an activated ability or triggered ability has an effect that depends on your devotion to a color, you count the number of mana symbols of that color among the mana costs of permanents you control as the ability resolves. The permanent with that ability will be counted if it’s still on the battlefield at that time.
  • 9/15/2013: When you scry, you may put all the cards you look at back on top of your library, you may put all of those cards on the bottom of your library, or you may put some of those cards on top and the rest of them on the bottom.
  • 9/15/2013: You choose how to order cards returned to your library after scrying no matter where you put them.
  • 9/15/2013: You perform the actions stated on a card in sequence. For some spells and abilities, that means you’ll scry last. For others, that means you’ll scry and then perform other actions.
  • 9/15/2013: Scry appears on some spells and abilities with one or more targets. If all of the spell or ability’s targets are illegal when it tries to resolve, it will be countered and none of its effects will happen. You won’t scry.
  • 9/15/2013: The type-changing ability that can make the God not be a creature functions only on the battlefield. It’s always a creature card in other zones, regardless of your devotion to its color.
  • 9/15/2013: If a God enters the battlefield, your devotion to its color (including the mana symbols in the mana cost of the God itself) will determine if a creature entered the battlefield or not, for abilities that trigger whenever a creature enters the battlefield.
  • 9/15/2013: If a God stops being a creature, it loses the type creature and all creature subtypes. It continues to be a legendary enchantment.
  • 9/15/2013: The abilities of Gods function as long as they’re on the battlefield, regardless of whether they’re creatures.
  • 9/15/2013: If a God is attacking or blocking and it stops being a creature, it will be removed from combat.
  • 9/15/2013: If a God is dealt damage, then stops being a creature, then becomes a creature again later in the same turn, the damage will still be marked on it. This is also true for any effects that were affecting the God when it was originally a creature. (Note that in most cases, the damage marked on the God won’t matter because it has indestructible.)
Printings:
#66 (Jason Chan)

Editions:
English Theros (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Thassa, Göttin der Meere
French Thassa, déesse de la Mer
Italian Thassa, Dea del Mare
Spanish Tassa, diosa del mar
Portuguese Tassa, Deusa do Mar
Japanese 海の神、タッサ
Simplified Chinese 海神塔萨
Russian Тасса, Богиня Моря
Traditional Chinese 海神塔薩
Korean 바다의 신 타사


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Thassa, God of the Sea
View Decks with Thassa, God of the Sea
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.