Disciple of Phenax Theros Erebos's Emissary

Erebos, God of the Dead Erebos, God of the Dead English

Legendary Enchantment Creature — God 5/7, 3B (4)

Indestructible

As long as your devotion to black is less than five, Erebos isn't a creature. (Each {B} in the mana costs of permanents you control counts toward your devotion to black.)

Your opponents can't gain life.

{1}{B}, Pay 2 life: Draw a card.

Illus. Peter Mohrbacher

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/15/2013: Numeric mana symbols ({0}, {1}, and so on) in mana costs of permanents you control don’t count toward your devotion to any color.
  • 9/15/2013: Mana symbols in the text boxes of permanents you control don’t count toward your devotion to any color.
  • 9/15/2013: Hybrid mana symbols, monocolored hybrid mana symbols, and Phyrexian mana symbols do count toward your devotion to their color(s).
  • 9/15/2013: If an activated ability or triggered ability has an effect that depends on your devotion to a color, you count the number of mana symbols of that color among the mana costs of permanents you control as the ability resolves. The permanent with that ability will be counted if it’s still on the battlefield at that time.
  • 9/15/2013: The type-changing ability that can make the God not be a creature functions only on the battlefield. It’s always a creature card in other zones, regardless of your devotion to its color.
  • 9/15/2013: If a God enters the battlefield, your devotion to its color (including the mana symbols in the mana cost of the God itself) will determine if a creature entered the battlefield or not, for abilities that trigger whenever a creature enters the battlefield.
  • 9/15/2013: If a God stops being a creature, it loses the type creature and all creature subtypes. It continues to be a legendary enchantment.
  • 9/15/2013: The abilities of Gods function as long as they’re on the battlefield, regardless of whether they’re creatures.
  • 9/15/2013: If a God is attacking or blocking and it stops being a creature, it will be removed from combat.
  • 9/15/2013: If a God is dealt damage, then stops being a creature, then becomes a creature again later in the same turn, the damage will still be marked on it. This is also true for any effects that were affecting the God when it was originally a creature. (Note that in most cases, the damage marked on the God won’t matter because it has indestructible.)
Printings:
#85 (Peter Mohrbacher)

Editions:
English Theros (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Erebos, Gott der Toten
French Érébos, dieu des Morts
Italian Erebos, Dio dei Morti
Spanish Erebos, dios de los muertos
Portuguese Érebo, Deus dos Mortos
Japanese 死者の神、エレボス
Simplified Chinese 死神厄睿柏斯
Russian Эреб, Бог Мертвых
Traditional Chinese 死神厄睿柏斯
Korean 죽음의 신 에레보스


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Erebos, God of the Dead
View Decks with Erebos, God of the Dead
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.