Yawgmoth's Edict Urza's Saga Acidic Soil

Yawgmoth's Will Yawgmoth's Will English

Sorcery, 2B (3)

Until end of turn, you may play cards from your graveyard.

If a card would be put into your graveyard from anywhere this turn, exile that card instead.

Illus. Ron Spencer

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: The second ability creates a replacement effect. It applies to both costs and effects.
  • 10/4/2004: If you cast a Buyback spell, then there will be two effects trying to replace where the card goes. You get to choose if the Buyback returns the card to your hand or the card gets exiled.
  • 10/4/2004: If an effect asks you to discard a card, you can't "discard" something that is in your graveyard. Those cards are not in your hand. Thus, Cycling abilities of cards in the graveyard can't be activated.
  • 10/4/2004: It will exile itself since it goes to the graveyard after its effect starts.
  • 10/4/2004: If you play a card using Yawgmoth's Will and something triggers only when "cast from your hand", that something will not trigger. Such things trigger based on where the card came from.
  • 10/4/2004: To "play a card" is to either cast a spell or to put a land onto the battlefield using the main phase special action.
  • 10/15/2006: You cannot Suspend a card from your graveyard, only your hand.
  • Restricted in Vintage (Type 1)
  • Banned in Legacy (Type 1.5)
  • Restricted in Classic (MTGO)
Printings:
#171 (Ron Spencer)

Editions:
English Urza's Saga (Rare)
English Judge Gift Program (Special)

Languages:
German Yawgmoths Wille
French Volonté de Yaugzebul
Italian Volontà di Yawgmoth
Spanish Voluntad de Yawgmoth
Portuguese Determinação de Yawgmoth


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Yawgmoth's Will
View Decks with Yawgmoth's Will
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.