Aku Djinn Visions Brood of Cockroaches

Blanket of Night Blanket of Night English

Enchantment, 1BB (3)

Each land is a Swamp in addition to its other land types.

"Kaervek imprisoned Mangara out of jealousy, but he taints Jamuraa simply out of spite."
—Asmira, Holy Avenger

Illus. Cliff Nielsen

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: The land can now be tapped for black mana in addition to any other abilities it already has. This works just as if the text "{Tap}: Add {B} to your mana pool" was added to each mana-producing land. In other words, the land can be tapped for its own ability _or_ it can be tapped for black mana. Not both.
  • 10/4/2004: Whether the land is a basic land or not is unchanged by this effect.
  • 10/4/2004: More than one Blanket of Night has no meaningful additional effect.
  • 10/4/2004: Anything which counts the number of Swamps on the battlefield will not double count an actual Swamp card while Blanket of Night is on the battlefield.
  • 10/4/2004: It can affect lands which do not produce mana.
  • 10/4/2004: The lands do not get the name "Swamp" in addition to their current name. This is a reversal of older rulings.
  • 10/4/2004: The ability is a land type change effect so it is ordered along with other land type change effects in the order they entered the battlefield.
  • 10/15/2006: If this effect is applied to a snow land, the land is now a snow Swamp and not just a regular Swamp.
Printings:
#2 (Cliff Nielsen)

Editions:
English Visions (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Schleier der Nacht
French Couvert de la nuit
Italian Manto della Notte
Spanish Manto de la noche
Portuguese Manto da Noite


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Blanket of Night
View Decks with Blanket of Night
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.