Shattered Crypt Weatherlight Strands of Night

Spinning Darkness Spinning Darkness English

Instant, 4BB (6)

You may exile the top three black cards of your graveyard rather than pay Spinning Darkness's mana cost.

Spinning Darkness deals 3 damage to target nonblack creature. You gain 3 life.

Illus. John Coulthart

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/1/2008: The “top” card of your graveyard is the card that was put there most recently.
  • 4/1/2008: Players may not rearrange the cards in their graveyards. This is a little-known rule because new cards that care about graveyard order haven’t been printed in years.
  • 4/1/2008: If an effect or rule puts two or more cards into the same graveyard at the same time, the owner of those cards may arrange them in any order.
  • 4/1/2008: The last thing that happens to a resolving instant or sorcery spell is that it’s put into its owner’s graveyard. —Example: You cast Wrath of God. All creatures on the battlefield are destroyed. You arrange all the cards put into your graveyard this way in any order you want. The other players in the game do the same to the cards that are put into their graveyards. Then you put Wrath of God into your graveyard, on top of the other cards.
  • 4/1/2008: Say you’re the owner of both a permanent and an Aura that’s attached to it. If both the permanent and the Aura are destroyed at the same time (by Akroma's Vengeance, for example), you decide the order they’re put into your graveyard. If just the enchanted permanent is destroyed, it’s put into your graveyard first. Then, after state-based actions are checked, the Aura (which is no longer attached to anything) is put into your graveyard on top of it.
Printings:
#23 (John Coulthart)

Editions:
English Weatherlight (Common)

Languages:
German Wirbelnde Dunkelheit
French Obscurité tourbillonnante
Italian Vortice di Tenebre
Spanish Vorágine de oscuridad
Portuguese Escuridão Giratória


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Spinning Darkness
View Decks with Spinning Darkness
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.