Phantom Wings Weatherlight Relearn

Psychic Vortex Psychic Vortex English

Enchantment, 2UU (4)

Cumulative upkeep—Draw a card. (At the beginning of your upkeep, put an age counter on this permanent, then sacrifice it unless you pay its upkeep cost for each age counter on it.)

At the beginning of your end step, sacrifice a land and discard your hand.

"Tolaria floats upon a wheel of fortune."
—Ertai, wizard adept

Illus. Steve Luke

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/1/2008: Psychic Vortex’s cumulative upkeep ability has you draw cards as a cost. If you choose to do so, and some or all of those draws are replaced by replacement effects, you are still considered to have paid the cumulative upkeep cost.
  • 4/1/2008: You may choose to draw cards to pay the cumulative upkeep cost even if the number of cards you’d have to draw exceeds the number of cards in your library. If enough of those draws are replaced by replacement effects so you don’t actually attempt to draw a card with an empty library, everything’s fine. However, if you do attempt to draw a card with an empty library this way, Psychic Vortex will remain on the battlefield but you’ll lose the game as a state-based action as soon as the cumulative upkeep ability finishes resolving.
Printings:
#50 (Steve Luke)

Editions:
English Weatherlight (Rare)

Languages:
German Gedankenstrudel
French Vortex psychique
Italian Vortice Psichico
Spanish Vórtice psíquico
Portuguese Vórtice Psíquico


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Psychic Vortex
View Decks with Psychic Vortex
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.