Liliana of the Veil World Magic Cup Qualifiers

Snapcaster Mage Snapcaster Mage English

Creature — Human Wizard 2/1, 1U (2)


When Snapcaster Mage enters the battlefield, target instant or sorcery card in your graveyard gains flashback until end of turn. The flashback cost is equal to its mana cost. (You may cast that card from your graveyard for its flashback cost. Then exile it.)

Illus. Joseph Meehan

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/22/2011: If the targeted instant or sorcery card already has flashback, you may use either flashback ability to cast it from your graveyard.
  • 10/1/2012: You can’t pay other alternative costs of a card you’re casting from your graveyard using flashback. For example, if the instant or sorcery has an overload cost, you can’t pay that cost.
  • 7/1/2013: For split cards, you pay only the cost for the half of the card you are casting. This is true because the cost is not looked at until after the card is on the stack, at which time it only has one of the two costs.

Regional PTQ 2016

#5 (Joseph Meehan)

English Modern Masters 2017 Edition (Mythic Rare)
English Innistrad (Rare)
English World Magic Cup Qualifiers (Special)

German Schnellzauberer
French Mage lancevif
Italian Mago Lanciorapido
Spanish Mago lanzachasquidos
Portuguese Mago da Conjuração-relâmpago
Japanese 瞬唱の魔道士
Simplified Chinese 迅咒法师
Russian Маг Молниеносных Заклинаний
Traditional Chinese 迅咒法師

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Snapcaster Mage
View Decks with Snapcaster Mage
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.