Wind Zendikon Worldwake Agadeem Occultist

Abyssal Persecutor Abyssal Persecutor English

Creature — Demon 6/6, 2BB (4)

Flying, trample

You can't win the game and your opponents can't lose the game.

His slaves crave death more than they desire freedom. He denies them both.

Illus. Chippy

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 3/1/2010: No game effect can cause you to win the game or cause any opponent to lose the game while you control Abyssal Persecutor. It doesn't matter whether an opponent has 0 or less life, an opponent is forced to draw a card while his or her library is empty, an opponent has ten or more poison counters, an opponent is dealt combat damage by Phage the Untouchable, you control Felidar Sovereign and have 40 or more life, or so on. You keep playing.
  • 3/1/2010: Other circumstances can still cause an opponent to lose the game, however. An opponent will lose a game if he or she concedes, if that player is penalized with a Game Loss or a Match Loss during a sanctioned tournament due to a DCI rules infraction, or if that player's _Magic Online_(R) game clock runs out of time.
  • 3/1/2010: Effects that say the game is a draw, such as the _Legends_(TM) card Divine Intervention, are not affected by Abyssal Persecutor.
  • 3/1/2010: Abyssal Persecutor won't preclude an opponent's life total from reaching 0 or less. It will just preclude that player from losing the game as a result.
  • 3/1/2010: If Abyssal Persecutor leaves the battlefield while an opponent has 0 or less life, that opponent will lose the game as a state-based action. No player can respond between the time Abyssal Persecutor leaves the battlefield and the time that player loses the game.
  • 3/1/2010: Even though your opponents can't lose the game, a player can't pay an amount of life that's greater than his or her life total. If a player's life total is 0 or less, that player can't pay life at all, with one exception: a player may always pay 0 life.
  • 3/1/2010: If you control Abyssal Persecutor in a Two-Headed Giant game, your team can't win the game and the opposing team can't lose the game.
Printings:
#47 (Chippy)

Editions:
English Commander 2014 Edition (Mythic Rare)
English Worldwake (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Höllischer Verfolger
French Persécuteur abyssal
Italian Persecutore Abissale
Spanish Perseguidor abismal
Portuguese Perseguidor Abissal
Japanese 深淵の迫害者
Simplified Chinese 深渊虐魔
Russian Преследователь из Бездны
Korean Abyssal Persecutor


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Abyssal Persecutor
View Decks with Abyssal Persecutor
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.