Planeswalker — Sorin (Loyalty: 4),
+2: Sorin Markov deals 2 damage to target creature or player and you gain 2 life.
−3: Target opponent's life total becomes 10.
−7: You control target player during that player's next turn.
Illus. Michael Komarck
Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?
- 10/1/2009: If the targeted creature or player is an illegal target by the time Sorin's first ability resolves, the entire ability is countered. You won't gain life.
- 10/1/2009: For a player's life total to become 10, what actually happens is that the player gains or loses the appropriate amount of life. For example, if the targeted opponent's life total is 4 when this ability resolves, it will cause that player to gain 6 life; alternately, if the targeted player's life total is 17 when this ability resolves, it will cause that player to lose 7 life. Other cards that interact with life gain or life loss will interact with this effect accordingly.
- 10/1/2009: Sorin's third ability allows you to control another player. This effect applies to the next turn that the affected player actually takes.
- 10/1/2009: The player who is being controlled is still the active player.
- 10/1/2009: While controlling another player, you also continue to make your own choices and decisions.
- 10/1/2009: While controlling another player, you make all choices and decisions that player is allowed to make or is told to make during that turn. For example:
-- You choose which lands the other player plays.
-- You choose which spells the other player casts, and make all decisions as those spells are cast and as they resolve. For example, you choose the value of X for that player's Earthquake, the target for that player's Lightning Bolt, what mana that player spends to cast Day of Judgment, and what card that player gets with Diabolic Tutor.
-- You choose which activated abilities the other player activates, and make all decisions as those abilities are activated and as they resolve. For example, you can have your opponent sacrifice his or her creatures to his or her Vampire Aristocrat or have your opponent's Caller of Gales give one of your creatures flying.
-- You make all decisions for the other player's triggered abilities, including what they target and any decisions made when they resolve.
-- You choose which creatures controlled by the other player attack, who or what they attack, and how they assign their combat damage.
-- You make any choices and decisions that player would make for any other reason. For example, you could cast Fact or Fiction, choose that player to divide the revealed cards into piles, and thus divide those cards into piles yourself.
- 10/1/2009: You can't make the affected player concede. That player may choose to concede at any time, even while you're controlling his or her turn.
- 10/1/2009: You can't make any illegal decisions or illegal choices -- you can't do anything that player couldn't do. You can't make choices or decisions for that player that aren't called for by the game rules or by any cards, permanents, spells, abilities, and so on. If an effect causes another player to make decisions that the affected player would normally make (such as Master Warcraft does), that effect takes precedence. (In other words, if the affected player wouldn't make a decision, you wouldn't make that decision on his or her behalf.) You also can't make any choices or decisions for the player that would be called for by the tournament rules (such as whether to take an intentional draw or whether to call a judge).
- 10/1/2009: You can use only the affected player's resources (cards, mana, and so on) to pay costs for that player; you can't use your own. Similarly, you can use the affected player's resources only to pay that player's costs; you can't spend them on your costs.
- 10/1/2009: You only control the player. You don't control any of the other player's permanents, spells, or abilities.
- 10/1/2009: If the player affected by Sorin's third ability skips his or her next turn, the ability will wait. You'll control the next turn the affected player actually takes.
- 10/1/2009: Multiple player-controlling effects that affect the same player overwrite each other. The last one to be created is the one that works.
- 10/1/2009: You could gain control of yourself using Sorin's third ability, but unless you do so to overwrite someone else's player-controlling effect, this doesn't do anything.
- 6/15/2010: In a Two-Headed Giant game, Sorin's second ability causes the targeted opponent's team's life-total to become 10. Only the targeted player is actually considered to have actually gained or lost life.
- 7/1/2012: While controlling another player, you can see all cards that player can see. This includes cards in that player's hand, face-down cards that player controls, his or her sideboard, and any cards in his or her library that he or she looks at.
- 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers are permanents. You can cast one at the time you could cast a sorcery. When your planeswalker spell resolves, it enters the battlefield under your control.
- 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers are not creatures. Spells and abilities that affect creatures won’t affect them.
- 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers have loyalty. A planeswalker enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to the number printed in its lower right corner. Activating one of its abilities may cause it to gain or lose loyalty counters. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it. If it has no loyalty counters on it, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.
- 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers each have a number of activated abilities called “loyalty abilities.” You can activate a loyalty ability of a planeswalker you control only at the time you could cast a sorcery and only if you haven’t activated one of that planeswalker’s loyalty abilities yet that turn.
- 7/1/2013: The cost to activate a planeswalker’s loyalty ability is represented by a symbol with a number inside. Up-arrows contain positive numbers, such as “+1”; this means “Put one loyalty counter on this planeswalker.” Down-arrows contain negative numbers, such as “-7”; this means “Remove seven loyalty counters from this planeswalker.” A symbol with a “0” means “Put zero loyalty counters on this planeswalker.”
- 7/1/2013: You can’t activate a planeswalker’s ability with a negative loyalty cost unless the planeswalker has at least that many loyalty counters on it.
- 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers can’t attack (unless an effect turns the planeswalker into a creature). However, they can be attacked. Each of your attacking creatures can attack your opponent or a planeswalker that player controls. You say which as you declare attackers.
- 7/1/2013: If your planeswalkers are being attacked, you can block the attackers as normal.
- 7/1/2013: If a creature that’s attacking a planeswalker isn’t blocked, it’ll deal its combat damage to that planeswalker. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it.
- 7/1/2013: If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker that opponent controls instead. For example, although you can’t target a planeswalker with Shock, you can target your opponent with Shock, and then as Shock resolves, choose to have Shock deal its 2 damage to one of your opponent’s planeswalkers. (You can’t split up that damage between different players and/or planeswalkers.) If you have Shock deal its damage to a planeswalker, two loyalty counters are removed from it.
- 7/1/2013: If a player controls two or more planeswalkers that share a planeswalker type, that player chooses one of them and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action.
- Legal in Vintage (Type 1)
- Legal in Legacy (Type 1.5)
- Legal in Extended (Type 1.X)
- Legal in Classic (MTGO)
- Legal in Commander
- Legal in Modern
#111 (Michael Komarck)
Magic 2012 (Mythic Rare)
Zendikar (Mythic Rare)
all prints in all languages