Archive Trap Zendikar Caller of Gales

Archmage Ascension Archmage Ascension English

Enchantment, 2U (3)

At the beginning of each end step, if you drew two or more cards this turn, you may put a quest counter on Archmage Ascension.

As long as Archmage Ascension has six or more quest counters on it, if you would draw a card, you may instead search your library for a card, put that card into your hand, then shuffle your library.

Illus. Christopher Moeller

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: Archmage Ascension’s first ability has an “intervening ‘if’ clause.” It won’t trigger at all unless you’ve already drawn two or more cards by the time the end step begins.
  • 10/1/2009: If an effect would cause you to draw multiple cards while Archmage Ascension has six or more quest counters on it, each individual draw may be replaced by Archmage Ascension’s effect. Process the draws one at a time. Even if you use the reasonable shortcut of finding all of the cards at once and only physically shuffling once, the game will consider you to have searched and shuffled once per card.
  • 10/1/2009: If a spell or ability causes you to put cards in your hand without specifically using the word “draw,” Archmage Ascension’s abilities ignore it.
  • 10/1/2009: If two or more replacement effects would apply to a card-drawing event, the player who’s drawing the card chooses what order to apply them. It’s possible that after applying one of them, the others will no longer be applicable because the player would no longer draw a card. For example, if you control more than one Archmage Ascension with six quest counters on it and you would draw a card, each Archmage Ascension’s replacement effect could apply. Once you use one, the rest are no longer applicable.
Printings:
#42 (Christopher Moeller)

Editions:
English Zendikar (Rare)

Languages:
German Aufstieg des Erzmagiers
French Ascension de l'archimage
Italian Ascensione dell'Arcimaga
Spanish Ascenso del archimago
Portuguese Ascensão do Arquimago
Japanese 大魔導師の昇天
Simplified Chinese 法侯腾扬
Russian Возвышение Архимага


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Archmage Ascension
View Decks with Archmage Ascension
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.