Glint-Sleeve Siphoner Aether Revolt Herald of Anguish

Gonti's Machinations Gonti's Machinations English

Enchantment, B (1)

Whenever you lose life for the first time each turn, you get {e}. (You get an energy counter. Damage causes loss of life.)

Pay {e}{e}, Sacrifice Gonti's Machinations: Each opponent loses 3 life. You gain life equal to the life lost this way.

"I am confident that all our enterprises can benefit from this little revolution."

Illus. Daarken

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/9/2017: The triggered ability gives you at most one energy counter each turn, regardless of how much life you lost.
  • 2/9/2017: In a Two-Headed Giant game, damage and life loss happen to individual players, and the result affects the team’s life total. Combat damage is assigned and dealt to specific players. If your teammate is dealt damage or otherwise loses life, Gonti’s Machinations doesn’t trigger, even though your life total went down.
  • 2/9/2017: In a Two-Headed Giant game, Gonti’s Machinations’s second ability causes the opposing team to lose a total of 6 life.
  • 2/9/2017: {e} is the energy symbol. It represents one energy counter.
  • 2/9/2017: Energy counters are a kind of counter that a player may have. They’re not associated with specific permanents. (Other kinds of counters that players may have include poison and experience.)
  • 2/9/2017: Keep careful track of how many energy counters each player has. You may do so by keeping a running count on paper, by using a die, or by any other clear and mutually agreeable method.
  • 2/9/2017: If an effect says you get one or more {e}, you get that many energy counters. To pay one or more {e}, you lose that many energy counters. Any effects that interact with counters a player gets, has, or loses can interact with energy counters.
  • 2/9/2017: Energy counters aren’t mana. They don’t go away as steps, phases, and turns end, and effects that add mana “of any type” to your mana pool can’t give you energy counters.
  • 2/9/2017: You can’t pay more energy counters than you have.
#63 (Daarken)

English Aether Revolt (Uncommon)

German Gontis Machenschaften
French Machinations de Gonti
Italian Macchinazioni di Gonti
Spanish Maquinaciones de Gonti
Portuguese Maquinações de Gonti
Japanese ゴンティの策謀
Simplified Chinese 贡提的阴谋
Russian Интриги Гонти
Traditional Chinese 貢提的陰謀
Korean 곤티의 술책

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Gonti's Machinations
View Decks with Gonti's Machinations
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.