Cartouche of Zeal Amonkhet Consuming Fervor

Combat Celebrant Combat Celebrant English

Creature — Human Warrior 4/1, 2R (3)

If Combat Celebrant hasn't been exerted this turn, you may exert it as it attacks. When you do, untap all other creatures you control and after this phase, there is an additional combat phase. (An exerted creature won't untap during your next untap step.)

Illus. Chris Rallis

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/18/2017: Combat Celebrant’s ability untaps all of your creatures, not just the ones that are attacking.
  • 4/18/2017: Untapping an attacking creature doesn’t remove it from combat.
  • 4/18/2017: There’s no main phase between your combat phases, so you’ll have no opportunity to cast spells or activate abilities that could only be cast any time you could cast a sorcery. For example, you won’t be able to cast another creature or equip Equipment between combats.
  • 4/18/2017: If you exert Combat Celebrant, you get an additional combat phase even if Combat Celebrant doesn’t survive the first combat phase.
  • 4/18/2017: If you exert multiple Combat Celebrants in one combat phase, you’ll have that many additional combat phases, but all of your creatures are untapped only during the current combat phase. You’ll need to exert the Combat Celebrants one at a time, in multiple combat phases, to untap your attacking creatures and attack with them in each combat step.
  • 4/18/2017: You can’t exert a creature unless an effect allows you to do so. Similar effects that “tap and freeze” a creature (such as that of Decision Paralysis) don’t exert that creature.
  • 4/18/2017: If an exerted creature is already untapped during your next untap step (most likely because it had vigilance or an effect untapped it), exert’s effect preventing it from untapping expires without having done anything.
  • 4/18/2017: If you gain control of another player’s creature until end of turn and exert it, it will untap during that player’s untap step.
  • 4/18/2017: All cards in the Amonkhet set that let you exert a creature let you do so as you declare it as an attacking creature, as do some of the cards in the Hour of Devastation set. You can’t do so later in combat, and creatures put onto the battlefield attacking can’t be exerted. Any abilities that trigger on exerting an attacking creature will resolve before blockers are declared.
#125 (Chris Rallis)

English Amonkhet (Mythic Rare)

German Kampf-Zelebrant
French Célébrant de combat
Italian Celebrante da Battaglia
Spanish Celebrante del combate
Portuguese Celebrante do Combate
Japanese 戦闘の祝賀者
Simplified Chinese 战斗主祭
Russian Торжествующий Боец
Traditional Chinese 戰鬥主祭
Korean 전투 사제

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Combat Celebrant
View Decks with Combat Celebrant
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.