Benefaction of Rhonas Amonkhet Cartouche of Strength

Bitterblade Warrior Bitterblade Warrior English

Creature — Jackal Warrior 2/2, 1G (2)

You may exert Bitterblade Warrior as it attacks. When you do, it gets +1/+0 and gains deathtouch until end of turn. (An exerted creature won't untap during your next untap step.)

"The vizier of poisons teaches an unconventional kind of strength."

Illus. Slawomir Maniak

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/18/2017: You can't exert a creature unless an effect allows you to do so. Similar effects that “tap and freeze” a creature (such as that of Decision Paralysis) don't exert that creature.
  • 4/18/2017: If an exerted creature is already untapped during your next untap step (most likely because it had vigilance or an effect untapped it), exert's effect preventing it from untapping expires without having done anything.
  • 4/18/2017: If you gain control of another player's creature until end of turn and exert it, it will untap during that player's untap step.
  • 4/18/2017: All cards in the Amonkhet set that let you exert a creature let you do so as you declare it as an attacking creature, as do some of the cards in the Hour of Devastation set. You can't do so later in combat, and creatures put onto the battlefield attacking can't be exerted. Any abilities that trigger on exerting an attacking creature will resolve before blockers are declared.
#157 (Slawomir Maniak)

English Amonkhet (Common)

German Bitterklingenkämpfer
French Guerrier âprelame
Italian Guerriero Aspralama
Spanish Guerrero filoamargo
Portuguese Guerreiro Laminamarga
Japanese 苦刃の戦士
Simplified Chinese 毒刃战士
Russian Воин Клинка Горечи
Traditional Chinese 毒刃戰士
Korean 맹독검 전사

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Bitterblade Warrior
View Decks with Bitterblade Warrior
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.