Cartouche of Strength Amonkhet Channeler Initiate

Champion of Rhonas Champion of Rhonas English

Creature — Jackal Warrior 3/3, 3G (4)

You may exert Champion of Rhonas as it attacks. When you do, you may put a creature card from your hand onto the battlefield. (An exerted creature won't untap during your next untap step.)

The only way to finish the Trial of Strength is with a basilisk scale in hand.

Illus. Winona Nelson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/18/2017: All attackers are chosen at once. You can't attack with Champion of Rhonas, put a creature card onto the battlefield, and then attack with that creature.
  • 4/18/2017: If the creature put onto the battlefield has any abilities that trigger when creatures attack or when you exert creatures, those abilities won't trigger.
  • 4/18/2017: You can't exert a creature unless an effect allows you to do so. Similar effects that “tap and freeze” a creature (such as that of Decision Paralysis) don't exert that creature.
  • 4/18/2017: If an exerted creature is already untapped during your next untap step (most likely because it had vigilance or an effect untapped it), exert's effect preventing it from untapping expires without having done anything.
  • 4/18/2017: If you gain control of another player's creature until end of turn and exert it, it will untap during that player's untap step.
  • 4/18/2017: All cards in the Amonkhet set that let you exert a creature let you do so as you declare it as an attacking creature, as do some of the cards in the Hour of Devastation set. You can't do so later in combat, and creatures put onto the battlefield attacking can't be exerted. Any abilities that trigger on exerting an attacking creature will resolve before blockers are declared.
#159 (Winona Nelson)

English Amonkhet (Rare)

German Champion des Rhonas
French Championne de Rhonas
Italian Campionessa di Rhonas
Spanish Campeona de Rhonas
Portuguese Campeã de Rhonas
Japanese ロナスの勇者
Simplified Chinese 罗纳斯的斗士
Russian Поборница Ронаса
Traditional Chinese 羅納斯的鬥士
Korean 로나스의 용사

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Champion of Rhonas
View Decks with Champion of Rhonas
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.