Clarion Ultimatum Shards of Alara Deft Duelist

Cruel Ultimatum Cruel Ultimatum English

Sorcery, UUBBBRR (7)

Target opponent sacrifices a creature, discards three cards, then loses 5 life. You return a creature card from your graveyard to your hand, draw three cards, then gain 5 life.

There is always a greater power.

Illus. Ralph Horsley

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 3/14/2017: Cruel Ultimatum's only target is an opponent. You don't choose which creature card in your graveyard you'll return to your hand until Cruel Ultimatum resolves.
  • 3/14/2017: All of the actions for Cruel Ultimatum are performed sequentially, in the order listed. Earlier actions may affect how you perform later actions. For example, if the opponent sacrifices a creature that they control but you own, it will end up in your graveyard. When Cruel Ultimatum lets you return a creature card from your graveyard to your hand, you can choose that one.
  • 3/14/2017: If, as Cruel Ultimatum begins to resolve, your opponent's life total is 5 or less and you have two or fewer cards in your library, the game will result in a draw. Your opponent's life total will drop to 0 or less, but Cruel Ultimatum must finish resolving completely before state-based actions are performed. You'll then be forced to draw three cards and fail to draw one. When state-based actions are finally performed, you and your opponent will both lose the game at the same time, which means the game is a draw.
#164 (Ralph Horsley)

English Archenemy: Nicol Bolas (Rare)
English Modern Masters 2017 Edition (Rare)
English Commander 2013 Edition (Rare)
English From the Vault: Twenty (Mythic Rare)
English Duel Decks: Ajani vs. Nicol Bolas (Rare)
English Shards of Alara (Rare)

German Grausames Ultimatum
French Ultimatum cruel
Italian Ultimatum Crudele
Spanish Ultimátum cruel
Portuguese Ultimato Cruel
Japanese 残酷な根本原理
Simplified Chinese 残酷通牒
Russian Жестокий Ультиматум

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Cruel Ultimatum
View Decks with Cruel Ultimatum
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.